We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, warm and friendly.”
Review of Backpackers Plus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Backpackers Plus
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Clean, warm and friendly.”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Was made to feel welcome and the host was very hospitable. The facilities were very clean; the cleanest I've seen at a hostel. The kitchen is fully equipped and there's even free food. The beds had two pillows and the room temperature was easily adjustable (choice between window, can and radiator.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 650ccGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    45
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
26
67
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2014

For a private room I only paid £19 a night. Amazing price. Right in the middle of town. The kitchen was great, fully equipt with all cooking facilities and free breakfast! Including my favourite Aussie treat, vegemite!
The owner even popped over to say hi while we were enjoying a drink in the kitchen. Would recomend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appleash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Cheap as chips but comfy and clean. Yes the decor in the house is a little dated but it was super clean, warm, good TV, good connection to BT Openzone wifi, close to town and staff really lovely.
I'm used to a hotel but booked this as I needed a cheap get away and this more than fitted the bill!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I spend a week in this backpackers, for a training course in Oban.

The kitchens are big and open, which was nice. The common areas are colorful, there is a lot of space, and there are comfortable settees. The staff is very friendly too!

The dorms are large, with a lot of space to store your luggage. Not too hot, so I slept very well.

The bathrooms are decent - the showers were too hot however ( I don't enjoy being scolded early in the morning ) - making showering an epic feat! It would have been nice to be able to regulate the heat of the water.

Overall, a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxandpau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I absolutely loved loved loved my stay here! I wanted something cheap as I was just staying the one night, as this is about as cheap as you can get, but it no way compromised on comfort or anything else!
It was a little confusing when I first arrived as this had previously been part of Oban Backpackers, but since they split it meant that at first they couldn't find my booking, but it was quickly resolved so there was no issue (just bear in mind that they are two different hostels now, opposite each other)
Checking in was quick and simple, and we were issued with a key for the room which was in the floor below reception. The room was lovely, big and spacious with bunk beds, plenty of room to store luggage under the bed too. Only downside here was there was no locker, but I didn't personally find this a problem and I had a mac with me. Everyone was lovely so I wasn't overly anxious about leaving my belongings in the room.
The communal area was amazing! For a hostel it had everything you could want. It's big and spacious and modern, with skylights. There are ample amount of comfy sofas, with blankets and coffee tables, it was easy to make myself at home with a cup of tea! There is also a large/double kitchen area, and plenty of tea and coffee. As I was only staying one night I didn't use the kitchen for anything but making tea and breakfast in the morning, so I can't comment really on this, but from what I saw there is nothing at all to complain about. Breakfast in the morning was cereals and toast, great that it's included in the price. There is also a pool table which of course is a bonus!

Overall I would say you can't go wrong at all booking this hotel! The staff are lovely, the atmosphere is great and the place itself is very cosy and homely. I will definitely return here if I require accommodation in Oban!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrfoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

we, my fiancee and a friend of mine and me, stayed at backpackers plus in Oban for 3 nights and it was great! the staff was really friendly and courteous.
the rooms are very comfy and clean. they also got a really big kitchen so its no problem to cook at all, even if there are 10 others using it.
the sky room (the reception, the kitchen, some tables and sofas) is really open and colorful!
all together it was a great vacation!

Special thanks to Peter and the staff!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Booked for 2 nights, ended up staying for 4. The rooms were great, the showers were fantastic (very nice water pressure, but just a tad too hot though), and the staff were incredibly friendly and accommodating. I'm a very light sleeper and had problems sleeping due to a noisy group sharing my dorm, and was very kindly moved to another dorm. The common room was really nice and bright, located on the top floor of the hostel, and the adjoining open kitchen was great and well-equipped. Overall, a lovely hostel in a lovely town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zeniale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,046 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Plus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Plus

Property: Backpackers Plus
Address: The Old Church | Breadalbane St, Oban PA34 5PH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a fun, cosy hostel with loads of character and the friendliest staff you'll meet! We've got a great central location convenient to all amenities in the bustling Scottish west-coast town of Oban. We have comfy, spacious dormitories as well as family-friendly private rooms (some with ensuite), all with access to a very well eqiupped self-catering kitchen. Our prices include all bedding, a buffet breakfast and free internet. We have a huge, fantastic lounge and socialising area with a pool table, board games, books, and all-day free tea/coffee and hot chocolate... Every creature comfort for the budget-minded traveller! Our private rooms are in our annex about 100 metres away from the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers Plus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Plus Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing