We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Queens Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night's B&B in September 13. The hotel was...fine.

The reception staff were friendly, the barman competent if not chatty and the restaurant staff were there when needed.

The room was ok too. Clean & tidy with a nice bathroom which had a Jacuzzi bath. The room we had was fitted out for a twin room but with a double bed. This left the light quite a bit off-set, and the switch in the middle of the headboard. The TV was small and wall mounted - again off-set.

We had dinner at the bar, which had a decent menu and decent service. We had the fish, which was very nice.

Breakfast was absolutely fine too - although the staff weren't checking that there was food in the hot buffet tins. They ran out of a few things - although they did go for more when asked.

Minor complaints, though. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and wouldn't be worried about staying there again.

One thing to check - the lift ran from the first floor. Wirth checking if you need DDA access.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

629 - 635 of 963 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
2  Thank Scottishlassie69
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Back again, you know you are paying for the view but we went for a suite this time and you were treated extremely well! Private parking space, fruit, binoculars! It was a treat and once again we enjoyed it, you don't go three times to the same hotel if you don't! Staff friendly and it was a treat.

Room Tip: Must have room with a view over the bay. The suite was really nice, great space and what a way to re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielF696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in oban , part of breaking our tour of the Highlands and chose to stay in a much cheaper place (which was fine) bur decided to trest ourselves to a slightly better dining experience by booking at The Queens. Well, what a surprise! From the moment we arrived (in nothing better than clean walking gear) we were treated like old friends , and royal ones at that. Staff from reception to everyone who had a role in the dining room were a delight. But the food. ... wow.....without being obsessive we like to treat ourselves to the occasional fine dining experience and without meaning to we stumbled upon one of our finest ...at a price which could have been another £100 and we might not have quibbled. Scallops and beef cooked to perfection and with such flair .... and the most gorgeous little cheese plate. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank PatriciaCasement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were blessed with beautiful weather when we stayed here which made the holiday even more memorable! My elderly father and son both loved the hotel with all our age groups catered for. We booked half board but preferred eating in the bar than the restaurant as my 17 year old son preferred bigger portions, the food was fantastic! Breakfast was also generous and fresh. The staff were attentive and friendly and added a personal touch. Beautiful venue the rooms were clean and adequate and if back in Oban we would choose this hotel again

Room Tip: I had a room with a view to the front. Beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Powerpuff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife and I along with lifelong friends/couple arranged a weekend trip to Oban, early September.
We travelled to Oban by train and the hotel was within walking distance so obviously the ladies hired a taxi.
The welcoming staff are very friendly courteous and helpful. The hotel has an annex to the rear and this is where we stayed. The room is tastefully and freshly decorated, the bathrooms are very clean. We had a room with lovely views across the bay.
The stay was very relaxing and whenever we wanted service, the hotel staff were excellent.
We opted to eat elsewhere at night.
The breakfast is buffet style and plentiful. There is an extensive choice of cereals, fruit, juices, toast, tea/coffee, hot food and jams etc. There is no urgency or rushing around, the staff are obviously well experienced in catering.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowGuitarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last night we had a great meal in the dining room of the restaurant looking out over the harbour.
The food was wonderful; unusual but delicious flavours. Very creative cuisine from a top chef. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
179 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,007 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
838 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Queens Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oban
Price Range: $85 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing