We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Happy Bunny.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Solihull
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a Happy Bunny.”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I would agree with the comments made by other reviewers as regards the manager and staff, but from there it goes downhill very quickly. The rooms given to other friends were very poor indeed, one having a very small wardrobe and one other had a wardrobe without any door at all. I was offered and accepted an upgraded room which was much larger that other rooms but at the same time it was difficult to move around easily and when it came to using the drawers you had to first move a chair. Unlike 'mikoflouth' I did not get a sea view but one with a small paved yard outside the window. When the lights were switched on people could see into the room unless the curtains were drawn. There was a plant in a pot on the centre window which dropped petals at regular intervals onto the carpet. We would have preferred not to have flowers in the bedroom at all.The flowers in general about the hotel were in a very bad state, the drive looked terrible not having been swept. The dining room was very cramped making it difficult for the meals to be served with ease. The meals could have been very good had fresh vegetables been used. The use of frozen vegetables, badly cooked was just unacceptable. On more than one morning we were offered white or brown bread rolls which were pure black on top having been baked too long, the waiter smiled when we refused them, in hindsight I should have taken them to the manager. On the final evening we were given a 'Comments' sheet, one question I took offence with was 'how much have you spent in Oban during your stay' and the other, which was easier to answer 'will you come again' -- NO
Having stayed in Highland Heritage hotels four times in past years I found this to be well below the usual standards. I think Ian Cleaver, the MD is losing his grip.

Room Tip: Ask for an update at no extra cost. These rooms are just about acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kenbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    90
    41
    24
    18
See reviews for
49
134
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have just returned from an 8 day trip staying at the Alexandra Hotel in Oben. Our driver Patrick was very informative and very accommodating to peoples needs, we had another driver Ann for a couple of days who's knowledge of the area was amazing. The hotel manager Brian came onto the coach when we arrived to greet us and again when we departed to wish us a safe journey home, he and his team also greeted us every breakfast and dinner. What an amazing team, nothing was too much trouble. this young crew worked tirelessly and always with a smile and so polite, the kitchen staff are a credit to the hotel, good food and good portions. The room was comfortable and bathroom clean, the bed was made and bathroom cleaned daily. Scotland has some of the most beautiful scenery, worth every penny. Thank you,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Oh my god, where to begin. I suppose the first thing to say is that we didnt actually stay here, although we were booked to do so. After along days travel we needed somewhere to stay in Oban and the reviews of this place on tripadvisors seemed good, although it seemed basic. We were happy with that as we were arriving late and were a bit desperate. On arrival I couldnt access the hotel as the doors were locked, apparently because dinner is served at 8 and all the staff are engaged with this at this time. On finally getting access, seemingly happy punters were queing p for dinner whilst a memeber of staff was doling out hand sanitiser to each person entering the dinning room. As I passed this que to enter I was forced to accept some gel also and awas told itnwould be rude to refuse it. The girl said it was to combat some bacteria, not sure what. Pity it wasnt LSD she was handing out because it would have come in handy to overcome the grim reality of the Alexandra. Tired (being kind) decor with worn out furniture etc. The receptionist could see we were a bit shocked at the state of the place and suggested we could stay somewhere else without us saying anything - clearing this reaction was a common occurance. At check-in we were also told of an 11 pm curfew. To the room and at this stage it was all so utterly depressimg we had to leave. It was actually just like we were staying in a nursing home, same smell, everything. In fairness they gave us back our money which we had paid and we went elsewhere. To be honest I would have left anyway. This place made me hanker for that night I once spent in a Mexican prison. That bad? Yes, avoid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank may331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
comber
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

just back from a 5 day highland heritage trip to oban.If you want a good basic fair priced holiday this is the one to pick.The hotel staff are lovely ,the service is good,food basic but good,and entertainment every night if you desire.The clientele is mainly in the retired age group and the hotel caters for this .The trips are fine if you want to go on them,we opted to do our own thing and went to the isle of mull and iona (heaven on earth)The town is nice with good little coffee shops and all in all a nice experience.(overlook the hand gel ,the seat rotation,and the regimental style of running things and you will be fine.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ComberNemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from a lovely trip to Oban with Highland Heritage. Alexandra Hotel staff are so friendly and welcoming, The Manager came onto the coach as we arrived to welcome us all to Oban.Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Our Room with sea view over Oban Bay, has to be seen to be believed. We happily watched the boats coming in and out of the harbour from ferries to many, many with sails...Hotel itself is very clean, comfortable, food excellent and in all, wonderful value for the money. We intend to return.

Room Tip: book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mikoflouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have just returned from this holiday with Highland Heritage with my husband. We had a very enjoyable 6 days with Brian the manager who boarded the coach both when we arrived with a warm greeting and also from all the staff. And when we left to say safe journey.
The hotel is on the esplanade on Oban bay. A very prominant building with beautiful flower displays inside and out that atract admiring comments from passing people.
The hotel is very clean with spacious rooms, with modern furnishings and good bathrooms. The bed linens and towels would benifits from being white instead of orange bed covers and green towels. Although this does not effect your overall comfort. Dinning room and lounges are stunning. Beautiful swimming pool for your use.snooker room. Large very comfortable entertainment room with good bar and nightly entertainment. Nothing is too much trouble for the very hard working management, staff and drivers.
The Scottish Highlands remain in the main unspoiled and are breathtakingly beautiful. We were lucky enough to have glorious weather all week.this added to the enjoyment.
This holiday is packed with traveling on the comfortable coach that has plenty of comfort stops to each town ect. So it is not a chill out hol if you go on all the trips as we did. Oban is a nice town with plenty to do if you choose to. Coasters bar is welcoming & has a good quiz on Thursday nights.
I would use this very special hotel again in the future. However most of the travellers with us were elderly but also lively and fun loving.
Give it a go you won't be sorry!
Many thanks again to Brian and his team and also Patrick our very informative and helpful driver who will grant your requests if possible. A very nice holiday at reasonable price.

Room Tip: Pay for see view. There are 2 superior rooms on ground floor with own sun rooms. Worthy the extra mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carolparnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

At 59 & partialy disabled my options for holidays are reducing hence my choice to try a coach/hotel hol with Highland Heritage staying at this hotel mid wk.
10hrs (I kid you not) on the coach going up were only barely tolerable with the help of our fantastic coach driver Paddy, (& naff with the deplorable paul going back down!)(surely they could reduce the time somehow??) On arrival, we were met by Brian the manager & eastern european staff who were all very friendly & helpfull, & masses & masses of hand gel which was presented at every occasion throughout the stay! (OTT?)
Our room, (travelled with carer/friend) was spectacular with views over bay & own private sun room (rm 78) & the whole hotel is a testement to bygone days of chivalry & opulance with a clientell of mostly elderly guests clinging to that memory...
The dining room is laid out formaly & you are warned in the 'bumph' that 'casual attire will not be acceptable' hence a daily parade of dressing for dinner is observed, fitting right in with the edit of the majority guests. I feel the hotel is missing out on a trick in that they cater for an aging declining clieontell, & if they continue this way, in 10yrs time, they will be empty due to no living return guests! (sorry) Appart from myself & friend, only 1 other couple were under 65 & they were like a fish out of water & ate out after the first night. (although loved the hotel they told us)
The pool is magnificent but not advertised & my advice to the owners is; update for the next generation, or die... Would I go back? definately, but only if the journey there was lessened some how? and if a less 'formal' & more 'smart casual modern' aproach were adopted.
The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them, & the food was good & plentifull although an 'ordinary' option should be included amongst the 3 choice menu each day. (too many 'fancy sauces etc' i heard from many) I loved my first time experience in an hotel environment, & will holday like this again but if asked 10, or even 5yrs ago & when fitter, I would have run a mile rather than book such a holiday. You need to start catering for the slightly younger people highland heritage, you have a fantastic product on offer, but core based on an aging & declining clieontell market!
The excursions are long, & I mean looonnngggg trips with no acceptable destinations, Campbletown is a dump & Stirling your bog standard city. Shorter trips to 'heritage' based places, smokeries, distillieries etc, after such long there & back daily & arrival/departure journeys, would help tremendously & give more time to explore wonderfull Oban.
I suggest for 5day stays; Mon get there,tues rest day, short trip wed, rest day or 1/2 day trip thurs, home fri. More flexible meal times with menu's on notice board a.m. for meals p.m to give choice to eat out, or perhaps a buffet style service along with the more formal meals as now would be a brilliant option. I want to come back next time & say 'well done', you listened, & see a mix of guests not just a nich clientell of elderly gentry, lovely as they are, as now.
Times are moving on heritage hotels,,, adapt, or die in splendid magnificent granduer......

Room Tip: 'Upgrades' to front rooms are a must! views to die for for just a few quid extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank britesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
963 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
469 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muthu Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muthu Alexandra Hotel

Property: Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AA, Scotland (Formerly The Alexandra Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Muthu Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With return coach transport form your local pick up point, this hotel has been built on one of the finest locations in Scotland to take full advantage of the glories of Oban Bay, complete with outstanding views across to the Island of the Inner Hebrides. The site allows easy access to the town of Oban, and a superb walk along the coastal road to Ganavan beach. At the rear of the otel, there are seven Superior Rooms in the Alexandra Apartments, which are the largest in the company and suit those who come by car and need private parking. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. Free WIFI available in Quiet Room. (Please note - our swimming pool is not in use currently). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Muthu Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Oban
Muthu Alexandra Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing