We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caledonian MacBrayne - Oban Day Trips
Open today: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Mull and Colonsay

Lovely sail to Colonsay and back same day. Trip to Mull Boat on time and clean Had quite an... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
mmaclean9
,
Stirling, United Kingdom
Lifeline to the Isles

The ferry take us from the western isles to Oban and home again. It takes four hours, leaves Oban... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ruthethiopia
,
Shire, Ethiopia
Read all 689 reviews
  
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveler rating
445
167
15
10
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
445
167
15
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cal mac efficient service great ferry outer hebrides ferry service foot passengers port ellen calmac ferry top deck return journey island hopping short crossing both ways plenty of seats great trip comfortable seating duart castle
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely sail to Colonsay and back same day. Trip to Mull Boat on time and clean Had quite an enjoyable lunch. Staff very friendly and helpful

Thank mmaclean9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The ferry take us from the western isles to Oban and home again. It takes four hours, leaves Oban early in the morning, in the winter months t travel five days a week, in the summer every day and twice on Saturday. Day tours are possible on Wednesdays. I like it because we islanders can do oru shopping in Oban and there is no weigt restriction as there is on the airplane. It is a good time to catch up with other travellors, the coffee is good and tasty meals are also available.

Thank ruthethiopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I’ve been travelling on cal Mac on and off for years and they’re always spot on ! The latest trip from Oban - mull in the half term was again very enjoyable, from the lovely helpful girl we booked tickets with in Oban to the onboard crew, all very friendly and the breakfast is legendary

Thank macchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took the ferry to mull .. beautiful trip made all the more pleasant by the barman Colin.. great banter both ways ..can’t wait to go back and do it again soon

Thank gailwmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been to Scotland a few times now and always enjoy a trip on Calmac Ferries. Whether we're heading to Oban, Islay or Skye, the ferry staff are very friendly and efficient. On board food is good too!

Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Done Oban to Mull Ferry a few times now.
Always good, no matter what the weather.
They do a toptastic Lentil Soup

Thank NorthStar37777035036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

travelled with calmac many a time, always clean, always polite staff...although they were struggling with cutting out some paper angels....(no blue peter to aid the kids these days) Friendly company, lovely boats.. just sit on deck and admire God's handywork.

Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went over to Mull from Oban on the four o’clock ferry just in time to see the sun setting. Beautiful. Plenty of seats inside and out and very friendly barman. No bus to Tobermory on Sundays. Went to the Craignure Inn where there was a huge log fire and friendly bar staff. Food looked good but we had eaten. Took ferry back at 7pm. Excellent little trip and only £7.50 return.

Thank VonnieLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Only word of caution - arrive well on time to get your tickets as boarding this ferry runs like clockwork and is as efficient and timely as Japanese Railways.

The ferry was clean with plenty of walkabout areas. Cafe was small on the ferry out but was well stocked. Return ferry was a bigger boat so facilities were plentiful for the small journey. Plenty of seating to choose from with Panasonic views of the highlands and islands.

What stood out for Caledonian MacBrayne is their staff. They could not have been more helpful if they tried - to the point that they insisted we used the lift up and down to the car deck so our large dog didn't have to struggle with the steep staircases.

Thank Holi-Ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took our rental car over to Mull for an overnight. It was so easy to buy tickets and cue up for the line. The ferry was very clean! We were able to grab a beer and sit back for the smooth ride over. It was so easy to get to Mull!

Thank Brandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews