We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paying for the view”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paying for the view”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We requested a sea view room and got a lovely view over Oban bay and out to sea, however this was poorly affected by the dirty windows inside and out! The hotel decor is generally tired, grubby and needs updated. Our room had been more recently decorated but still had some old furniture which was marked. The bed was a standard double, not good if you're used to a bigger one at home! The pillows were hard and we didn't sleep very well unfortunately. Staff were friendly enough but definitely not highly trained in customer service. No biscuits on our tea tray which was very disappointing :(. The breakfast was a mass produced job, OK but not great - not better than one you could muddle together yourself and using poor quality produce. The croissants were totally stale and hard, I tried to warm one up in the toaster and ended up setting it on fire - woops - but the waitress reassured me that that was the fourth time it had gone on fire that morning. Maybe time for a new toaster?

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room because otherwise there would be no reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    378
    241
    94
    62
See reviews for
173
518
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here a number of times whist making boat connections to the beautiful Isle of Mull. The hotel is old and needing a touch-up in places however it is always clean and friendly with a self service hot buffet breakfast that is refreshed continually. The location of it is great as you are in walking distance of everything in the town and has the advantage of it's own parking spaces.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONLYTHEBEST4US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Columba Hotel 28 to 31 August for my birthday treat and also because we like Oban you get great seafood which I love, we had booked a sea view room and we got a good view the room was a good size but the bathroom was tiny and tired looking the panel on the front of the bath was a bit of hardboard with a very bad paint job, not enough drawer space and some of the lights didn't work, we did have tea & coffee facility's but that was it not even a bit of shortbread which I thought was a poor show for the money we paid.
As I said above I love seafood which I ate a lot of except for the one night we ate in the Cafe Bar at the Hotel we had been out all day and I was tired so decided to eat there ( big mistake ) the seats are old and dirty some where even ripped but the food was worse my husband had a burgher which he said was just okay I chose the steak pie but it looked like something from school dinner's the puff pastry had no puff plus it had veg in it ( you don't put veg in steak pie ) and of course the lack of imagination veg on the plate was carrots and frozen peas but worse of all I had pains in my tummy all night after that horrible meal I would have complained but my husband hates to complain so said just let it go we wont eat here again.
This is not the first time we have stayed at the Columba but think it will be the last, we have stayed at a lot of the hotel's in Oban as we go every year so will try an other one next time.

Room Tip: Best go for a sea view on top floor otherwise you could end up facing the road or above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LADYSCOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I only required a single room for one night and the Columba was in a good position. The staff were friendly and helpful . The room was a good size but is in need of an update, although clean and comfortable. There was no problem with an early morning call as I had to catch a very early ferry to the islands. The menu looked extensive with good prices but I had eaten prior to book in. It is a lovely building in a very central location. My room looked onto the road and building site but I'm sure the harbour views would be lovely.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view as I'm sure at busy times it would be quieter. The other rooms are on the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Con42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We picked this place because we didn't want to run around comparison shopping. The rooms were lovely and modernized and the beds were quite comfortable, but a lot of surfaces in the common spaces (the staircase and the bar) were quite dingy with stained carpets. It would not have been bad to stay here a second night, but we were pleased when we moved to another place which was cheaper and cleaner. However, there were great views from the rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romiley, Stockport, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a coach tour. Lovely room with a good interesting view over the harbour. Food was very good but had to share a table. Hotel is very well located in Oban. Staff were very helpful. Only 1 lift in the hotel, which is very small and an old-fashioned gate type.

Room Tip: Request a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardE007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Cheshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We choose here because we knew our ferry was a midnight arrival, as it was delayed we got to the hotel at 02-45. We had a pleasant greeting from the staff and made our way wearily to bed. First though we had to find a light that worked. They were all on strange arrangement so a bit of stumbling around. We had a room under the eves of the roof. The bed was on the left hand side of the door with just the bare side tables. To the right was a settee pushed under the window, this would be a pull out for a family room. The tv is on the far end of the room. Impossible to watch from bed and if you had children, impossible to watch TV if they were sleeping. Being back so late it didn't bother us. But the room was so basic & dull we were glad not be there any longer. There was no pictures on the walls. Only one power point and no wifi essentials for modern traveling. Worst was to come. Time for breakfast, after such a late arrival we came down at 09:15. Don't get me wrong we have has some excellent buffet breakfast but not today. The porridge was in a flat tray and had a crust on the top, the bacon was swimming in its own fat as were the other delights, the jugs of fruit juice were all at room temperature. Then there were the fried eggs!! About 30 on the tray all solid! Grosse! After finding something edible there was the trek back to the dinning room. No ambience at all. This hotel should have a caricature of its own with its age and style but it is just tired and not fit for purpose for the independent traveller obviously relying on coach tours where as long as there is a kettle to brew up the customer is happy, 1966 style, but even they had a biscuit. At £89, because £20 was knocked of for the disgusting breakfast, it was a Complete rip off. A holiday Inn Express or travel lodge needs to open in Oban to show the town the way to go.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arizonagcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing