We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bad service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Oban is a very busy place and a delightful city to visit. This hotel is rough. The manager would not show up when we requested an additional bed. We requested it when booking in internet, but it never went to the hotel. The person handling the reservation was cold and looking for issues, problems why we could not find a solution. The hotel was just correct. Very warm, no air conditioning in the rooms. Not a good pick.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for placing a review on Tripadvisor. To be honest, we are not sure if you have reviewed our hotel, or if you have mixed it up with a similarly named local hotel. Our hotel could never appropriately be described as "rough", it does after all have a four star rating with the AA and Visit Scotland together with other awards for outstanding cleanliness and superb 1 rosette food. However,if you did stay with us, we would like to apologise for not being able to meet your expectations. We state online that our double and twin rooms are not suitable for any extra guests. Our policy is not to offer cramped accommodations and so we do not squeeze in a third bed thus spoiling the enjoyment of the room in addition to compromising health and safety. Any internet bookings received by us with special requests will generate either a telephone or e-mail response to the addresses supplied (if supplied), in relation to the request, if we are unable to comply. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    313
    175
    74
    34
See reviews for
122
477
44
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night - glad my company paid, not me - £140 for an uncomfortable (2 single mattresses pushed together so a massive ridge down the middle of the bed) double bed and breakfast - ouch.

Room was fairly well furnished, bed was poor as above. Bedroom was way too hot on arrival but we did have Scottish air conditioning - window!

Lift machinery is noisy so rooms 10- 49 can hear it, sea view was nice but I could hear every word of the safety announcements on the early (5am) ferry sailings - I don't suppose that is the hotels fault to be fair.

Breakfast buffet style, nothing special but not too bad.

All else could have been forgiven but the bed really did make the stay poor value - poor nights sleep almost guaranteed.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudger666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for placing a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We regret that we failed to meet your expectations. We were very disappointed to read your comments on the superking bed. We are sorry that the housekeeper did not make up the bed to our usual high standards. A great many of our customers compliment us on our beds as they are so comfortable. Scotland obviously decided to spoil you with a wee heatwave. Air-conditioning is not something often called for in Oban and hence we do admit to relying on the new windows which easily open outwards fully if required! Although some rooms do suffer from lift noise we sell these rooms last and we can assure you that rooms 10 to 49 do not all suffer from the noise, there are only about 5 rooms within which you can hear the lift when it operates. The team and I simply cannot understand how you were able to hear both the ferries and the lift. It is surprising and quaint when in the original front building and depending on the wind direction, one can sometimes here the "ding dong" of the passenger announcements on the ferries but we suppose that this is always an issue in any seafront property adjacent to a busy ferry hub. We are also sorry that you do not rate our beautiful breakfasts as highly as we do. We do sample the breakfast daily. Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pictures at booking.com were misleading, As a matter of fact it looks and feel like an 100 years old hotel that was renovated in the previous century. It is the most overpriced hotel I have ever been to. The news of new inventions like elevators, refrigerators and air conditioning units, have not reached the the management yet. Since we arrived late in the afternoon we met only one guy who was helpful and friendly. He helped us with our language. View from the room was superb but still not worth the dear prices.
Breakfast was OK, they have Wi Fi in the rooms and we were lucky to find a parking place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Tripadvisor. The hotels original building was built in 1879 as the home of the first Episcopalian Bishop of Argyll and The Islands. The building became a hotel in the 1920s and has been renovated and extended over the years. The last major renovation and refurbishment was started 6 years ago and the hotel was awarded a 4 star status upon completion of these works. We wanted to retain as much original character and feel as possible and are disappointed that you dislike the decor. The property does in fact have a lift in the rear building. Mini-bars are not permitted by Scottish licensing law. We do have fridges in the suites. The photographs of the hotel on all websites are genuine and current, showing the property as it is, we are sorry that you disagree. Our prices offer good value for the only full service 4 star property in Oban and we frequently undercut other 3 star hotels in the town. We are gratified that you did at least enjoy the magnificent sea view from your rear building standard room. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked 6 months ago, and had to settle as our preferred choices were booked. Situated on the Esplanade, with a lovely view from the front of the water, the rest was unfortunately not up to snuff. Staff were mostly cold and unfriendly (with the exception of one woman at the reception desk.) Parking and getting to the rooms with baggage was extremely inconvenient, and would have been impossible for some guests. Decor was tired. The rooms were clean, but tiny (our friends had to put the desk chair on the bed to move the suitcase,) hot, and you could hear every move of the guests in the room above, including their use of the bathroom.(YUCK) Floors were VERY creaky, (stay on the top floor if you can). The rooms on either end of the hall have water views, but suspect the middle rooms do not. No sheers on the windows, so if you want the window open for the breeze, there is NO PRIVACY. There were no face cloths, top sheets, hair conditioner or irons in the room. This would be a 2.5 review if the service was better.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room if possible, at the end of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the stunning location. We can only apologise if you considered our staff to be cold with the fortunate exception of one lady. Parking in Oban is unfortunately very difficult in the height of summer. We do have limited parking on site and do our utmost to direct guests to the nearest available parking. We are fortunate to have free and unrestricted car parking on the adjacent promenade and two large car parks all within 0.4 miles from our door. We apologise that this did not meet with your satisfaction. As usual we had the painters in this year and they are coming back in November, we are truly sad that you consider the decor tired. We have an ongoing programme to improve sound insulation and creaky floors, the work will recommence this winter. Face cloths and many other free amenities are available from reception as stated in each room's guest directory. Every room's duvet cover is OF COURSE REPLACED upon each guests departure or every 3 nights - whichever is the soonest, hence we do not use top sheets - like most good hotels. Most guests come to Oban for the views so we have not put sheers/voiles on the windows. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Oban is a lovely town but this is a poor hotel. First impressions are terrible as soon as you walk through the door, seeing lots of old people struggle with their bags and luggage up the stairs without any staff offering to help is a sight I never want to see again. Its basic manners. Also would it really hurt for a member of staff to talk to you on arrival and show you to your room? Again basic manners which is only a little thing but would make a big difference, bar and lounge area has no atmosphere at all if any a bad one. Had to pretty much force a conversation out of most members of staff I met within the hotel. Rooms are small. Walls are paper thin. You can hear people snoring from floor above you, you can hear conversations from the rooms either side, even hear people going to toilet, having a shower etc. Apart from one bubbly lady on reception and a nice night porter chap I don't think anyone enjoys working there and it shows. Oban great town to visit but don't visit this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simon2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
We would like to thank you for placing a review on Tripadvisor. This hotel prides itself on offering excellent service at all times. However, when many guest arrive at the same time it is not easy to be all things to all people. Some guests refuse help with their luggage despite our protestations we would be insulting them by insisting that we assist. Our staff are trained and expected to offer every guest assistance with luggage. The staff are also trained to offer all guests directions to the rooms (although it is well signposted). We can only apologise if this was not your impression. Further staff training will be carried out as these basic courtesies are essential not optional. Our small lounge has just been redecorated with beautiful damask paper and is furnished with high quality leather chesterfields, whats more it offers some fantastic views, we are sorry if you did not approve. The staff here actually are very proud to work as part of our team. Unfortunately we are all extremely upset to read the poor reviews received lately. We are all working hard to get things back on track but it is always harder to please all in the hectic months of July and August and you will see if you go back further in time that the majority of our guests loved their time in the hotel. Thank you for reviewing our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Booked two rooms recently-a superior ocean view double and a standard double. Both rooms were comfortable-although the standard room suffered from poor sound insulation. Superior room had a wonderful view of the Port of Oban. No elevator to the superior room and the showers are difficult to get in and out of. We were also unable to pull the drapes on the large street-facing windows. Breakfasts are buffet-style, and the wait staff seems harried and exasperated in their efforts to turn tables. At what should be a calm breakfast, they are stomping and running about, eager to take your plates and move you on. While we didn't eat dinner on site, the menu looks nice and the head chef seems to have bona fide credentials. A bit of a walk from the town center, it is a nice place to stay; however, the Glenburnie House next door might be a better option in this price range.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sbenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place a review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you found the rooms to be comfortable and enjoyed the lovely views. Work on the standard rooms' sound insulation has already taken place but we had to stop given the season. Work will start again when it is quieter later this year. We are sorry that your breakfasts were not as restful as you would have wished but July and August are the primary income sources in Oban and as such the hotel is busy and staff do try to prevent guests waiting too long for freshly set tables. We are a full service 4 star hotel and as such are able to offer 24 hour service and a choice of lovely grill meals and fine dining. Glenburnie House is a lovely 4 star guest house which is a different type of product to ourselves. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elmsall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had booked initially for nine nights and ended up staying one, from the moment we stepped into reception the place smelt like an old folks home.

Please bear in mind that this hotel bears a four star rating, On arrival we had to park in the smallest of car parks, spaces were allocated on a first come first served basis, there is only one disabled bay, the largest of the spaces is reserved for the owner !!!.

We were not offered any help with our luggage, and we had to lug it up fourteen stairs to the first landing, then along a glass paneled walkway, where we found a lift, we called the lift and after five minutes it still had not arrived, so we had to carry the luggage up another flight of stairs to the room.

Upon entering the room which was a double, we were greeted by a poky room, One chair which looked to have come from a bingo hall, a small desk and chair, there was no way that this was four star standard, two star B&B at the best and I'm being generous.

There was a single window looking out over a yard where the bins were kept, upon pulling the curtains back we realized that the wall was not even plastered and the breeze blocks used to build this park of the hotel were visible albeit painted, this meant that there was no insulation and it felt damp to the touch.

They seem to have an abundance notices all designed to be rather petty in my opinion, such as own food and drink not allowed in the hotel, caution this lift stops suddenly, yes we did eventually get to use the lift, which when operating could be heard from our room, so the sound proofing was not up to scratch, as we heard the guy snoring all night in the next room.

We ate in the bar, plastic coated tables and chairs, the barman looked inept and didn't keep track of our drinks bill.

The only saving grace was the breakfast buffet which was good.

I would strongly advise anyone from booking this hotel as the brochure and website photos are very misleading,

Our Scottish holiday was ruined from the moment we arrived, don't let this happen to you.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on anything other than the standard room we booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Osgoldcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing