We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and staff but little else to enjoy”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
East Anglia, England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“great location and staff but little else to enjoy”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for a few days whilst on a coach tour. Excellent central location for catching ferry to Mull and elsewhere. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were well cleaned and areas that were already refurbished give an idea of how good the hotel might eventually become.Some of our party had very nice accommodation whilst others felt shortchanged with shabbyrooms which did nothing to add to the holiday experience despite having the same essential items crammed in.Very little space to move around in my own room and impossible to use the sink in the shower room and have the door shut.Must be one of the smallest shower rooms I have been in. Room at back of hotel but with good view of Craig Tower which was flood lit at night.Upon arrival the room smelt strongly of wintergreen oils and I hoped an open window would clear this. Unfortunately the smell was actually in the duvet itself and I could not sleep that night. The plus side is that next morning, staff immediately gave me a fresh duvet but the smell stayed in the small room for the whole of my stay.As the hotel was full I did not ask for a room change.
Buffet breakfast was set out in a very nice room but the quality of the ingredients was very poor. The rice crispies were stale, tasteless and hard as little balls. The toaster deserves a medal of its own for its variety of ways in burning bread. As vegetarian I found the dinner menus inadequate having pasta served every evening and the chefs alternative offerings were also based around pasta. Peach melba was a few slices of tinned peaches with a splodge of 'squirty' cream and the melon boat was one of the clumsiest I have ever seen presented. It looked like one a child might produce at nursery school. If you want heaped plates and chips served with mostly everything then you will be happy at the Columba.
A main problem with most guests was the old lift which other reviews have fully explored. For me the spiral staircase around the lift was a hazard with the old carpets being so badly worn that you could slip or trip. There is another wider straight staircase in the other part of the hotel which we discovered after two days. That had wide landings and new carpet up to the first floor but refurbishment stopped here and you had old worn slippery carpets for the rest of the way up.
The bar/ cafe by reception is a nice feature but let down by worn out and shabby seating. Reasonably priced drinks here though.
Do stay here for convenience but get a refurbished room and eat out. There are plenty of places nearby and round the bay if you take the time to look around.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room and pay for harbour view to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MX19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your extensive comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. Food related issues have been escalated up to our new Head chef who was appointed 09/10/2013. As you have read previous reviews you would be aware that we have a planned maintenance program which is due to start shortly as the season draws to an end. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    379
    243
    97
    63
See reviews for
173
524
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We go to Oban 3-4 times a year for weekend breaks and have been staying at the Columba for the last 2-3 years and always book the same room overlooking the bay .It is one of the turret rooms with great views of the ferries coming and going.The staff at the hotel are one the reasons we keep going back especially Mathew, Shirley and Jean Marie who are very helpful.The hotel is on the pier and centrally located for the town.The buffet breakfasts are good and sometimes we have an evening meal depending whats on the menu.The room we use has been renovated and is on the third floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MurdyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team members named. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Booked 6 rooms for one night. The rooms were overall good. Some were renovated and quite attractive, while others were in need of renovation. None of the LED reading lights were working, the lights only worked when the door key was inserted in a little gizmo by the door. The people who worked there were very kind. Breakfast was ho -hum, and it was not very warm, took a long time to get coffee,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team and Department heads will look at improving the productivity of their staff to avoid unnecessary customer delays.Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Columba has the perfect location on the north pier in Oban. The rooms were clean, tall ceilings with huge windows. Our king sized bed was 2 twins put together with an extra twin bed, it was not a big deal and we slept great. Breakfast buffet was good and the dining room sits with views of the bay. We tried to stay an extra night, alas they were full. The lift was small and stairs were definitely quicker, but its there if you need it. Solid hotel in a perfect location in a great town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph_n_Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel was in a great location right on the harbour. It is in need of a bit updating but it was clean and friendly. We were on the second floor and the lift was a bit unreliable but it was old. The breakfast was fine with plenty of choice. Parking is limited but we were on a motorbike so it was fine. Do try the fish restaurant just nearby as well as the Italian. Both were really good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziek51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts.Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravellona Toce
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We took two triple rooms (one was not very spacious, the other was larger) and stayed for two nights. The lift is probably the original one installed in the 18th century and is often not working. Aside from that the hotel is old but clean and well kept. Breakfast is correct. Parking availlable in the public parking lot next to the hotel (to be paid by hour). In general a nice stay (we might just suggest the morning staff to smile a little be more, it will not harm...).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adri1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. All staff have been reminded that smiling is part of their job…. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Good location and friendly staff but that's where the compliments stop.
The food was terrible, my Haggis was served partially frozen and my fathers venison casserole was followed by a severe bout of diaorreah. You've probably guessed by now that I went to bed hungry and my father had a very unpleasant sleepless night.
The following morning was an early breakfast as I was heading to Colonsay.
Although average, it was rather welcome as I was very hungry.
My father found himself another hotel and endured a miserable 12 hours or so before feeling well again.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone but if you choose to go then find somewhere to have an evening meal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liontaximan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,726 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
937 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
996 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing