We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”

Glenview Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Glenview Guest House
Ranked #51 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
887 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Oban was busy when we booked so we chose somewhere a little way from the centre. There is parking but arriving by train, It was 15 minutes walk from the station and harbour. (Best route is to turn right into Gibraltar Street and through Tesco car park rather than following Soroba Road). Glenview is one of a few adjaceent guesthouses. We had a friendly welcome, the room was fine but I had difficulty controlling the small TV. Breakfast was adequate and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
6
27
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aystetten
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2013

It all depends on what you want from a guest house. I have travelled to Oban for more than three decades and stuck to Morven's place for the last decade as standard port of call and a hassle free stay. You get a nice sleep and warm welcome and you do not not have to buy the place. Admittedly, you could easily find better positions in town, but you may have to pay for them. Oban is not that big a place and walking into town can be easily done. If you know you way, you can drive, but parking can be an issue.
Glenview Guest House - not luxurious, but reasonable, friendly and honest.

Room Tip: Oban can be very busy, but has an abundance of BnBs. With little difference between them and a regul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DH5JBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Mendoza, Argentina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It was alright, but beds screeched, bathroom fan went on forever and was rather small with the washstand in the bedroom, pillows and duvets were not precisely fluffy; however, the whole place was well heated. Breakfast was fine, and welcome was hospitable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weeonebruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The owners of the Glenview were extremely welcoming and helpful - went out of their way to look after us. We arrived late and with friends who had given us a lift - they were invited in and given tea and biscuits - no charge. My husband was unwell and they offered to allow us to return during the day after we had checked out - turned out not necessary as we got a bus home right away, but it was a kind and welcome offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night. It's a little way out of Oban on a busy road but only about 10mins walk in the centre of Oban.
Decor little old fashioned and not to everyones taste.
But overall very good, I would stay here again. Comfortable very clean rooms.
Lovely welcoming and helpful host. Great hot breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colette j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.9 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 93 in Oban
375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Don Muir Guest House
Don Muir Guest House
#23 of 93 in Oban
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cameron Guesthouse
Cameron Guesthouse
#52 of 93 in Oban
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maridon Guest House
Maridon Guest House
#39 of 93 in Oban
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.9 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#77 of 93 in Oban
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenview Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenview Guest House

Property: Glenview Guest House
Address: Soroba Road, Oban PA34 4JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenview Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Glenview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenview Guest House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing