We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“divine seafood in a unique setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seafood Temple

Seafood Temple
Ranked #17 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Fingal Head, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“divine seafood in a unique setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The Seafood Temple packs amazing seafood, great service and fabulous views into a small and unique space. A really delightful dining experience for any traveller to Oban

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    62
    21
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Intimate setting for fabulous seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Located on the water's edge and just out of the bustling town center, a staff of three prepares and serves outstanding seafood. Reservations would be a must given that there are only 8 tables or so. Very friendly staff.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank golightly53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, great setting, scallops to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We visited the Seafood Temple as it was a short walk from the cottage we were renting and the reviews
looked good The exterior looks small, but on the inside there are some great uses of the space, and although not large at no point did we feel cramped! The menu was not comprehensive but people come to the Seafood Temple for the Seafood which was in abundance. I opted for the mussels to start which were really tasty, and the wife tried the scallops, a new experience to her. She enjoyed them that much she rates scallops as her favourite seafood now! For Main course I had monkfish and scallop skewers, and they were exceptional. I understood why my wife was raving about the Scallops! She had lemon sole which she enjoyed as we'll. We were both rather full after the mains but forced ourselves to share a ginger cake and caramel sauce which was divine. The meal was washed down with some delicious beer for the Oban bay brewery.
The meal was about £40.00 a head including drinks which although not cheap was reasonable as the food really was delicious. The staff were helpful, the chef came and asked if we enjoyed the meal, and the view out onto the bay was lovely. Although we didn't try the seafood platter, we saw several other people have it and it looked amazing!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Timmers1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

It is important to make a table reservation for this tiny but popular restaurant, although 2 diners were able to get a table on Sunday night 6.15 sitting without having reserved. Then it was full. Not only do you get a sensible choice of delicious dishes but the view over Oban Bay is spectacular. It would make a splendid location for a party as there is a large lawned area outside (when its not raining!) You can watch the ferry going by or concentrate on the food. Service was friendly and efficient. There is plenty of on street parking outside.
At some places seafood is a bit 'hit and miss', but I was confident that everything we ordered would be top quality - and it was.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Seafood heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not sure why I am sharing this restaurant. It is fantastic. Small, intimate and with the most delicious food. The seafood is fantastic, And there is even steak for those who don't indulge. The restaurant, as other reviewers have pointed out, is a converted Victorian lavatory. But it has been well converted and the judicious use of a giant mirror means that every diner has a view.
Enjoy the scallops and lobster........and the ginger sponge pudding is worth every calorie.
We spent just over £100 for two - but I can't imagine what a similar meal would have cost in London.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seafood Temple also viewed

 
Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Seafood Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing