We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oban Bay Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,881)
Filter reviews
1,881 results
Traveler rating
520
604
439
202
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
520
604
439
202
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tuboban bayspa facilitiescrerar hotelssteam rooma la carte menuset menudinner bed and breakfastwaiting staffrestaurant staffstornoway black puddingdining roomshort breaklounge areanight breaksea viewlovely view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,214 - 1,219 of 1,881 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My partner and I along with another couple stayed here over Hogmanay, it was fantastic!

The rooms were spotless, warm and spacious enough! The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels and toiletries the tea tray was also restocked during our 4 night break! The bed was huge a great selling point!

Check in was flawless, very quick and efficient! The staff are superb no question or task is a hasstle and they can't do enough for you!

The food was delicious, the breakfast was the best I have had and I have stayed at many hotels! Cereal and fruit juices along with a full cooked breakfast accompanied by reems of toast is more than enough to set you up for the day!

The spa facilities are amazing, sitting in the hot tub which is nice an hot when it's freezing outside with views across the water is a must! Steam room and sauna spotless along with the outdoor hot tub area!

We particularly enjoyed relaxing in the glass conservatory with a glass of wine enjoying the views over the water, we could have spent hours there!

As for the hotel location it is also perfect, everything is in walking distance but not right in the town which is great as it cuts down noise but everything remains accessible on foot!

We have booked again for an Easter break and I will be booking next new year when we are there!

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo88Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The hotel is a labyrinth of corridors to navigate, which I would say adds to the appeal. Car parking is available to book in advance, well worth doing so if you take your car.
Groupon deal as mentioned, which included B&B, evening meal for £59 for two people.
The treatments on offer are good, well worth a shot. Hot tub, unfortunately due to the weather was closed. (January 2012 Storms).
Rooms were large enough, practical, warm and comfortable to stay in.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel was fine. We booked in 30/12/2012 first room no light in bathroom, very cold room although nice and big, no view faced a wall. We were moved to a smaller room along the corridor ,smaller room with lovely view of bay but still very cold, windows let in water as well as cold. As we new we would,nt be in room very much we put up with this.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious good and value, we had done an all inclusive 3 day break.

Room Tip: Make sure its warm
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolAnnGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

im just back from 2 nights at the oban bay hotel. we had an amazing deal from the crerar website .it was 2 nights b&b with dinner on the first night for £110 but crerar also have a deal that if you book min 2 nights accomodation in any of there hotels you get £35 off your stay when you click and print the vouchers and various other vouchers so including drinks my break cost me £81 . the hotel is ok nothing specail we had a great view from our room but it wasnt in great condition.It did have a bath and shower but was very smelly due to the shower curtain.We opened the wardrobe and there was a empty bottle of champagne in the wardrobe and the windows had toilet paper stuffed round the seels as there is a terrible draught. The leisure facilities sell this hotel we loved the hot tub we went in at night and was great as was realy hot in the tub but was freezing outside.the next morning after brekfast we went in the hot tub again and because it was dark the night before we never realised it was filthy loads of flies ants and saliva realy needed claned out. The sauna and steam room where spotless,

the food at night was ok . from table d hote 3 choices of starter main and desert. starters where soup ,pate or mushrooms in a blue cheese sauce which we both had. mains where fish a veg meal and ham which we chose but was served fancy but was essentaily mached potstaoe with a gammon steak and red wine sauce over it. in the menu its was described as ham off the bone .

breakfast was lovely served tea or cofee then fruit juice then a choice of cereal or porridge fllowed by your choice of hot breakfast. fisrt mornibg we had a cooked breakfast which was great ,sausage black pudding haggis egg and loads of toast. next morning we both had french toast with bacon and maple syrup was lovely. other things on menu were eggs and soldiers eggs benedict, and a fish dish

the staff 10/10 eastern european man that served us at breakfats and dinner the fist day was simply one of the nicest guys that ive experience in a hotel couldnt do enough for you and had a good sense of humour and the girl at reception was also first class.

i would return to this hotel but only if i got a deal for less than £100 for 2 nights seen various groupons deals like £60 DBB which is good. dont think i would have enjoyed it as much if i didnt have a sea view room.

also read a few crazy stories of people strugglng to park and parking over a mile away or payng the £5 per day to park. if you continue by the hotel about 100 metres or so the yellow lines stop and you can freely park in the street along ther promenade from the oban centre so dont pay the £5 to park .

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room you might be lucky
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank archiegemmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Another comfortable stay in this nice hotel. My double room was quite big and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was nice although disappointingly no bath and the shower could have been hotter. Toiletries in the bathroom were minimal and the shampoo was half empty and clearly not replaced by the one used by the previous guest. The views from the conservatory over to Kerrera were lovely. The sauna, steam room and especially the hot tub were fantastic. Was a shame that the massage chair was out of use. The breakfast in the morning was great as always with a good selection on offer. An enjoyable stay once again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews