We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wounderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kilchrenan House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kilchrenan House
Ranked #7 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
1 review
“wounderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

stayed at kilchrenan house In room 10 and it was fabulous, spotless. Breakfast was fantastic it was to much choose from we had breakfast in both dinning rooms . The owners and the staff where very helpful and efficient. We have been there several times and it keeps getting better ever time we go.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taximan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    97
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
79
312
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

Having read a HUGE amount of "excellent" reviews we were expecting a lot from this B&B...however... as the photos show this was NOT the case. We stayed in room 7 which was filthy, it looked as if it had not been cleaned properly for a long while, as the cobwebs in the photo show! In addition there was mould in the shower and a stained carpet in the bathroom ! There were also exposed wires in the bedroom.

We stayed in other B&Bs on our travels this was by far the worst and very poor value for money. We checked out early as we did not want to spend any longer than possible in the room!

We will also be contacting VisitScotland as I find it hard to believe that this B&B has a 4* rating.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missmooneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KILCHRENANHSE, owner at Kilchrenan House, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
We were visited in June by a Visit scotland Inspector who rewarded us with our well deserved four star rating,,,,,,,, this included all our rooms which you can see true images of on our website this includes room 7.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Have stayed at Kilchrennan on several occassions now and each time it just gets better (and the breakfasts get bigger!!) it has now become an annual holiday location.

we just love it!!

John & Laura

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airdrie
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

I would recommend this B&B to anyone who was thinking of staying in Oban. I had a long drive to get to Oban and was slightly later than the normal check in times but this was not an issue and the staff were very friendly and helpful. On arrival i was greeted with a complementary sherry and helped to my room. The room itself was decorated to a very high standard and was very comfortable and homely. The breakfast was cooked fresh at a time that was convenient to me and was made to a very high standard. They were very accommodating to all my needs not matter how fussy i was! Although i was up on a business trip on my own i never felt lonely due to their friendly and welcoming manner. I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone! Thanks Colin and Frances for making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyDocherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed for two nights with my friend who was waiting to meet her husband from a sailing trip. I arrived first and was offered a sherry or whisky by Colin. He couldn't have been more helpful, offering suggestions for places to eat, things to do etc.
The room (10) was great. It was a family room which suited us fine, I had the single (curtained off and in a small corridor between the bathroom and the bedroom) and my pal had the double. This set-up worked really well for us. The room was spotless and had all the amenities expected from a decent B&B. I should also mention the parking, I was in my husbands beloved sports car for the weekend so I was delighted to find ample private parking with plenty of space to manoeuvre!
Plenty of choice for breakfast, I had the trad Scottish the first morning and the crepes and fresh fruit the second morning. Both were delicious. The staff were lovely too! A special mention for Frances, one of the owners, she was a gem! So friendly and helpful. After chatting to her for five minutes you feel like you've known her for years!
Highly recommend a stay at Kilchrenan, easy to find too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco3Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Stayed for one night in room 5. Absolutely stunning view from room which was very clean and tidy. Wonderful bath room with with free standing bath with views of the bay to die for.
Colin and Frances very attentive even booked ahead a restaurant for us- The seafood Temple (excellent) well worth a visit.
Breakfast also very enjoyable.
All in all you can't get much better.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArgyllLynn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

Welcomed with whiskey, sherry and chocolate in the parlor, shown to clean, well appointed rooms with coffee, cookies, ample closet and dresser, and nice bathroom. Free internet - just ask for the code.

Directly on the bay, with views over the harbor and islands. Quiet, but a short walk to town centre to catch the distillery tour, a ferry to Mull or a nice dinner or pub. Also close to a nice stroll to the headlands. Perfect location.

Breakfast was great, with a variety of juices, fruits, and cereals, plus cooked choices including everything from healthy porridge, to scrambled eggs, salmon, crepes, or a full scottish breakfast - excellent.

Shower was a tiny bit weak, but still effective.

Price was very good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereIsARoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.0 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.0 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchrenan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchrenan House

Property: Kilchrenan House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilchrenan House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colin and Frances welcome all visitors to their elegant Victorian home combining modern comfort with a relaxing atmosphere. Extensive breakfast menu. Spacious rooms, most with sea views and all en-suite. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilchrenan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchrenan House Hotel Oban
Kilchrenan House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing