We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great”
Review of Cameron Guesthouse

Cameron Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cameron Guesthouse
Ranked #68 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Cameron Guest House is in a really great location and a short walk to central Oban.

We had a family room with shared bathroom. The latter raised some issues as it is not clear if the bathroom is occupied or not.

The room was comfortable but small.

Don't get trapped and order an overpriced continental breakfast from the guest house ... we walked five minutes and got a far better breakfast at less than half the price.

As for the landlord .... didn't see him / her during two nights stay ... keys were left behind a door and we left money in an envelope. A little strange!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    18
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The guesthouse was well situated, the room clean, the bed comfortable and the owner very friendly. However, the facilities were disappointing, particularly in relation to space. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in room 2. The hanging space consisted of 4 hooks on the wall with 3 coathangers! Drawer storage was 2 slim drawers, one attached to either end of the headboard. As a result, our luggage was not unpacked during our stay. The en-suite bathroom was tiny, with the washhand basin hard against one wall, making the task of washing and shaving somewhat tricky. In addition to the double bed, there was also a single bed in the room, taking up more space (and the only place we could store our luggage). I'm only glad there there were just 2 of us and we weren't staying any longer than 2 nights. Breakfast was not available during our stay, so I am unable to comment on service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Archie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

The price is really cheap for such a guest house in the centre of Oban. The room is big and beautiful even with a horse painting by Beihong Xu on the wall.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShiHe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We arrived late and found nice message and keys to enter (check in possibility usually in the afternoon). Sleeping and bathroom were absolutely clean and beautiful. Shower facility was the best I ever saw in Britain: It really contained pressure! Located in short walking distance to Oban centre / habour. Next time around we will come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andi034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanglin B&B
Tanglin B&B
#77 of 94 in Oban
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 94 in Oban
446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
Lagganbeg Guesthouse
#32 of 94 in Oban
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Corriemar Guest House
3.8 mi away
Oyster Inn
Oyster Inn
#3 of 8 in Connel
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
Glenview Guest House
Glenview Guest House
#48 of 94 in Oban
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cameron Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cameron Guesthouse

Property: Cameron Guesthouse
Address: Breadalbane Street | Breadalbane Street, Oban PA34 5PE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cameron Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cameron Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cameron Guesthouse Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing