We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly and Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Queens Hotel is well worth staying at if you are ever travelling to Oban. It has a better aspect than other hotels as its to the right of the town as you drive in, so a lot quieter, but only a few minutes stroll along the promenade to the centre. The views from the hotel are spectacular.

The hotel has been refurbished to a high quality and the public areas and the bedroom were comfortable and spotlessly clean. Had an unexpected pleasure of a sea view!

We had a late lunch on arrival which they cheerfully accomodated and the food was very good quality. We didnt eat in the restaurant in the evening, but the menu looked excllent in terms of dishes and price.

The staff were all helpful and friendly, Rob and the team certainly make your stay worthwhile.

Would definitely recommend and return.

Room Tip: Number 47 has a lovely sea view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhiannon51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel and this feedback has been passed on to the team here. As we are situated directly on the seafront the majority of the bedrooms benefit from a view of the sea. The higher floors of the extension, where the standard rooms are located, all have a beautiful view over the bay and to the islands beyond. Should you be visiting Oban again and wish to stay with us, an upgrade to a Superior sea view room is definitely worth the extra as these rooms are situated in the main Victorian building and have comfy armchairs from which you can watch the ferries and boats sailing by. We are glad that you enjoyed your lunch here and we can recommend eating in our restaurant during a future visit to Oban! We would like to thank you once again for placing a review on Trip Advisor and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (935)
There are newer reviews for Best Western The Queens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 935 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just stayed at the hotel last week for two nights, was very impressed with the service overall. Evening fine dining meals are fantastic and great value. Parking is limited but we had a space, also good distance from the centre that meant it was quiet, but not too far too walk. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJW74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and were pleased to read that you enjoyed the whole experience of staying at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel. Your comments regarding service and the quality of food in our 1AA rosette Glen Campa restaurant have been passed on to the chefs and the entire team. We have to agree that at £28.00 for a 3 course meal in the restaurant it is great value for money. Thank you once again for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This hotel played host to my wedding earlier this month, and I have to say everything was perfect. The entire hotel is immaculate and nicely furnished, the rooms are gorgeous and well-equipped; waking up with a view down the sound of Kerrera & Mull is an added bonus in the suites & sea view rooms. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the evening meal in the Glen Campa restaurant was incredible with head chef, Romi, creating a beautiful banqueting menu which was almost completely gluten-free just so my wife could have a choice of courses on her big day.
Raymond and Susan were fantastic hosts and really did go out of their way to make sure we, and our wedding guests were all happy and tended to - we could't have asked for a better venue; it was perfect.
Having worked in many of the hotels in this area, I can honestly say that if you're visiting Oban, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The Queen Victoria suite is a fantastic choice if you're treating yourself!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a four night stay at this hotel which is in an ideal location, being very quiet. Our comfortable room had a lovely sea view, the staff were all pleasent and the breakfast was very enjoyable. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catfangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to be ideally situated. Being situated on the Esplanade, the hotel is approximately ten minutes walk from the town centre so is close enough to enjoy the local amenities but is quiet during the evening. Thank you for placing your review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Thanks to Raymond and susan and all there staff for the perfect day at the queens hotel. Highly recommend a stay here the staff and management could not do enough for us. Our sons wedding was made more special with the excellent service and lovely staff. The meal we had was one of the best we have had and we eat in a lot of nice establishments but this was up there at the top. Compliments to the chef he should have two Michelin stars........rooms extremely clean and comfortable.thanks again to all the staff will definetly recommend you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Queens hotel on 27th and 28th October. We had room 1. Booked it through booking.com. This hotel was a big more expensive than ones we normally stay at but we thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was lovely, huge comfy bed and lovely view over bay. The bathroom was a bit small but the jacuzzi with the changing light made up for it! Bliss. We had dinner and breakfast. We could not manage the 3 courses but found there was plenty choices. The staff were very polite and helpful. If we go back to Oban we would definately staff there again.

Room Tip: its worth the extra for a superior seaview room
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenniferriddoch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

We would like to thank you for taking the time to place a review on Trip Advisor. Room 1 is one of our Superior Sea View rooms which benefits from unrestricted views across the bay and over to the islands of Kerrera and Mull. They also have comfy chairs at the windows which are a great way to spend an afternoon watching the world (or ferries!) going by. We are pleased that although you found the hotel slightly more expensive than you would normally pay you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The spa bath in the bathroom is an added bit of luxury after a day exploring the beautiful area. Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, all of us here at BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel look forward to welcoming you back should you ever visit Oban or the west coast again. Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The staff of the hotel were extremely helpful, and the rooms were very comfortable. However if you are put in one of the rooms in the rear annexe expect to here a lot of noise from the other rooms as the walls are paper thin. Also they do not have any form of net curtain which make you feel like you are in a goldfish bowl!! The bar does also not open until 5.30 which is a little bit annoying when you have driven a long way and need of a stiff drink. The restaurant food was excellent and service was very good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western The Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor. It was great to read that you found the rooms to be comfortable and that you enjoyed our fine dining experience in The Glen Campa Restaurant. We would like to apologise that you could not get a drink on your arrival. The bar does open from 5.30pm however where possible our receptionists can serve a limited range of drinks to guests before this time. Unfortunately during busy times there may be a short wait as our receptionists check in other guests. In regards to your comments regarding net curtains, this is something we are intending on providing all of our rooms within the next year. Up until now a net curtain wasn’t provided as it was felt that they might infringe on the beautiful views from the rooms, but we have found that guests do prefer having a net curtain at the window. We are pleased to see that you found the staff here to be “extremely helpful”, all comments are passed onto the staff. Thank you once again for your review on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
985 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western The Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western The Queens Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oban
Price Range: $101 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western The Queens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and managed 4 star hotel branded through Best Western situated next to the bay of Oban with wonderful views of the Island of Kerrera ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western The Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Oban
Best Western The Queens Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing