We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed June 5, 2009

It all sounded wonderful - refurbished to a 4 star standard, super king size beds and spa baths but unfortunately it is a long way from being 4 star.
The building appears to have been gutted in order to maximise accommodation and any features which may have been there are now absent. Everything is crushed together. Most of the bedrooms are in a functional annexe behind the main building and have a view of the undecorated rear of that building.
However first of all, the 'pros' -
*the hotel is spotlessly clean, apart from some paint chipping on corridor doora;
*the staff are generally very friendly but lack training (orders forgotten etc).
Then the 'cons' -
*rather than king size beds and spa baths we would have been better served with decent drawer space (we had 4 tiny drawers holding a few pairs of socks each ) and more shelf space in the bathroom; in addition there was nowhere to store suitcases;
*totally inadequate car parking ( 10 spaces for about 45 bedrooms), when this is full the next option is on the stree, failing which we were advised we could 'park behind the church' which was about 200 yards away;
*meals were passable - but it seemed a major problem to obtain anything not on the self service breakfast menu, eg poached egg or porage, and usually we had to ask someone for tea/ coffe/ toast rather than it being offered to us. Evening meals, when eventually servred, were adequate without being inspiring. The menu was identical on the two evenings we dined in.

The hotel generally lacks any semblance of character, even Reception which is placed in the entrance is more like a guard room than a welcoming feature.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

904 - 910 of 963 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2009

Stayed here May 27th with three friends from Canada and was pleasantly surprised given some of the reviews on here. Under new ownership and things appear to be getting done the right way.
The Good stuff. Staff were excellent. Reception staff were two young Canadians and an Aussie who were friendly, helpful and pleasant to deal with. Bar staff was a young woman who was efficient, never stopped working and pleasant. Wait staff both at night and for breakfast were just as nice and efficient.
Owner upon hearing us ask about the Champions League final promptly reserved us a table in the bar and returned during the game to check that the very full bar was going smoothly.
Food in the bar was very good with healthy portions at reasonable prices. Breakfast was excellent and lots of it.
Rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable, basic, but everything that was needed. Wireless Internet available at no cost which is a nice service in the Highlands.
Hotel itself looks smart, is clean, well appointed and is an obvious up and comer. Prices are reasonable and lets hope they stay that way as it is a real selling feature. Caledonian Hotel wanted 190 pounds a night for a double room (that's right New York prices, 300 bucks--what a rip off ) that was no better than the Queens at 90 pounds (135).

Now the down side (Minor and fixable). TV's in rooms too small and only four channels, suspect available money went to more important items such as duvets, furniture, décor. Walls a bit thin but it is an old building so sound proofing will be expensive and probably long term and will have to wait till slow season and availability of funds I would imagine. Shower pressure was typical for the UK (pretty slow) and I would recommend they fix that first. North Americans like to wake up to a good shower. A good addition would be somebody to help with luggage as it is a hike to some of the rooms and some people may need help.

All in all a pleasant experience and without hesitation I would stay there again which is really the best recommendation I can give.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wellwornroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2009

My partner and I stayed in this hotel in January for 2 nights. Its was the worst stay we have ever experienced, the hotel was clean, however the staff and management were rude. The bar man never smiled once and talked in an awful tone that neither of us wanted to go to the bar, the prices are also way over the top which I wouldnt of minded payin if there was a decent service. The restaurant was really slow, if ur hungry then I suggest eating out, there are loads of chip shops!! The entertainment was awful cause there wasnt any! The rooms were clean, but could hear all the noise from outside in the corridor. I made one complaint to reception and when she said she'd get the owner apparently the owner was busy and basically couldnt give a toss what I had to say, so if they are not going to look after their guests then I simply wont be using the hotel again. Over priced hotel with attitude...We wont be going back!!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smallsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed here for two nights whilst on holiday. Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable although a little difficult to get to with big suitcases. Staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the local area.
The resauarant is very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Althom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We have just returned form an overnight stay at The Queens Hotel ,Oban and still cannot believe the events which took place.

Our bedroom backed onto a lift shaft and the walls and floors were so thin that you could hear every word spoken in the rooms next to us and below. In total we slept about 2 hours and even phoned reception to complain.

Upon our departure we advised the girl at checkout that we were not satisfied with the room or the £120 tariff and asked to speak to the Manager to discuss the situation.

The girl contacted the Manager/Owner, Susan Hyams, 3 times and each time she declined to come through and speak to us and we even heard her phone reception to see if we had left yet.!She only graced us with her presence when we told the receptionist to inform her that we would wait all day if necessary.

When she did appear she told us we could have £10 knocked off our bill. As far as I'm concerned that's a joke for a miserable night spent in a vastly overpriced, mediocre establishment where people had to queue for breakfast for a least 10 minutes and when eventually got to eat it, it wasn't warm enough.

Even though we put our query across in a very measured manner ,she responded in a hysterical and over the top fashion. At one point she stood so close to me that I Ifelt she was going to lash out at me. She was shouting and creating a scene in the main entrance hall in front of other staff and guests. If this is how she speaks to her guests, who knows how she speaks to her staff.

She said we were making her "feel ill", pointed at us and virtually spat at us that we would have to "pay up". This continued for about 5 minutes. She then hotfooted it out the door but not before she told us we were "disgusting"! It was at this point that we could not believe that a simple query about a bedroom could evoke such a hysterical reaction from a Manager/Owner. We paid and left.

It was only in the car on the way home that her comments about us being "disgusting" and making her "feel ill" seemed really strange and i can only guess that this has been brought on by us being a same sex couple. Susan Hyams could not hide her venomous and homophobic feelings. We frequently travel throughout the west coast of Scotland and have never once experienced such poison.

Stayed: December 2008
8  Thank pie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Skeddule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank happydays005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Queens Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oban
Price Range: $85 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing