We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Oban!!”
Review of Glenburnie House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenburnie House
Ranked #6 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

A fabulous guest house in every way possible. Impossible to find fault. Extremely relaxed atmosphere with tasteful decor throughout. Beautiful bedrooms with luxury en-suites. Great breakfast with a huge choice and served by extremely friendly staff. I would not look any further than Glenburnie if staying in Oban in future.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeordieFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for Glenburnie House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 358 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

Conveniently situated within easy walking distance of the centre of Oban, this little gem boast beautiful views of the port of Oban and fantastic hospitality from Graeme and his team. Don't be fooled by the ordinary-looking exterior! This is one of the most tastefully decorated B&B's I've ever stayed in, with wonderful attention to detail, including a reception area lit with candles at night to welcome you home, teddy bears on your bed and a 'honesty snack basket' offering chocolates, chips and biscuits for the same price as you would get them in the store. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with a lovely homely feel, like you're visiting with family, and the lounge and dining room are just beautiful! Breakfast is generous and a delight for both the eyes and taste buds. The staff are very friendly and helpful, but be warned, they're extremely efficient, so don't be surprised if someone has already been in to make up your room before you return from breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandajhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The location and views from our bedroom window made the stay extra special - eg watching the Isle of Mull ferry go back and forth and other actiities on the water. We found it to be pricey compared to equivelent acommodation but you are paying mainly for the views, excellent location on the water's edge and the wonderful breakfast which was first class. The breakfast room overlooks the water which was particularly lovely. My main criticism was the shower cubicle in the room. It was tiny and was like having a shower in a caravan. Also the staff were not around visibly to ask for advice - you needed to ring a bell to get them to come out which I was a bit reluctant to do because I felt I would be disturbing them. I would receomend this hotel for people staying in Oban.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea-view as it is worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_traveller053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A well-run hospitable and superior B &B providing every comfort. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped. The proprietor, family and staff went out of their way to be welcoming and helpful. The view alone from the property is worth the visit with Oban providing a convenient stop-over on the way to the Isles or the West..

Room Tip: Get one with a view over the harbour.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We loved staying in the Glenburnie hotel. It is a pleasure to meet such lovely people and just a great atmosphere. The room was lovely, the bed was even better and from start to finish it was a ten out of ten for us. My only recommendation would be for a small fridge in the room, but hey that's what I'm used to when travelling, so just passing on some info. The breakfast however certainly made up for it. And maybe one other thing , use a money wallet to exchange cash, rather than hold a hand out, I think it's better, although these people are top, so no complaints only feedback. Well defo be back xx

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayjitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Well positioned on the Esplanade with great views across to the islands. We had a warm welcome & good advice for dining out. Our room was perfect, spacious, comfortable & with sea views. The town centre is a short walk along the esplanade. Breakfast was delicious. Altogether highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteevieBSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We have just come back from a fantastic 3 night stay at the glenburnie . The room was excelent, spotlessly clean. Had a fantastic sleep in the huge bed and the view you wake up to in the morning is to die for, so good we did not want to leave. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and set you up for the day. Graeme, the owner made us feel like family and could keep us right on the best places to visit and eat. We are so pleased we intend to return in october and all being well next year too.

Room Tip: look on the website to veiw the rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
826 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenburnie House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenburnie House

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $122 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenburnie House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned on The Esplanade, Glenburnie House offers an unrivalled bed and breakfast seafront location with spectacular views across Oban Bay and Kerrera IslandFamily run for over 40 years, Glenburnie has been in the Strachan family since 1968 and continues to be one of Oban’s visitors’ favourite places to stay. From the moment you step inside the front door you know you have arrived somewhere very special, with Glenburnie’s friendly experienced team offering a warm welcome.The 12 en-suite rooms have been individually decorated using beautiful fabrics and colour schemes, yet retain many of the house’s original features. Spacious and comfortable, accommodation is en-suite offering complimentary wi-fi, flat screen televisions, together with tea and coffee making facilities. There is also off-road parking.Be it enjoying Glenburnie’s delicious home cooked Scottish breakfast in the wonderful dining room, with panoramic sea views, or relaxing with the papers in the conservatory style porch watching the boats, we look forward to having you stay with us. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenburnie Hotel Oban
Glenburnie House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing