We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$207
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tanglin B&B(Oban)(Great Value!)
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Corran House(Oban)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$207
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,160)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveler rating
260
423
276
118
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
423
276
118
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewnorth pierpublic car parkbreakfast was buffet styleexcellent locationthird floorsitting areaoban distillerycentral locationbit datedtop floorlovely viewdining roomisle of mullstayed here for one nightsea frontlovely room
Filter
Updating list...
956 - 961 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I travelled to Oban to attend a charity sports dinner. I always check TA for a review - which I know are subjective. I have been to Oban previously, although many years ago and knew the location of the Columba.
The external appearance of the hotel does not do it justice but don't let that put you off!
The recently renovated room (306) was well decorated. I had a partial sea view. The stairways and lift areas could do with a 'freshen up'. That would be my only complaint.
The dining room and breakfast area were bright and spotlessly clean. I've had breakfasts in all standards of hotels worldwide and this Scottish breakfast was up there with the best! Also, it was a buffet with a very good selection (although I didn't see haggis that morning)
The staff could not be more helpful.
I got a great rate for a Friday one-night stay and it compared most favourably against the other rated hotels.
Whilst there I also learned that the hotel will accept small dogs. I'm sure wee 'Bunty' is going to enjoy it as we will definitely be back in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexCGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Just back from a 1 night stay and was disappointed with disabled facilities. The hotel advertises having an "elevator". No one in their right mind would go in it. It is an old style one where you require to shut the cage. This resulted in my disabled family member having to climb a flight of stairs.
The rooms were clean and recently renovated however the room i was allocated had a nasty smell. The room my family were in was cold and even after having the heating on for a good couple of hours it was still cold!!!!
Come on management, you have a wee gold mine their if you update your lift and keep the heating on. Oh and a glade plug in for the smelly room wouldn't go a miss.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annieb_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

When we arrived at hotel slightly dissapointed by the poor appearance, but when we go to our room with a sea view it was perfect, very modern rooms, clean tidy and the view was fantastic, breakfast the next day is plentiful, staff friendly and helpful, will defintely visit again

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUNNYDAYSGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Stayed here with my husband, for a romantic 2 day break. And was not dissapointed.
Was a bit worried after reading the reviews, but there was no need. Our Room was AMAZING!!! room 302 , Looked like it had just be renovated, the views over the harbour and to kerrera were to die for . Sarah the receptionist who greeted us on arrival was a gem. And yes the hotel lounge bar was very quiet,not every ones cup of tea,but it suited us. Breakfast was okay, Ate in the dnning room on the second night and it was good and reasonably priced. I would say this hotel you would have to ignore the reviews and try it yourself,
yes it is not the ritz but it is a lovely hotel ,but I would recommend you pay the extra £10 for the sea view. Look forward to our return trip

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Booked two nights at the Columba midweek. Excellent value for money and dinner was also included one of the nights. Dinner and breakfast were both fine. Room was of a good standard with flat screen tv included and was very clean. The only drawback is the parking outside. There is very limited parking and it was filled mainly with work vans! Glad we came by train.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tapirgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews