We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Nice enough location, rooms could do with an uplift though. Forgot how lumpy the mattress was. Meals were somewhat meagre, very small portions for mains at dinner and pretty minimal breakfast, the 5pm deals are a great idea and keeps places ticking over but hotels really shouldn't be reducing quantity to support this. Nice staff and good bar, but calling it a spa is a bit of a stretch!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigiefortScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear CraigiefortScotland
Thank you for your review. As with most hotels, we are constantly maintaining and refurbishing the rooms and the hotel, and certain areas of the hotel are being looked at at any given time, so we shall certainly be reviewing the room you stayed in with regards to the mattress. We are sorry you were not happy with your portion sizes at dinner, but if we had known at the time, we would have been more than happy to accommodate any extra portions you would have liked. We are sorry too that you thought breakfast was minimal – our breakfast consists of tea, coffee, juices, cereals, toast, yoghurt, fruits, and then a choice of hot plated foods ranging from a full Scottish breakfast to French toast with bacon and maple syrup to eggs Benedict, among others. Our mini-spa does consist of a small sauna, small steam room and outdoor hot tub, and we advertise it as a mini-spa in as many places as we can, mainly to ensure our guests are aware that they have the facility to use, free of charge while they are residents with us, and also to ensure that they don’t forget their costume! We see you have been with us before, and hope that next time, if you could raise these issues with us, we can do something about it before you leave, as we do not like leaving any guests disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    553
    373
    168
    91
See reviews for
239
948
51
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We had a lovely 2 night break with breakfast and dinner on the first night.with a bottle of wine. I booked through 5pm.com and got a great deal. The staff were really nice and helpful. Made us feel welcome. Sitting in the hot tub was fab even although it was a bit dreach outside.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnocanraer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear cnocanraer
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourselves, and also that you put the hot tub to good use!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmacara Square
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is great, but the cost of food has went severly up in price, the contents served are reduced, cuts of meat are small, the veg is also reduced, chips used to be hand cut bit are not now.1 choice starter, Stornoway benedict is now sadly lacking in flavour and doubled in price

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Seanair284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Seanair284
Thank you for your review. All of our prices are done at group level, however we will certainly be looking at portion size on our a la carte menu. At the time of your stay we did do a three course table d’hote menu at £19.95, however we now operate a six course taster menu, which, as the name suggests, is a “taste” of our a la carte menu, and as it is over six courses, the portions are slightly smaller to ensure our guests get to the dessert at the end! We do hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed here last night with a dinner, bed and breakfast deal.
The hotel is ideally situated on the sea front and although hotel parking is limited (and chargeable), there is plenty of free parking a minute or so walk away.
We received a warm welcome from the receptionist and found our room to be very clean, comfortable and quiet. One of the reasons we came to this hotel was that it has a spa and I was initially concerned when recent reviews said not every thing in the spa was working after refurb, however I emailed the hotel and Anna quickly replied telling me everything was working.
The Spa was really nice, there is something special about sitting in a hot tub under the stars when it is only two or three degrees outside!
Strangely there were no securable lockers for clothing so be warned, we didn't find it a great problem we just kept the room key with us.
We ate dinner in the restaurant that night and chose food off the set menu for the deal we were on- it was well cooked and really tasty and both the staff members who were working in the restaurant were extremely friendly and pleasant.
We enjoyed our stay very much and just about the only negative thing I have to say was the cooked breakfast was very greasy- which was surprising as the food at dinner had been so good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveHGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear SteveHGlasgow
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and also that you didn’t get caught up in the refurb. We did have an issue with the locks on the lockers and we were waiting for new locks. You will be pleased to know that the lockers are now lockable! We can only apologise that you were disappointed with your breakfast, and have taken the issue up with our breakfast chef. We hope this did not detract from your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alloa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had a lovely time here. Staff were lovely - especially the manager (long blonde hair and glasses - I didnt get her name) who couldnt do enough for us. We made good use of the outdoor hot tub and spa facilities which were superb. The hotel is modern and the views from the hotel are stunning. It's a 5/10 walk from the main water front, which was no problem for us as its a lovely wee walk but may not be great for other guests. The breaksfast was good with plenty of choices. We had dinner in the hotel one night which was also good. Would recommend this place and hopefully we will go back some time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynseyr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear lynseyr1977
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you had such an enjoyable stay, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great visit to Oban and Oban Bay hotel, in fact the only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is the poor parking. Only around 10 spaces outside hotel and the street parking 150 yards up the road was full before 6pm on a mid week night in November. The hotel however is fantastic the resident areas are superb, the food formidable and the rooms great even if getting to the rooms at the rear is odd. We will certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear bob m

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and agree, parking is an issue both here at the hotel, and indeed in Oban. It is a constant problem for all hotels along the front. It appears this did not impact your stay too much, for which we are thankful, and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our beautiful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay in this hotel. The positives are the staff (although can be quite informal - we like that!) They were absolutely lovely, friendly and efficient. We were there for our Silver wedding anniversary and although I had advised the hotel of this, they didn't receive it and we were a wee bit disappointed that they hadn't acknowledged it but when checking out we told them and the (presumed) assistant manager was so regretful and said we should have said when we booked in. She was so lovely. However, we did have an issue with the bed - you couldn't even sit on it but it creaked and we, therefore, did not have a good sleep as every time you turned it creaked and woke you up. I did contemplate telling them but was a little embarrassed, given the occasion, and didn't want to open up a discussion about creaky beds! We did advise when leaving and again was told we should have informed them as the hotel was empty and she would have moved us! I wish we had. Our room looked lovely when we entered but it was cold, however, they had supplied a fan heater. I was very disappointed with the bathroom as it was very, very functional, not at all what you expect from a hotel and it was freezing in there. However, we managed. As short break enthusiasts we don't complain very much, unless it is something disastrous and, given the special occasion, we were pretty disappointed with our room but it was nice enough. The linen on the beds is of a high quality and very nice. The big point was the food. We had the most delicious set meal on our first night - the chef obviously knows his stuff. It was beautifully presented, cooked and served. I cannot impress enough the staff in this hotel - they really were lovely and the afternoon tea and scones were to die for....! We were also disappointed that the sauna etc was not in use. It did say on the website it would be out of use for certain dates in November but we were disappointed to see that it was still out of use when we were there or we would definately have used it - this was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. However, would we stay here again? absolutely but we would requested an upgraded room. The hotel is dated but we like that - it is in keeping with the majestic building. A tip would be for a coat hook to be sited somewhere as the weather was terribly wet when we where there and we had nowhere to hang our outdoor clothes to dry off. All in all we had a lovely stay and I cannot praise the staff enough - the renovation it is work in progress but the staff deal with it in a friendly manner, which the manager should be proud of. The view of the bay from the conservative was wonderful and it is near to all amenities. We loved Oban and will be back. Thank you.

Room Tip: Not sure as we only saw what was on the website but ask for a renovated room - may work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teeger9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear teeger9
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you chose us to celebrate such a happy occasion, and cannot apologise enough that the information never got to us. If there is ever anything which we can do to enhance your stay (in your case, we could have moved your room), then we are always happy to do so, if we know at the time. We are looking into the heating issue in your bathroom, and hope to resolve that soon – once again, we apologise and had we known sooner we could have rectified it for you. We are sorry that you got caught up in the problems during maintenance of our sauna and steam room – it was to be closed for one week for essential maintenance, but unfortunately other issues arose and we were forced to keep it shut until these issues had been remedied. We are delighted that this has not put you off returning, and thrilled that the rest of your stay was such an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,339 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing