We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attentive and helpful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lancaster
Ranked #89 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Grogarry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Attentive and helpful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

What a great spot. Just out of the centre, so quiet even when bars/clubs closing. Small, traditional hotel, with loads of character and charm. No pretentions to be slick or fancy, just great value and simple pleasures, in an outstanding location. Friendly staff, good breakfasts and clean rooms. Above all, only a short walk from wherever you might want to visit in Oban

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have great views across Oban Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inchcapebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    42
    43
    52
    108
See reviews for
62
106
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were a group of trekkers (19 people) back srom a fantastic week of Skye trail... we booked this hotel for the wonderfull foto of the waterfront and the pleasant location....
We had the surprise to see the most dirty, abandoned, unconvenient and louzy rooms we could ever imagine !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bral51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Great location and useful for the ferry. Parking was good.
The room was outdated and had clothing left from a previous guest in th trouser press and drawer.This gave the impression that perhaps nothing was well cleaned.
The pipe in the corner was not insulated and continualy heated the room- in summer this was not necessary.
Bathroom worked.

There was some beautiful furniture pieces and the lounge had a fantastic view. Hotel needs a major overhaul.It all felt old, dated and finished.
I would not stay here again until a refurbishment took place.

Room Tip: not room 12 - airless and odd pipes passing through the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Filey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

It was with some trepidation that I booked this hotel having read the reviews but happily we were very pleasantly surprised. We stayed for three nights together with our dog. We had a room with dual aspect next to the cathedral (not a chime to be heard!) with a sea view. The room was a reasonable size, rather outdated - definitely needed a new carpet and the shower could do with replacing but it was perfectly clean and comfortable with coffee making facilities and good new TV (we do not object to older furniture). The public rooms - reception hall, dining room (looked like new carpet), cocktail lounge, entrance lounge were all very nice, characterful, clean and comfortable with amazing sea views. The staff were all lovely and eager to help, nothing was too much trouble. The bar menu was basic, perfectly edible and very cheap. The breakfast was exceptionally good, everything you could want and plenty of it (bacon and black pudding were nicest we have ever tasted). The hotel is in a lovely position, fantastic views and reasonable easy walking distance of the centre with woods behind to walk your dog. We did not use any of the fitness centre so cannot comment. We hope that people will give them a chance and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

At £75 for bed and breakfast for two this was one of the cheaper deals especially as we had booked during a busy tourist time. As regular visitors to the Islands we often use the Oban hotels and B&Bs for the overnight stay prior to catching the ferry. Included in the prices are a very early (but continental) breakfast which usually causes no problems as hoteliers are used to this request from ferry passengers. We have stayed in both expensive and inexpensive places and have always had good customer service and clean accommodation in which we felt safe….until we stayed at the Lancaster…...
Staff were verging on dismissive. Decor is very old fashioned, our room was very small with furniture and carpet from an era far gone. We had an old, tiny portable tv which did not have a good reception. The kettle had to be boiled on the floor as there was no table or area to put tea facilities near the plug. Bathroom was cramped with a stained and chipped toilet seat. The shower head was dirty and water trickling. Room walls are so thin we could hear everything next door were talking about and were even privy to a late night argument from whoever was above.
As we were unpacking bags from the car there were a group of people in the reception area obviously friends of the folk behind the reception/bar area and there was a heated argument and foul language flying about and no concerns for guests who were made to feel very uncomfortable. The final nail in the coffin for us was after being shown when we checked in where breakfast would be for us to help ourselves as we were going so early and assured that it would be available, the dining room door was locked.
It may be one of the cheaper options but is definitely not the best choice. There are other hotels and B&Bs with similar prices and far better facilities and customer care. The Lancaster is one to avoid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peartree7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

Good location but very poor service. Rude staff, especially the lady at the reception.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JiaHong M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Coll
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay in the hotel. Nice to be in a family atmosphere instead of big named hotels. Staff were so helpful and nice. Pool, hot tub e.t.c. was very nice! Am really looking forward to coming back. Our room had a lovely seaview and very comfy beds. Thank you so much see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#16 of 99 in Oban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilchrenan House
Kilchrenan House
#7 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster

Property: Lancaster
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Oban
Lancaster Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing