We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,186 results
Traveler rating
270
425
285
121
85
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
425
285
121
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewnorth pierpublic car parkbreakfast was buffet styleexcellent locationthird floorsitting areaoban distillerycentral locationbit datedlarge roomtop floorlovely viewdining roomisle of mullstayed here for one nightlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,186 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2009

I was booked in the Columba through lastminute.com at a rate that shames the other hotels in Oban. The room that I was allocated was not one of those that had been refurbished but it was large, well decorated, warm and had plenty working desk space. I see much better views at home on the Kintyre coast and have seen Oban Bay so often now that I tend to ignore it unless it is deluging the main road. If I had been a first time tourist however, I think I would probably have been impressed by the views from the two large front and one side window. The buffet breakfast was excellent and so good that I noticed a couple of other guests filling rolls for later in the day! I won't name and shame but they were with a national company.
The hotel does have some wee faults but it would be churlish and pedantic to point these out considering the price I paid. If you fancy a trip to Oban and a decent hotel in a central location, give the Columba a try, I can assure you that it is far superior to its more expensive rivals on the sea front.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Just returned nov 09 from a 5day stay, it was amazing, couldnt fault a thing, we got the best room in the hotel, thanks sarah for honouring our request. Top marks to the chef, food was brill, staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent location, right on the harbour and shops just minutes away, ample parking. .. Some of the comments dont sound so good but honestly i dont no what some ppl want so listen to me not them. I would definetly go back again.
A very satified travelstyle customer.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahOban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I have stayed here on 2 occasions before and find it to be very good particulary the location.I tried to make a last minute phone booking for the 28th and 29th of october.the first 2 calls the receptionist could not tell if there were any vacancies and she (sarah) promised to phone back but on both occasions it did not happen.On the 3rd attempt i asked for the manager and i was transferred to him. After explaining the situation he said he was not at the reception but he promised to phone back within 1/2 an hour.I am still waiting ?. i ended up phoning the caledonian and enjoyed a very pleasant 2 days

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graemef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

after reading some comments on trip advisor .we were dreading going to this hotel how wrong could we be , our room had been upgraded with a lcd tv and a sea view evening meals were very good i had some haddock one evening and the sauce was lovely the breakfast was buffet style which i prefer you only have what you like then ,it was a full scottish breakfast with lorne sausage and black pudding if you wanted it ,as much toast as you were prepared to cook ,the rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful only downside the lift was awaiting repair we were on the first floor so it wasn,t to bad a special mention about the manager he wasn,t afraid to roll up his sleeves and help out in the dining room please stop knocking this hotel if you can,t say anything posative the best thing to do is say nowt

Stayed: September 2009
Thank joan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

we had one nights stay at the columba and we found it very nice indeed, the room was spotless and very comfortable.
we found the staff very friendly and helpfull and we would definately stay again and for longer.
the columba is well worth a visit
c from glasgow

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godfather47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews