We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected stop”

The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Ranked #8 of 47 things to do in Oban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us for a great family day out in the stunning surroundings of Loch Creran. Visit the Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, home to a spectacular aquarium as well as Scotland's leading Seal Hospital. Journey through over 50 marine displays and get up close to majestic sharks, graceful rays and enchanting seahorses. Meet our adorable seals and hear the touching stories behind their rescues or visit our playful otters. Look out for rare red squirrels and other local wildlife as you explore our Nutkins Nature Trail or have an adventure in our Forest Adventure Play Area. Afterwards, take a well-deserved rest in our Shoreline Coffee Shop and soak up the best views of Loch Creran. With fun talks and feeding displays as well as so much to see and do, there's plenty for the whole family to enjoy whatever the weather!
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Came across the sanctuary by accident whilst travelling to Fort William and decided to stop for a break. We were just in time for feeding time for the beavers followed by the seals,followed by an interesting walk in the Aquarium area.
The tickets offer a free 7 day return so ideal if your staying local with kids.

Thank richy2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Richy, thanks for your recent review. Sometimes it is the unplanned days which turn out to be the best. Hopefully you will get the chance to use your seven day ticket again with us during your holiday. Enjoy the rest of your holiday, and don't forget to stay connected with us online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

732 - 736 of 900 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Living locally, we tend to pop along to the Sanctuary a couple of times a year but this was the first Easter Eggstravaganza we'd gone along to but will definitely be back next year,

Our two boys (11 and 7) had a superb day, all at a reduced price for the weekend. As well as the regular attractions - aquarium, seals, otters, shoreline walk - there was face painting, crafts, live singer, Easter bonnet parade and competition and of course, the fantastic egg hunt where the children (and adults!) scrambled to find their share of 50,000 chocolate eggs.

The whole day was genuinely fantastic fun, staff were fun, friendly and informative as always and having two exhausted children in the car on the way home is always the sig of a good day out!

Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thanks for the review Heather. Indeed, 2 exhausted kids is the sign of a good day! We are so glad that you enjoyed your day out with us and that your family did as well. We hope the kids weren't sick with the vast amount of eggs they collected. We hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

kids had a great day! there was lots to do could of spent the whole day there, we had only gone for the event but we will return with our free ticket that you got on the day great idea!

Thank 454taylor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Hi. Many thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed your day, hopefully next time you will spend the full day with us! Don't forget to keep updated with us on social media and via our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Set in a lovely location, the centre is ideal for those who love outdoors. Very informative, especially for younger ones.

Thank GlasgowCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi William. Many thanks for your recent comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us and found it both fun and informative. Hopefully we will look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The signs for the centre coming from the A85 are quite widely spaced, and it's easy to imagine you've missed the turn, or gotten lost but keep going, you can't miss the main entrance and the seal statues.

We had 2 for 1 from O2, but there are leaflets in Oban which also give you 2 for 1, so they're well worth picking up.

Once you're there you've got several different areas to look at, the excellent but short nature walk, the seals who alternate between inquisitive and camera shy, the aquarium with many different fish and aquatic animals, the playful otters, the red squirrel conservation area and the cafe.

The cafe had some tasty soup when we were there, and it certainly helped warm us up.

Another neat touch is the tickets, if you get your ticket stamped before 4pm on the day of your visit, you can come back free of charge, for 7 days!

Thank rugbymicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CraigConnor, General Manager at The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Hi Rubymickey. Many thanks for your recent response. We completely agree that the signs are widely spaced. Unfortunately, we have tried to get further signage, but have got our quota for them. We have to rely on the noise from the seals to guide people in!

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit from Glasgow with us, and hopefully you could take advantage of the free 7 day return on your tickets!

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary sometime in the near future! If you want to keep updated with the happenings don't forget to 'like' or 'follow' us and hear all about the adventures of our team and animals here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to The Scottish SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing