We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Firstly the hotel does not warrant being rated 4 star, but let's start with the positives.
Arrived after a 4 hour journey to be greeted by Peter at reception who was very friendly and attentive. Check in process fine and we were given an information leaflet on hotel information which incidentally encourages feedback via Tripadviser....
Rooms are basic but clean. Breakfast was good, varied selection and hot.
After settling in we went downstairs to order coffee. Asked for Lattes - no latte so settled for standard coffee. Ordered scones - no scones, ordered shortbread - no shortbread even though we were told we would get this instead of the scones....it states in the info manual in the rooms guests can order tea/coffee with scones/shortbread. We were given a chef speciality on a teaspoon as a replacement which tasted like bitter egg white and didn't go with a coffee. Later in the evening we ordered a bottle of Zinfandel which they didn't have and were offered the only alternative which was fine.
Day 2 - Ordered a couple of glasses of rose after our day out which happened to be Zinfandel! Then later asked for a bottle of rose of which we were told was the last bottle in the hotel, the barman didn't seem particularly bothered when we queried it. Given the fact that this service was not acceptable we complained to the manager and even suggested he source replacements locally to satisfy customer needs but he wasn't particularly bothered but did agree to give us the last bottle at half price. So any guests who fancied a rose wine last night were out of luck.
We decided to eat in the bar which was the icing on the cake so to speak. The order was taken promptly but after waiting over 45 mins had to chase up.
The hotel apparently relies on a lot of repeat business from 'workers' and is currently promoting the 'fine dining' experience but appears to have choose to neglect the needs of other guests.
We also had to put the kettle on the floor to make a cup of tea in the room, not ideal and there was a socket in the middle of the headboard which is weird! The toilet brush was also disgusting and the wall behind the curtain is brick painted over. The walls are very thin we were wakened every morning by the person in the room above us walking about and next doors tv.
We've stayed at a few hotels in Oban but will definately not return to this hotel due to our recent experience. Most of the staff were pleasant and friendly but shouldn't encourage customers to leave feedback if they cannot meet basic customer expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trudydudy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel. I am sorry your stay at the Queens did not meet your expectations. Due to unprecedented wine sales we had indeed run out of a few wines on the list, which although no use to yourselves were delivered on the Wednesday. We have now increased the amount of wine we hold in stock. I am also sorry you had along wait for your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (978)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

566 - 572 of 978 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed here for an overnight prior to taking the early morning ferry to Tiree.We had our dog with us and as a consequence had a dog friendly room which was ok .The friends we were travelling with had a better room.

We ate in the hotel lounge which offered a traditional pub type menu which we were happy with.All four meals were of a good standard.

What we liked best about this hotel was that the staff were really welcoming ,friendly and hospitable , even at 6am as we left to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miramol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

We are glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay here at the queens and I will pass on your kind comments to the entire hotel team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Had a fabulous 2 day break at the Queens Hotel, we were very lucky to stay in room 5 immediately over the entrance , the room with 2 large picture windows overlooking the bay, fantastic views and a fantastic room. I would certainly choose this room again it really is worth the extra. Waking up in a morning and seeing the view from our bed " AWSOME ". The hotel was very peaceful in the evening's . Food was so good we ate far to much. I don't normally stay in hotels but I will certainly be back here. Parking for the Queens wasn't a problem at all, if the car park is full there is plenty of parking on the promenade immediately in front of the hotel. My thanks to all the staff for making our stay enjoyable comfortable and so relaxing.

Room Tip: Definitely room 5 has the most fantastic views. Although over the front door we were not disturbed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newmi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food and service at the Queens.
Hopefully we will see you return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We did not stay in the hotel, but we visited because we had read in the Oban Times about the fine dining restaurant. It was truly a great experience. There was a set menu and you could choose 3 or 6 courses. At £35 each and both very hungry we went for the 6 courses and washed it down with a very fine Chablis. The young chef is keen on foraging and on local ingredients and the menu was innovative and completely delicious. When the first course came I worried that this was going to be very 'nouvelle cuisine' (i.e. OK food but very small portions). I needn't have worried. Although each course was small and beautifully presented, I found that I could not have eaten another bite by the time the meal was over. And in addition to all the courses we were given 2 sets of starters before the meal and petit fours afterwards. The vegetables were local and organic, the duck eggs were the best eggs I have ever eaten and the dessert of meadowsweet water ice garnished with flowers was a triumph. I have never eaten hogweed, primrose flowers, violets or ground elder before, all were on the menu and all were exquisite. My only (slight) criticism is that the hotel is Victoria and decorated in Victorian style. Perhaps the restaurant could do with a bit more pizzazz to match the innovative nature of the food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed the food and service at the Queens. Gary Goldie’s food is exceptional and I will pass your kind comments on to him and the rest of the hotel staff.
Hopefully we will see you return in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Was staying in this beautifull hotel in April 14th for 3nights what a lovely relaxing stay that we had jacuzzi in the bathroom which we couldn't wait to try out and was really just what the doctor ordered so relaxing room are nice basic for what u need clean view was really nice of the harbour bar was relaxing quiet but nice.staff where all so nice. The breakfast was lots to choose from from cornflakes Porte ect:- and cooked breakfast help yourself style up to you to choose every thing about tis hotel I could not fault s I thought just perfect for us anyway if you are looking for some thing more than this then pay for a much more expensive hotel but I really do think this hotel will just fit the bill the same. ( just perfect ). Only fault we had was trying to find the lift could do with arrows to follow or someone to show you if you haven't been in the hotel before can be a little bit confusing .

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Lorna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay here at the Queens. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your Jacuzzi bath. I will pass on your kind words to all the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen’s in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We went for a day trip to Oban and as the weather was so good decided to stay over. The Queens Hotel proved to be a good choice. The room was comfortable, clean and well equipped there was also a Jacuzzi bath.. We had a good nights sleep and came down the next morning to a hearty Scottish breakfast (buffet style) The biggest and most welcome surprise was their "tasting" menu in the dining room, 6 courses plus appetisers (at a very reasonable price). The chef forages everyday for items to add to the dishes, from rowan shoots to wild garlic and herbs, it gives the meal a whole unique experience. Compliments to the chef, an outstanding meal, fantastic flavours and something to write about. The menu changes every 3- 4 days and we're looking forward to going back and trying the new menu. Would thoroughly recommend the restaurant to anyone who's fed up with the same old same old and wants to trying something different and enjoys extremely good food. Well done, well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.
Thank you for you lovely comments about your dining experience here at the Queen’s.
The restaurant has a six course set menu prepared by Scottish Chef of the Year 2011 Gary Goldie and is receiving an incredible amount of praise for the quality and standard for the dishes he prepares.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here at Easter with a few friends. The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff very polite, friendly and helpful. The room was well equiped but could do with a longer flex for the kettle as you had to use it on the floor. Really enjoyed the jacuzzi bath option. The Scottish breakfast was wonderful with a good variety and very plentiful. The only downside that we could see was that there was an awful long way to walk to get to your room if you were on anything above the 1st floor with a jumble of corridors and walkways to negotiate. Parking was limited.
Overall a lovely stay and we would think to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the BEST WESTERN the Queens Hotel.

Many thanks for your nice comments about the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Queens in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,860 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $95 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hosituated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing