We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the Walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McCaig's Tower

McCaig's Tower
Book In Advance
More Info
$77.45*
and up
Loch Lomond, Loch Awe, Oban and Inveraray Day Trip from Glasgow
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
Level Contributor
452 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had no idea what to expect when we started our climb to McCaig's Tower so we were pleasantly surprised by the beautiful park in the center of the colosseum. And then there's the view...

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    757
    230
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

The walk up wasn't as bad as I expected but the view from the balcony across the bay was much better than I anticipated. There are benches scattered around and sitting on the one on the balcony taking in the views was so relaxing.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Magicmespecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The walk up to it is nice, taking in some of Oban's lovely bigger houses. The tower itself is alright, not particularly striking or impressive, the gardens inside are nothing worth writing home about but the reason why anyone should visit it is the view from the balcony on the front looking over the town and the views beyond the harbour.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ArkwrightTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

Worth the very steep walk for a lovely view of the bay. It a striking structure worth a visit. Be prepared it's quite a steep climb.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ElaineHarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Give it a go.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

Perhaps it would too steep walk for some people to the top of the hill, but it is a great view from the top.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCaig's Tower also viewed

 

Been to McCaig's Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing