We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$207
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveler rating
260
423
276
118
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
423
276
118
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewnorth pierpublic car parkbreakfast was buffet styleexcellent locationthird floorsitting areaoban distillerycentral locationbit datedtop floorlovely viewdining roomisle of mullstayed here for one nightsea frontlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
1,015 - 1,020 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2009

after reading some comments on trip advisor .we were dreading going to this hotel how wrong could we be , our room had been upgraded with a lcd tv and a sea view evening meals were very good i had some haddock one evening and the sauce was lovely the breakfast was buffet style which i prefer you only have what you like then ,it was a full scottish breakfast with lorne sausage and black pudding if you wanted it ,as much toast as you were prepared to cook ,the rooms were very clean and the staff very helpful only downside the lift was awaiting repair we were on the first floor so it wasn,t to bad a special mention about the manager he wasn,t afraid to roll up his sleeves and help out in the dining room please stop knocking this hotel if you can,t say anything posative the best thing to do is say nowt

Stayed: September 2009
Thank joan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

we had one nights stay at the columba and we found it very nice indeed, the room was spotless and very comfortable.
we found the staff very friendly and helpfull and we would definately stay again and for longer.
the columba is well worth a visit
c from glasgow

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank godfather47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Stayed at the Columba for 4 nights from 5th October 2009. Thoroughly delighted with the place. Everything was spot on. Lovely room and bathroom, clean, breakfast buffet style, good choice evening meal with a free glas of wine. All the staff were friendly and accommodating. The manager was a gentleman, the chef did us proud. There was nothing about this hotel that we could fault, and would certainly go back with the coach company that we went with, should they have another trip up to Oban. Thanks to everyone at the Columba.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherbertlemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Heard good and bad reviews of the hotel before we left so was a bit unsure when we were on our way but left very pleasantly suprised and would definetly return.

Stayed Friday and Sat night and found our room refurbished and very pleasing with a brilliant view out onto the harbour. We specifically asked for a refurbished room as i had heard the others might not be great. Room was fine with all the things we expected, ie. tv, good shower, clean, comfortable and more than accommodating. Hotel does in areas look a bit tired but are you really there to access the lightshades or chill out for the weekend!!

Breakfast was really good, buffet of the usuals, cereals, cooked breakfast stuff, rolls, pastries etc. We found there to be plenty of everything and the staff more than happy to help. We had dinner one of the night as it was included in the 2 nights and was ok, nothing brilliant but not shabby either. 6 out of 10, don't expect a michilin star!

Overall thought i would book Columba again but maybe give dinner a miss. Good place for dinner was about 100 yards away called Cuanmor, was top drawer without charging over the odds.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGeneral_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I note that this hotel is ranked 1/6 of all hotels in Oban on Tripadvisor - that's a bit scary !
The location is fantastic, right at the harbour, and there is plenty of public parking available, which is free after 6pm. The hotel itself was obviously a grand old place in it's day, and still has a lot of character, which I suppose is quite charming ! The room was interesting, it had been renovated in a tasteful modern style, but unfortunately the old brass electrical sockets, electric wall heater and prehistoric TV set somewhat spoiled the contemporary effect, but the bathroom was hideously decorated, clean enough, just straight out of the 1970s ! Road noise was a bit of a problem as my room faced the town, and was single glazed. Breakfast was edible, though a bit cold (even though I was practically first down !). I just think for the price you should expect better. Free wifi in all rooms was a nice touch though, with lots of major chains charging a fortune for something that costs them nothing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greg2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews