We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“One night stay”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Really good deal here last minute think will visit oban,£50 b,n b,staff nice friendly,room fine clean tidy,duvie cover bit wee then I'm not skinny,had a room overlooking harbor,nice view ,2nd floor up but lift ,found traffic noise was a bit easy to hear,ear plugs good idea,hotel is inside quiet.down syndrom,hotel has no parking fac.does not help when you drive up to front and a car is parked so that you have to reverse when booked in on to one way system,there is plenty of car parks however near by.80pence two hours,up till 6pm then free parking till 9am,if you are early and over pay you are credited till next morning, I liked it would go back.

Room Tip: Well back I. Would think might be less noisy.but I would have front around room no218 or upper front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montgomery S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    327
    242
    152
    138
See reviews for
115
523
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Like a number of visitors we had reservations regarding booking a stay at the Regent. However I am pleased to report that we had a really enjoyable stay.

On arrival, it did appear that we had annoyed / disturbed the receptionist from his afternoon snack, by wanting to check-in, however apart from that it was relatively painless.

On arrival at the room, our first impression was that the decor was very tired, with various colors, wallpapers and peeling paint. However the room was very clean and tidy, the beds where extremely comfortable and the room had a very new delightfully comfortable carpet.

Although I must say- who would lay a new carpet when painting and decorating was in need?

The en-suite was actually smaller than a sardine can and was quite dark, and again the general decor could easily be improved.

The best feature of the room was the view over Oban bay, and along with the stunning weather made for excellent photographic opportunities watching the ferries coming in and out and a beautiful sunset. This is certainly one of the best aspects of our stay.

Breakfast was also a pleasure with helpful and attentive staff and a lovely cooked to order breakfast!

Overall, plan to definitive stay again at the same price. A bargain.

Room Tip: Hope that a room with a view is reserved for you, or maybe ask the receptionist nicely? :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in the Regent on august 4; room 416.

A shame that a hotel with such a phantastic view on the bay looks so ugly. Especially the windows need to be replaced or at least need to be painted as the last time they were painted must have been in the 70s of past century. The state of the windows and windowsills in the restaurant do not stimulate appetite. For dinner we asked for a table near the windows as we wanted to enjoy the great view on the bay. What a mistake: paint coming off the windows and a lot of dust and dirt on the windowsills. A pitty... This hotel need some refurbishment and as such can maybe aim for 3 stars!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Regent Hotel, I am sorry your expectations at the Regent Hotel were not met on this occasion. We have fallen short on this occasion and can ensure you that we are working hard to improve our situation. With Regards to the windows of the hotel it is a constant battle to due to the age and style of the building, we are currently working on and trying to improve the situation. The Restaurant window work has started this week.

Going forward, we expect future investment to be focused on improving the guest experience and we are about to embark on a £200’000 investment programme. II am pleased however that you enjoyed all other aspects of the hotel.

Once Again Thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

just back from a weekend stay at The Regent Hotel, it has a pay and display car park right across the road where we left the car from the saturday afternoon when we arrived till the monday morning when we left with no problems and it was reasonably priced too. the hotel itself is a beautiful old building, part of it from 1896 and the other part art deco style with some original features,
no its not the Ritz..but for £100 for two adults bed and breakfast for two nights we didnt expect it to be !
our room had the most stunning views across the bay , it was clean, had plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits and a flat screen tv, shower and a bath..what more do you need !
breakfast was lovely,on both mornings, choice of cereals (kelloggs) fruit juice, egg, bacon, black pudding, haggis, sausage, potato scone, toast and tea.
, staff were nice and friendly, the bar prices were cheaper than some of the pubs we went to ! though for a night out Mackie Dans along the road is superb..cracking food and live entertainment and lovely bar staff...more than could be said for the sour faced barmaid in the harbour bar under the Columba Hotel just along the road ! in fact we were there for a few hours and had a bet on with each other to see if she would actually smile at a customer before we left !! she didnt ! wouldnt venture there again in a hurry..
on the whole tough we were extremely pleased with our stay , location was excellent, right on the sea front and just round the corner from the shops,
ate at Obans fish and chip resturant in the next street, £9.40 for a fish tea and worth every penny and more..Rick Stein has said its the best fish he has ever eaten..massive haddock, mushy peas, chips, home made tartar sauce, bread, butter and tea...absolutely delicious..
all in all a lovely wee weekend ! would defiantely stay at the Regent again .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weebeastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I had mixed feelings about visiting this hotel after reading some reviews on here but was pleasantly surprised. My family and I had a lovely stay and the breakfasts and dinners were lovely. The staff were nice and friendly too. The rooms were clean and had views to die for, what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was a bit wary about booking this hotel as i had read all the negitive reviews but on arriving at the hotel I was soon put at ease, the check in was fast and efficiant and I was soon in my room which had everything I needed and a beautiful view of the bay. I hadnt booked for dinner but decided to go in, resturant staff were all very friendly and courteous and my dinner was wonderful, breakfast in the morning was served quickly and had a lot of choice and i couldnt fault it. The hotel staff were all working hard to ensure the happiness of all their guests. I also noticed that the have had the hotel painted and new carpets throughout the floors and could see that they are working hard to redo this hotel and are bringing it back to its former glory. I can honestly say that I think that negitive reviews are unfounded and if you want a 5 star hotel then you have to pay for one. For what we paid we are more than satisfied and will be back as soon as can. Thank you Regent Hotel

Room Tip: If you want a seaview one ask when you book as they cannot always be guarenteed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca121009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Never before we experienced such large difference between the information of the hotel itself (in this case oxford hotels en inns) and the reality. Looking at the 'regent fact sheet' you can download from the site, the hotel looks very promising. The reality was a dirty room, loose paint, rotten window frames, mold on the ceiling and walls, a malfunctioning elevator and so on.. We left the hotel 50 minutes after check-in..

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIML, General Manager at Regent Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Please be assured that we do take your comments most seriously and will certainly be looking into the issues you have raised. Feedback such as yours is always welcome in helping us to improve our hotel and the service we offer our guests in the future. I believe however this situation could have been avoided if you asked to speak to myself. Although the situation above is inexcusable I would have been able to find you an alternative room or remedied the situation in another way. Furthermore I do not believe we require a demolition team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel

Property: Regent Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Art Deco hotel, The Regent is located on the Esplanade of Oban, opposite the pier. Just a few minutes walk from the town centre, the dramatic views across the sea to the distant islands will captivate guests upon arrival. The restaurant offers a choice of table d’hote or à la carte menus both of which utilise the best of local produce and our bedrooms offer magnificent views across Oban Bay. Local attractions in the area include visits to the sacred isle of Iona, trips to Mull and the opportunity to take a boat ride to the local seal colony, making the hotel ideal for your leisure break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Oban, Scotland
Regent Oban
Oban Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing