We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're coming back”
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
renfrew
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We're coming back”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the second time and will be staying again the next time we come to Oban. Great central location, great value and brilliant staff throughout the hotel who must have bad backs bending over backwards to help you. Thanks to JeanMarie and hope Shirley enjoys her trip to Murrayfield.

Room Tip: Cant tell you in case l'm going on the same night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmk422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. I am indeed very lucky to have such customer focused staff and appreciate the feed back when they do a particularly good job Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    378
    240
    94
    62
See reviews for
172
517
68
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just got back from a two night Easter break and I found the hotel to be very good,food good service at dinner a bit mixed up and slow but we were on holiday so we were not in a rush. Had a nice hotel room on the third floor with 3large windows and views over the bay the weather was very kind and the sun shone making the view spectacular. The staff were all very friendly breakfast was a lovely buffet with everything you could possibly want. Would return and would recommend for a nice break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine2411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team and we have actioned points to improve the service we offer our guests. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Final response to be
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked a family room for 1 night before catching a ferry the following day to the Outer Hebrides, However, after breaking down in Stirling, and just before arrival at the hotel, we found out the ferry was cancelled!! Whilst booking in, we asked for an extra nights accommodation and explained our circumstances whereupon we were given a key for the original room we booked or a room on the third floor. Although the room we had booked looked fine, the room on the third floor turned out to be 2 double rooms, both with tvs etc, which my 13 year old daughter was overjoyed about!! We took this room and were still charged the same internet rate of £70 - bargain! The rooms/beds were comfortable, if a little cold with great views over the sea/harbour and the breakfasts were great with a selection of fruit, yougurt, porridge and cooked breakfast, all of which was really nice. I would definately stay here again and would recommend. Also if looking for a great meal, go to Cuan Mor - we had several fab meals at a reasonable price . My husband is a coeliac, and this was absolutely no problem, and the portions were substantial.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyi0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. We strive to be perceptive of our customers needs and are well versed in the cancelling of ferries so we try to make the experience for guests as comfortable as possible. I am pleased what could have been a bad start to a family break turned out well for you. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Actually want to give this a 3.5 , the staff eg jeanmarie , who was very helpful and obliging to us and set us up with an early morning call and breakfast buffet before we got an early ferry. Room was adequate , clean and comfortable and it was reasonably priced for the area. I would return and pay the same rate which was via the Internet .the lift was old fashioned but was in full working order .

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jools064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Entered door which said Harbour Inn Followed gent who was showing customers through to another part Entered a lovely airy room with lovely spiral staircase to window view balcony Noted another door at front of us and one to rear when we came out we noticed the sign saying Columba hotel ! Had a lovely light lunch ( beautifully presented and generous portion ) and drinks served by pleasent efficient staff Would happily return next time in Oban

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent lunch at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the kitchen team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hi we have stayed here twice now as we go regularly to dive. The staff are friendly and helpful especially Barbara he was amazing and went out of his way to help us. The rooms are great value for money, clean and tidy. The breakfast is buffet style and cannot be faulted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer Aka Barbara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night half board deal at Columba. Hotel is in a great location right on the harbour, however very limited parking. 8 spaces tied to hotel, all other spaces are pay and display.

Room was clean and fairly recently decorated, New en suite (all rooms are en suite) a d no hot water or pressure issues. Freeview TV and all rooms have wifi (allegedly....). We had difficulty getting wifi in the room however ok in the bar and reception area. Then again, you're on holiday, do you need wifi? We used the hotel as a base for a mini break and Fort William is about an hours drive. Lots of good fish restaurants around the harbour and Calmac leave for the islands from here as well.

Breakfasts were good, full Scottish including porridge ! Or yogurts and fresh juices if you wish with toast, tea and coffee.

In short a good base, friendly staff good food, clean warm and nicely decorated rooms, although hotel slightly tired ( spotted a couple of rips in wallpaper in halls and woodwork is well worn).

Look out for mid week deals as they are very good value for money (£99 for two ppl 2 night stay, bed breakfast both days with 3 course evening meal and bottle of wine one night and afternoon tea the second night with sandwiches and cakes, March 2013).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew H, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments about your recent stay at The Columba Hotel Oban. I greatly appreciate you having taken the time to share your thoughts. I have taken the opportunity to relay the feedback to the team. Its nice to see that people feel the package deals that we have put together are good value for money in this current economic climate Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope we can welcome you back to the Columba Hotel once again.

Kind regards

Matthew Hamer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing