We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay”
Review of Oban Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oban Bay Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here taking a couple of elderly relatives for a short break. Hotel within walking distance of main shops etc if you are fit, however not for the elderly or infirm, as it is a bit of a distance. Hotel itself excelled all my expectations of a Scottish traditional hotel. Rooms are to a high standard, meals to a high standard and staff happy polite and always willing to help. Staff in the dining room should be commended as nothing was too much bother even if it took them out of their way. Parking free just round the corner. We didn't use the spa however there was a steam room sauna and hot tub an you could get a treatment if you wished. So all in all an ideal hotel if you want a short break in Oban

Room Tip: A fair walk to rooms so if slightly infirm let staff know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    568
    399
    178
    96
See reviews for
247
980
52
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westport
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights and while the hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly, the hotel is oldish and the rooms are dark. We had 4 rooms, with a party of 8. This is my feedback but I also asked members of my family who confirmed my story (i was wondering if it was just me).

There is very little parking and it stresses the reception staff out. That is all the lady at the front the desk was about upon checking in, never even looked at our passport when booking in.

The way to the elevator is really long and you already have to clim stairs to reach the elevator. I am mentioning it because a member of our party has difficulty with stairs.

Even thought we stayed for 4 night the Shampoo and shower wash was never replenished in our room. We travel light and do not check in on airlines so I do not bring liquids with me. I depend on those. They tell you that of you need anything to call the front desk, we did and they could not locate the supplies for us, then we got just shower gel, no shampoo. I have never been to a hotel where you have one little tube of shower gel and one little tube of shampoo for 2 adult for a stay of 4 night. And they call themselves a spa. No other amenities like shower cap, kleenex, body lotion, even Motel 6 has those. Signs says you have to reserve the spa 7 days in advance. The hot tub is sandwiched between 2 buildings and is small, it can sit 2 people comfortably, max 4.

The first night we used their restaurant and service was a disaster, the food is expensive, way more that the best restaurants in town for a much lower quality. Both for our entree and our main course they were not able to deliver our table of 8 at the same time so some of us ended up eating cold while the other still waited. Granted the hotel management made adjustment to our bill since it was really bad we complained (the waiter did not input the entire order), but it did ruin the experience. We had an inclusive breakfast, but there is a supplement for almost everything.

The hotel does have a lot of tour bus traffic and I guess this is how they stay in business but I would not book with them again nor with the Crerar chain of spa.

On a positive note, the rooms, while old and dinghy are clean, the staff is very friendly and tries hard, but the management is absent. There were a lot of seasonal workers and they have no idea what to do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathalieWestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night and it was excellent. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. I stayed in Room 24, a lovely double room with fantastic bay views. There was plenty of hot water and toiletries. Kettle, tea, coffee and shortbread. The room was a little tired but one of the windows had been replaced with a PVC one and so I believe a programme of restoration is in progress. The hotel is in a lovely peaceful location with none of the noise that you get from the Hotels the other end of Oban near to the Ferry/train terminals. That in itself is worth alot. The breakfast was excellent, fresh hot toast and a good choice if hot food from eggs benedict to cinnamon waffles and bacon with maple syrup. One piece of advice, BOOK your parking space as there are only 14 available. If not there are spaces on the front by the Great Western Hotel "The Queens". Not too far away. I have stayed here before, it was better this time. I will now be using this hotel on a regular basis.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. On arrival, there was no space in the car park so we parked our car in the free parking along the seafront.

Check in was average. This was our second visit and on this occasion we were allocated Room 28 on the top floor in the original building. There are no lifts in this part so we walked our cases up the stairs.

The room was on the side of the hotel overlooking the youth hostel and the bay. It had a small bathroom with shower (with a poorly fitting shower head) but the rest of the room, including the bed, was very comfortable.

We were on the B&B deal and breakfast was table served, including juice and cereal. On the two mornings we were there, there was no orange juice. Surprising as there were plenty of shops selling it in the town centre. Other breakfast items were cooked to order and were of good quality with the exception of the margarine which was decanted into butter dishes - such a disappointment.

On this occasion we made use of the outdoor hot tub which was a lovely way to spend the early evening. However this did not redeem the disappointing experience we had. Unless the deal was favourable, it would be unlikely that we would return.

This hotel has so much going for it. Perhaps it just needs effective management in key areas.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash_Black
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Didn't enjoy my stay here at all, but made more bearable by the staff who work very hard and were always smiling. The room was very dingy and the shower cubicle had mismatched tiles and a leaking shower head, we were on DBB package and the portions were very small but you could order from a la carte at a huge supplement! I ordered a cup of tea in the lounge and paid £2.25 for a cup of hot water, a tea bag and half pot of milk. My husband had haddock for breakfast which was a tiny fillet which had broken up whilst cooking but was still served up after having been carefully placed back together on the plate! And this in the 'fish capital of Scotland' ! Goodness knows what the tourists must think. I had a taster beauty treatment which was held in what can only be described as a cupboard off the corridor with no sense of serenity or luxury. The same could be said of the 'Spa' - they were 3 separate rooms off the same corridor that people trundled along with cases etc! My husband is a Scottish Tourist Guide and was keen to stay here but left feeling that It is a very overpriced hotel which we would
not recommend, sorry.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

A smiling friendly face at reception set the tone for the stay. All the staff were friendly, although occasionally there did appear to be a small language barrier, as many of the staff are not local.
We only had an afternoon tea and breakfasts so we cannot comment on the dinner menu. The afternoon tea was excellent as was the breakfast, although they are a little pricey.
Our room was on the top floor, in the original building. A little bit small and certainly not worth the rack rate of £135, but was adequate for our needs. Of course the rate could be in keeping with other hotels of the same standard in the area, if so, they are over priced too. The decor in the hotel does not help the image, being various shades of brown, however, it was in mainly in good order throughout.
We took advantage of the facilities in the spa area. These have certainly benefitted from a recent upgrade and add a little bit of individuality to the hotel.
The main problem with the hotel is attention to detail. There were a couple of loose floor tiles in the spa area, the water seal on the bottom of the shower door in the room required a good clean or replacing, one chair in the lounge had a torn arm. The image of the hotel is let down by this, and leads to a feeling of poor housekeeping.
One thing the owners should take note of is the parking. Space is limited, but I believe that charging for parking on top of the room rate is just unacceptable. Fortunately, as we were travelling by motorcycle we were able to park at the back of the hotel, out of the way.
Overall it is a nice place to stay but is over priced by some margin. I would expect to pay no more than £90 per night for a hotel of this standard, and I would never expect to pay for parking.
Would we return? Yes we would, but not if we had to pay the rack rate.
It would not take much of an improvement for us to have given this an excellent rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlenSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Plus points:
-Location (right at the waters edge), but that is the same with a lot of the hotels in Oban.
-Lovely breakfast staff and nice breakfast, although there wasn't a specific cooked vegetarian option.
-Friendly cleaning lady, bit strange I know but always nice to see a smiling face!

Negatives:
-Reception and bar staff a little surly! Nothing ridiculous though.
-The hotel is massive which means it lacks a bit of charm
-It is quite pricey! That could just be Oban though.
-Our room had a tiny shower which flooded the floor, again not a massive problem but not ideal.
-I didn't use it but from the looks of it the sauna looked quite grotty.

All in all a not a bad stay but it is quite a basic hotel for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReviewerAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
20.5 mi away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,427 reviews
9.8 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oban Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Property: Oban Bay Hotel
Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oban Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing