We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columba Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Columba Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

My partner and i recently stayed at the Columba Hotel on a voucher deal basis but did upgrade to a junior suite. Well we had a wonderful time from start to finish. We were greeted with friendly staff and were given a lovely suite overlooking the harbour, our room was modern, beautifully decorated and well equipped. Our canapes on the first evening and our meal on the second evening were both lovely. The breakfast on both mornings was beautiful with good choice and the bacon was especially tasty, probably best we have had. I would say the communal areas of the hotel were quite old fashioned but this is in keeping with the hotel, it is an old buiding so we liked this. The bar area could be doing with a wee bit of a makeover but i think you have to keep in mind this is a 3 star accomodation and for that reason i would say it is great value for money. with very helpful and friendly staff who made our stay amazing. Oban itself is a beautiful place and well worth seeing we had a great time.

Room Tip: Room 201 is a great junior suite with lovely view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    374
    230
    90
    60
See reviews for
166
509
66
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I have not long joined Trip Advisor, hence the review on this hotel being from last September but wanted to add my opinion anyway. My husband and I paid £109.00 for one nights bed & breakfast & ended up in an attic room which left a lot to be desired. Breakfast the next morning was ridiculous to say the least! We were taken to a table which still had to be cleared & were asked if we wanted tea, coffee & juice but on asking for orange juice, we were told they had run out !! We were told food was out on hot plates & we were to help ourselves but there was nothing on the hot plates when we went up !! The chef came out with some eggs & said the bacon would be 5 mins ! As guests waited eagerly for 10 mins a waitress then brought out some bacon & 8 sausages appeared another 10 mins later !! We travel to Oban a couple of times a year but this is a hotel we will definitely not stay in again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

stayed here with my husband last weekend. read the review previously and was a bit worried to tell the truth. needn't have worried, from the first moment we arrived to the time we left, we had a great time. staff were friendly, room perfect (room 213 - we'll definitely come back and ask for the same room!), dinner and breakfast good. room warm. Only problem was a lack of car parking spaces - only 8 for the hotel - although we were lucky to get one immediately and left the car there for the entire stay. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: defintely ask for room 213!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petrina553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Columba Hotel for two nights at the beginning of February 2012. It was terrible as soon as we reached the carpark. We couldn't find a space for the Hotel, so instead had to pay for the parking. We found it a bit of a struggle to even get to the entrance of the building, as there were two work vans parked literally at the door. We then had to wait for over 5 minutes for someone to acknowledge we were there, which then appeared a miserable faced receptionist who never greeted us but instead answered the phone and had a conversation with what sounded like an employee for a few minutes.
We had a few questions reguarding the hotel, which she couldn't answer or was hesitant of answering.
Our room was on the first floor and we had a couple of heavy suitcases to take up the stairs, so we decided to use the lift. You wouldn't so much call this a lift, more like a lift you would use to send up food. The sign inside it said it could fit up to 4 persons which is laughable as my partner and I were sandwiched together.
Our room was very disappointing to say the least. It was meant to be a double seaview room, but more a cardboard box. All the furniture wasn't matching, it was like being in the worlds smallest jumble sale. Our bed was very small and was like lying on a concrete block. The only thing modern about this room was the television in it.
The bathroom was OK. Our sink sort of 'fell apart' when we tried to take the plug out of it.
The main door of the room and the bathroom door had a wide gap at the bottom, which meant light was coming through the door during the night from the corridor.
The pillows they provided were so flimsy, we requested if we could have two more pillows. The receptionist looked at my partner as if he had just kicked a football through her greenhouse.

The next morning we went down for breakfast. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't all the great either. Mostly consisted of congealed food. We sat down and were addressed by the waitor who offered us tea or coffee. He took our order and disappeared without a trace, never to come back.

All in all I certainly would NOT reccomend this hotel to anyone. Definitely NOT worth £158 for 2 nights, for the money it felt dated. The Columba hotel needs to sort themselves out.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel using an online deal voucher so arrived with an open mind. However from the word go we were disappointed. We were greeted by a miserable looking receptionist who explained the parking situation - limited spaces for he hotel (approx 8) if u can't get in there then it's 80p an hour for most of the day. Whilst we were staying the we witnessed another receptionist blocking residents cars in and letting other residents in once they had left. Our room was ok carpet could do with a good steam clean and there was only one small electric heater. The canapés and bubbly served on our first night turned out to be cheap sparkling wine and cheese on a cracker, bit of ham and piece of white loaf cut out into a circle with a chunk of cucumber on top. The food at breakfast and dinner on the 2nd night was passable but would have expected better. All in all I think you would struggle to agree this is 3* quality. Staff seemed unmotivated and unhappy and I witnessed the cleaner and receptionist complaining about staff levels -very unprofessional. Building in dire need of an upgrade, damp everywhere and our clothes smelt of stale fat from the kitchen which was below our room. SGE hotels need to pull their socks up with this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsmackay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Columba Hotel for two nights in early December 2011. The weather was terrible - so bad that the ferries could not run. It was magical. The weather only added to the atmosphere that the hotel provided. Our room had a lovely view of the bay and was nicely decorated. It felt modern, smart and clean. Such a romantic atmosphere. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Definitely worth a sea view room, although if you are a light sleeper driving rain and spray from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

No staff to serve in restaurant while staying on DBB on business, receptionist could cover if pushed. Sent into a bar to eat which you would not choose to spend time in. Helpful bar maid on first two evenings. Bad experience on third evening. First room was a very poor single room. Second deluxe room modern but scruffy. Public areas poor. Clean.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columba Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Property: Columba Hotel
Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, LateRooms, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing