We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kilchrenan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilchrenan House
Ranked #8 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Excellent views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

We had room 4- super views. You can sit in bed and watch the water, ships coming in and leaving the harbour. Colin, Frances and Buster the dog will give you a warm welcome and lots of tips about what to do. We know Oban well but still learnt new things from Colin- like Seafood Temple which we did not have a chance to visit but if you like seafood, we have been told, it is good value for really fresh seafood. Well as others have said, the breakfasts are worth getting up for. You cannot beat this B & B ( though for the number o f rooms, more like a mini hotel) for views. Also very clean...

  • Liked — The fantastic views
  • Disliked — No WiFi
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottishPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    97
    27
    5
    9
See reviews for
80
315
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2008

I'm sorry, but I have to give them a few less pos. notes:
we had a room at the back of the hotel, with a rather ugly view,we had been told that the bed was new, but it was so squeaky that we had to put towels between the bed and the wall, as we couldn't sleep by the noise of it. The owner and his wife were very friendly but hasty, the hairdryer didn't work, so I had to go down the stairs with wet hairs to ask them for another one and they were so friendly by giving us their own hairdryer. We had to pay 222,OO Pounds for 3 n ights, what seems to be the average price, but wasn't worth the room we became. The towels were wet after taking a shower, we left them in the tiny bathroom and in the evening we found them still wet as we left them in the morning. Their was no way nor place to dry them. We staid in Scotland for four weeks and I must say, this wasn't the best of our stays!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank amanitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KILCHRENANHSE, Colin Owner at Kilchrenan House, responded to this review, March 25, 2008
Thank you for your feedback I value our guests opinion.It is only with constructive feedback I can take the business forward and offer our guests an excellant stay. It was extremely disappointing to note that you stayed with us in September 2007 but have only recently let us know. It was difficult to trace you, however after going through last year diary I found your details and noted that you booked through the Tourist Board. They should have informed you that it was a small double.I can assure you it was a new bed and I am sorry to hear that it was noisy several guests have stayed in this room and this is our first complaint. With regard to the towels, our housekeeping staff replace all wet towels and apologise for the oversight, I wish you would have told us when you found them,I would easily have given you fresh towels. In the room there is a radiator in the bathroom and on the wall of the bedroom some guest use these to dry small items albeit not towels. I am saddened to think that you felt we had a "hasty manner" this is certainly an isolated comment, but apologise if we came across that way. I try to encourage our guest to to discuss any issues they have at the time so I can rectify and ensure that your stay is both enjoyable and pleasant. I cannot express how sorry Kilchrenan House staff and particuarly the owners are with your comments. It is our aim to ensure that all our guest have an excellant stay and will always want to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2008

Our first visit to Oban what a beautiful place, stayed at Kilchrenan House was welcomed by Colin , the house is so warm and welcoming, the views across the water are so relaxing , we stayed in the family room which was warm and cleaned to a high standard. breakfast was also great.
Would recommend to all as the staff where all very helpful even with a one year old kid, my daughter tryed porridge for the first time which she enjoyed, Colin said it was his special receipe. Cant wait to go back away from the hustle and bustle of glasgow. Anyone who goes will really enjoy there stay as Kilchrenan House is very welcoming.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pab1980uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

We had a fabulous stay at the Kilchrenan house, nothing was a problem for our hosts Colin and Frances, from our arrival we immediately felt like it was a home from home .We were made very welcome and cant praise ALL the staff enough. Colins breakfasts set us up for the day and the guide books he has to look through helps you map out your day. The rooms are large and Frances has added her own touch with the special designs in each room. We loved our stay there and can`t recommend The Kilchrenan House highly enough .If you travel to Oban this is the place to stay PS say hello to Buster when you`re there

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mellencamp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2007

This guest house is an ideal location for a short stay in Oban, The owners are very friendly and hearty and provided lots of useful information. A welcome whisky awaits every guest. The rooms are nice and clean, attention is paid to detail.
Breakfast is excellent with a special every day. Definitely value for money!

  • Liked — Location, friendly owner
  • Disliked — nothing to criticise
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zebi_the_Brave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed at Kilchrenan Guest House for one week and would definitely return there if, and when, we next visit to Oban. This guest house is one of comfort, good service and relaxing atmosphere. Rooms are furnished in keeping with the late Victorian vintage of the house, and the situation on the esplanade is ideal. A;so, the views across the harbour are spectacular because there is the combination of observing Oban as a working port and its magnificent setting facing the island of Mull.

Colin, our landlord, could not have been more helpful. He provided us with an itinerary of visits for our seven day stay, and assisted all guests at every opportunity. I could go on, adding more detail but I'll shorten this review by saying that we had five star treatment for the whole week.

  • Liked — It was characterful, homely, well-managed and good value
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trueclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2007

Have just returned from four nights stay and can't fault anything.The location overlooking the bay is first class, most evenings were spent in the garden with a bottle of wine watching the sunset. We were in room two which was good size had all facilities [plenty hot water] and was kept very clean.
Colins breakfasts are as good as everyone else has said but I must add how friendly the girls serving were.
Colin and Francis are a really nice couple very friendly, Colin gave us lots of useful information on walks and places to eat, especially the Studio, excellent steaks.
A big thankyou for a great stay will definitely be back.
gary and kathryn newcastle.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WashingtonGeordies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
0.0 mi away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilchrenan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilchrenan House

Property: Kilchrenan House
Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilchrenan House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colin and Frances welcome all visitors to their elegant Victorian home combining modern comfort with a relaxing atmosphere. Extensive breakfast menu. Spacious rooms, most with sea views and all en-suite. A real home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilchrenan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilchrenan House Hotel Oban
Kilchrenan House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing