We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ranald Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
$163
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$154
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$96
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Muthu Alexandra Hotel(Oban)(Great Value!)
$98
$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$152
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$185
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveler rating
295
378
212
84
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
378
212
84
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi bathsea viewbuffet stylesea frontbar menulovely hotelparking is limitedhotel barmain buildingsingle roomcar parktown centrefirst floorhotel is situatedkippersstreet parkingnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
773 - 778 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The room was in an annexe at the back of the hotel with a view of a brick wall , the bed was very comfortable but unfortunately i was unable to sleep properly because it was very noisy each of the three nights l stayed there , could hear other residents moving around, creaking floor boards etc. The tea tray and kettle were on the floor which was where the kettle had to be boiled because the flex could not reach any plugs higher up the wall. Also there was not enough guest car parking at the front of the hotel. Continental breakfast not great. I do not think that the room and facilities were worth the rather high price l paid, l would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Please accept our apologies that your stay did not live up to your expectations. Should any guest experience problems during their stay we hope that they can come to reception and speak to us so that we have the opportunity to solve issues as soon as possible. There is limited on site parking however the esplanade is free and unrestricted all day and if that is full there is a public car park approximately 400 yards away which is free overnight. We are sorry that you experienced difficulties to park during your stay. The continental breakfast that is provided consists on cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, fruit juices and freshly made toast, along with tea or coffee. We apologise if this was not sufficient for you as we normally have no complaints about the continental breakfast that is available. Thank you once again for your comments on Trip Advisor and we hope that you might reconsider your feelings about staying here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed at The Queens for 4 nights on a bed and breakfast basis and loved it. From the moment we checked in, to when we checked out, we could not fault anything. Hot and cold buffet breakfast is a great idea as you could eat as little or as much as you wanted to. We also ate in the Hotel each evening and food was delicious. We had a room with a super view overlooking the water which was a lovely surprise...Last but not least, the staff themselves were so attentive, welcoming and friendly. Definitely will be returning here. Well done Queens.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe at the back of the Hotel can also get super view across water.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creamola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. It is lovely to read a review like yours where it is perfectly clear that you had a great time. We are pleased to read that you found all the food “delicious” from breakfast to dinner, and that you appreciated all the hard work that our team put in to making the hotel a success. We are glad that you enjoyed the spectacular views across the bay from one of our standard bedrooms. The majority of the standard rooms do benefit from a sea view so when you rebook please ask for a sea view and we will try our best to ensure that you do get a room with a view. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on the 20th October. Room was clean and overlooking the coast, just perfect. The jacuzzi bath was surprisingly relaxing to be honest. The staff were pleasant and diligent. The location was a short walk away from the main street which meant it was so peaceful and looking at other hotels around, I'm glad we stayed here.
I will say that the soundproofing doesn't appear to be great in the hotel so I can imagine at peak times it could be bothersome, but it didn't impact us this time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schmikes19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that your stay here was relaxing and enjoyable. Waking up to the view out over the bay to the islands of Kerrera and Mull is the best way to start a day. The hotel is approximately a ten minute walk from the town centre so is quiet and peaceful at night but close enough to all the local attractions. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and should you be visiting Oban again in the future please do not hesitate to contact us to arrange accommodation for yourselves. Thank you for your review of our property on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We decided to break our journey home to South Uist from Glasgow by staying the night in Oban. We booked a standard double room with breakfast included on LateRooms for £89, which we thought very good for a 4-star hotel. We did a bit of checking on Trip Advisor, noticed the conflicting reviews but read between the lines and decided the positives were closer to the truth - and we were right! From the moment we arrived, we were treated well by friendly, helpful staff. Our room was lovely - modern but not without character, and spotlessly clean. We loved the positioning of the sockets in the middle of the headboard - great for mobile phone charging and laptops etc. We also really appreciated the hassle-free, free wi-fi in the hotel. Also, the jacuzzi was a real treat - my husband is recovering from a back injury and he found the bath very relaxing. We had a lovely evening meal in the bar - very tasty and well presented. We had a great night's sleep in a huge comfortable bed. We had to leave early the next morning to catch the ferry, so were too early for the full breakfast, which begins at 7.30am. When we mentioned this on our arrival, the receptionist told us that they would make special provision and lay on a continental breakfast at 7am. This suited us fine, and we were well looked after in the morning by the waiter who brought us freshly made coffee and toast. He was obviously looking out for us and even said he was getting a bit worried about us in case we missed our ferry. Such personal touches really make a difference! Overall, we couldn't fault the hotel - well I suppose we could if we tried hard to nit-pick, which others have obviously done before us! To my mind, it is your own attitude that makes the stay good or bad - go in with a smile and you will get plenty back; go in with a frown and you may as well have stayed at home! Thank you, Queen's Hotel, for a lovely treat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angus_mb_macintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

We would like to take the opportunity to thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. All comments, whether positive or negative, are passed onto the team here and dealt with accordingly but we are pleased to read that the positive comments that have been placed on Trip Advisor outweigh the minor negative comments. The journey between Glasgow and South Uist is a long one and a stopover in Oban is a sensible idea. We are pleased to read that you found the décor of the room to your taste and that you had a great sleep in one our comfy super-king sized beds. The early continental breakfast is available to all guests that are heading out before our normal breakfast start time. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and that our night porter’s concern regarding you catching a ferry wasn’t warranted but was appreciated by yourselves. The spa baths in the bathrooms are a great feature for all of our guests. They are very relaxing for guests who are tired after a day at work, or exploring the local area but we are pleased that it benefited your husband and we hope that he has recuperated fully after having back surgery. You have the perfect attitude when it comes to staying in hotels, and we hope to welcome you again to BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel with lots of smiles. Thank you again for leaving such great comments on Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Spent three nights here,ate in the restaurant two nights our little dog was made welcome, the owner very pleasant the staff superb with great attention to detail.
Our room was fine very clean, pleasant outlook.
The hotel is not far from the centre of Oban , watching the ferry go past is wonderful ,trip over to Mull enjoyable.The fresh seafood lovely , all in all we will no doubt return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roberta333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raymondhyams, General Manager at Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the food in The Glen Campa Restaurant. You and your little dog were a pleasure to have around. The owners have a dog themselves and most of the staff are fond of dogs. This means that dogs are often showered with attention during their stays! Cleanliness of the hotel and food are aspects that we pride ourselves on and we are glad that you appreciated our high standards. We have to agree that watching the ferries going by is a great way to spend your days. Our location really is second to none and it is great that so many of our standard rooms do benefit from the outstanding views. Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you and your dog back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews