We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a 4 star hotel”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

As someone who has travelled extensively both abroad and at home this is not a 4 star hotel. Bad soundproofing, tiny room, the photos are totally misleading. Although we did not use the restaurant because there was nothing on it we liked (our choice) we had a meal in the bar and I could have done better myself. Husband had lamb but they did not have mint sauce. Understaffed in the bar area as receptionist was trying to serve us lunch and do everything else. Bar not open until later. No porter service or even an offer of help with bags. Packets of jam, butter, etc does not belong in a 4star hotel. Totally misleading, the worst place we have stayed in for years. I will say one thing it was clean and the staff were okay.

Room Tip: If you must stay in this hotel I would make sure you get a room in the main house and not in the wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catrin_cooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    336
    186
    77
    34
See reviews for
128
513
51
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 nights on a pre booked DBB rate ( expensive) 5-9 July 2013 were very impressed with Dinner both the fine dine and bar meals they were truly delicious. The room was a superior ( Rm 5 ) although a matress topper would be handy as not totally comfortable and the fantastic bay window view wasn't maximised ( bed not facing Oban bay) But difficult to meet everyones needs, the staff were all really pleasant and helpful . The hotel is very clean and fresh flowers on all the tables. We were fortunate to secure a parking space, but Oban is such a busy place the hotel are never going to be able to accommodate everyone. Maybe trying to utilise some space at the back of the building?
Small point but it might be worth promoting Oban's Fair-Trade town status by hoteliers actually using fair trade products. They did use for hot chocolate and biscuits but not tea and the coffee sadly was Nestlé.
The small bar area could be promoted a little more ( and maximise profits) as we watch Wimbledon Final but the bar did not open until 5.30 pm, shame! Also the front outside terrace could be a little nicer ( weeding patio and renew some seating) as it seems to be currently used just for smokers. However sadly you just look onto the busy car park not that amazing Oban Bay view.
Corkage for drinks in your own room seems a bit steep ! But the free wifi throughout hotel is a real bonus and massive selling point as many big chain hotel only have small areas such as reception for free wifi.
Overall very pleased with it and be happy to recommend it. We will return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RioSriOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed for one night,very nice,helpful staff .Had bar meal in the evening which was very good,home made pudding was delicious.also good breakfast with lots of choice.room was lovely, very comfortable with view over the water.there were some stairs to the lift but i did manage ok.some may need to check.Would have stayed longer but were touring around the highlands.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearandbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Before booking this hotel for myself, husband and an 87 year old, I checked there was a lift. There is a lift, but nowhere does it say you have to walk up 14 steps to get to it!! Also there are no nosings on these steps which are carpeted in black watch tartan, so the dark green and navy blue with no natural daylight make it very difficult to see the bottom step without counting each time they are used! I would have thought this alone would not qualify the hotel for its 4 star rating?

I agree with other comments about the lack of car parking and the 'nearby' car park being a good walk away. Getting back to the hotel by 4.00pm each day at the latest seemed to be the only way to secure one of their very limited spaces.

The bedrooms, breakfast and bar snacks were adequate. The restaurant was expensive and the menu didn't appeal to us at all.

The hotel guide in each room stipulates charges if you damage certain items in your room/hotel (usually £150 per item). It also states there is a £7.50 corkage charge if you bring your own drink into your room. I've never seen this before in any other hotel and would suggest is a very bad public relations exercise.

On the plus side, the aforementioned 87 year old was originally allocated a room on the 4th floor with a steep sided bath rather than a shower. The staff were very helpful in re-locating her to a first floor room with a walk-in shower. She still had to walk up 14 steps to get to this first floor room. There are no bedrooms on the ground floor. The public rooms are tastefully furnished (in my opinion) and we were pleased with our seaview room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of our touring holiday. Booked at the last minute for one night but liked it so much we stayed for two. We had a lovely room ( 42 ) with sea views. a nice wide 6ft bed but the best bit was the jacuzzi bath, great to try but i wouldn't buy one. We ate in the bar both nights, good honest food. All the staff were great, very efficient and friendly nothing too much trouble. Our only criticism is perhaps the hotel is a little pricey.Ask for sea views

Room Tip: Ask for sea views and a jacuzzi bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to catch an early ferry from Oban on Sunday morning. We arrived at 6:30pm. There was nowhere to park in the hotel car park (approx 10 cars) or anywhere on the promenade outside which was a worry with a car packed for 2 weeks holiday. I was told the car park 5 minutes away was safe and free overnight. However it was raining heavily and the carpark was a good 10 minutes brisk walk. My car is expensive and I worried about anything untoward happening in the night. I was told by the gentleman on the desk that this does not happen in Oban but I still worried. It also meant a rainy walk to collect the car at 6am to bring it back to the hotel to pack in time for the ferry. We had to leave at 7 am for the ferry and with having DBB rate expected early breakfast to be provided but this was just continental breakfast which was ok but we paid for full breakfast. As a positive the evening meal was good and we had a jet bath in room. Do not stay here if you are catching an early ferry is my advice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

A nice enough hotel in a great location but probably not quite the 4 Star establishment it claims to be. Pleasant staff in our experience but standard rooms are quite small really and are reminiscent of a Travelodge. Lot of noise from adjacent/overhead rooms. Reception compact and bijou. Jacuzzi in room didn't work. Breakfast very nice with good selection. Pleasant enough, but lacking a bit of the finery expected for 4 Stars and overly expensive in our opinion.

Room Tip: If it's your first Oban visit, you might like to upgrade for a waterfront view in the original b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,748 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Queens Hotel

Property: Best Western The Queens Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing