We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice twi xmas break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just back from a weekend break with highland heritage. Big shout to tam our driver who did a great job in the bad weather we had. The hotel was fine, warm and cozy and the food passable. I didn't like there were no tables for two and we had to share with another couple who were very nice. Good trip to inverary. And the scenic journey was first class.....the entertainment was very poor. Gea d towards the over 70s b t overall had a good festive break. We are a couple in our 50s.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have sea view
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank debwhoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 292 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

Cant understand how this only has three stars first class food rooms and first class service
Everything you need robes hot choc and bisciuts fresh fruit we had a lovely hoilday we will be back thanks to everyone who made our stay first class
I enjoyed every minit in oban
Well worth money

Room Tip: Sea view rooms worth little bit extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dorothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at Alexandra turkey & tinsel with Highland Heritage good location very clean the staff are brilliant nothing too much trouble very friendly. The bar is very clean the prices are good not ripped off like some hotel's the rooms are clean and warm the food is very good hot and well presented, nice touch coffee scones cream & jam when returning from excursion's.We will be going back highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Beautiful place and Oban is just lovely.
Had a great time. The rooms were very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. I would love to go back and stay again. Oban is a very good place to shop and has a wonderful chocolate cafe were they sell handmade chocolates and the best cakes ever. The little old pubs are a delight to spend evenings in.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank wendover62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just had a 5 day turkey & tinsel at Alexandra with highland heritage as a 60th birthday present. What brilliant value for money. very well situated at the quieter end of the town but only 5 minutes walk from all the shops. Staff were friendly and service was quick, nothing was too much for them. Rooms were spotless but pillows needed updating. Different lounges for quiet times and lively entertainment lounge with good local entertainers. Good day trips which were included and just the right level of length of time. Food was plentiful and varied and the xmas decorations were really good. An excellent holiday well within most peoples budget.

Room Tip: I overlooked the back of the hotel and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just had four nights at the Alexandra in Oban The stay was good value for money,but could have been a lot better We paid extra for a sea view knowing that we might have otherwise had had a view of the bins,and the view was spectacularThe pool does not now seem to be open at all,shame!! Food was reasonable,but could have been of a higher standard and meal times were very regimented.The bar was shut till just before evening meal time and then closed again during meal time,then open again after evening meal The barstaff were very good as were rest of the foreign staff The entertainment we had was very good and the bar prices reasonable Overall the hotel is of a reasonable standard ,the bedrooms quite a good size and the public areas were very clean We also found the coach journey to be quite tiring taking up to 10 and a half hours plus,the coaches were also looking their age,time for new ones Overall good value

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor,sea view with bay window would be best Those on 3rd floor only have small windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We took a five day coach tour through Highland Heritage being based at this hotel.

The cost was reasonable and we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel. The Alexandra is located right beside the loch, providing excellent views of the loch and islands. Breakfast was good, comprising choice of cereals, porridge or juice, followed by kippers or full English, toast and marmalade and beverages, all served efficiently and with a smile.

Dinner was three courses and coffee, bar prices reasonable, entertainment OK. If the entertainment (singer/musician) is not to your taste there is a quieter lounge to relax in.

All in all we were very happy with our room (10 on the third floor) with beautiful loch view, nice large bathroom with tub and shower over. There is a lift. The room itself was a little dated but very clean and warm and has adjustable heating. We were very happy with the food and general ambiance of the hotel, and Scotland at this time of the year is very beautiful with snow on the mountain tops.

Highland Heritage provided days out in the coach which were enjoyable and enabled us to see a lot of the countryside in the short time we were there. Drivers were very good and I would recommend this company.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms overlooking the loch are great. The sunsets are memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EnglandAngelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
998 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
492 reviews
0.3 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland (Formerly The Alexandra Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $75 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Muthu Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
Muthu Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing