We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Two night stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avoncraig B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oban
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avoncraig B&B
Ranked #54 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Two night stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Avoncraig for two nights and liked it. Breakfast options were great and the view from the breakfast room beautiful. Rooms are clean and well equipped. This BB is on top of the hill in Oban so there is a light walk uphill from the restaurants in Oban. Lady of the house Fiona gave very good tips for activities in the area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JPAuvinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodi-oban, Owner at Avoncraig B&B, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review, it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast and the view. Thanks for your compliments about the bedroom and facilities. We have been so lucky with the weather this Summer that nearly everyone has walked down to town and I'm pleased you didn't find the walk back up too arduous. Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
50
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Had a lovely stay in Oban at Avoncraig B&B warm, friendly and helpful welcome. As we were catching the ferry at 5.45am we opted for the "substantial packed breakfast" which turned out to be also an adequate lunch and light supper. Would use this again and recommend it to anyone visiting Oban or the islands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodi-oban, Owner at Avoncraig B&B, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. So glad you enjoyed your food. It would great to have you here again and thanks for recommending to others. Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

My two friends and I had a lovely welcome at the Avoncraig. Fiona was very friendly and her home is in a lovely position near McCaigs tower with beautiful views over the bay.Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable and breakfast was fantastic.I would highly recommend this very friendly B&B.Hopefully in the future if i am ever again in Oban I would stay at the Avoncraig.

Room Tip: The double room at the front has a great bed, lovely modern bathroom and view from the bedroom windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodi-oban, Owner at Avoncraig B&B, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I'm so pleased you all enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you again. Thanks for your positive comments and also thanks for filling the house with laughter and good fun. I hope you had a straightforward journey south. Brilliant guests!
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtenstein, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My Dad and I returned in May 2012 after previously staying at Avoncraig in October 2011. This time we've brought my Mom with us and all three of us absolutely loved our stay at Fiona's great B&B.

Fiona is a very welcoming and accommodating host. She puts a lot of love and effort into making sure her guests have a great time on her premises.

Even though I was missing our favourite Greek yoghurt at breakfast times, the rest of the food at breakfast was as great as before. When you have to leave early, you can also request a packed breakfast. Both options are generous, home made and put together with love.

I've got the "Highlands and Island fever" and will certainly be back. I have also recommended Avoncraig to many of my work colleagues and people from church.

I wish Fiona all the best and a busy house at all times she'd like it to be busy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRiver81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Avoncraig B&B, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thanks again for your very positive review. It was such a pleasure to have you here. Next time I'll get your favourite yoghurt! I just like to provide some variety, mainly to make things more interesting for myself! Your warm review is much appreciated, as are your recommendations to others- and also your good wishes for a busy season. Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Oban is a major ferry port for Inner and Outer Hebrides so there is a lot of pressure on the overnight B&B trade with some places in the town only taking bookings of 2 nights plus.
Not so Fiona's Avoncraig B&B.
The place is in a fantastic postion looking out over the harbour from a vantage point by McCaigs Tower and Fiona supplies easy to follow directions up the narrow and steep roads through town.
Clean, friendly and efficient, Fiona is a welcoming and helpful person and cooks a great veggie breakfast to complement the salad, fruit and yoghurt buffet served in a dining room with that great view.
Fiona also supplies a helpful guide to some of the local eateries for evening dining out.
Highly recommended - infact I've just booked again for September...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepintheforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodi-oban, Owner at Avoncraig B&B, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thanks for such a wide ranging glowing review. I appreciate all reservations so thanks for pointing out that overnight guests are welcomed here. So glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the view. See you again in September. Thanks, Fiona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

After a week's cycling around the islands, we wanted a quality b&b to stay in on our last night - Avoncraig proved to be a great choice - modern, clean and comfy. Fiona made us very welcome and made sure we didn't want for anything. Breakfast was fantastic. This is clearly a well run b&b and the information on local history was great too! Thanks Fiona.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomlaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodi-oban, Owner at Avoncraig B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. It's great to be described as "quality" and breakfast as "fantastic"! I enjoyed our conversation about the local historical sites and was only too happy to tell you their stories. Thank you for the full marks in the rating - much appreciated. Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for one night. Avoncraig is well located on the hills of Oban: 7 minutes on the way down to town and maybe a bit longer on the way up but the walk is pleasant. The rooms are comfortable, modern and clean. The breakfast was really well cooked; it is served in the dining room with lovely seaview. Fiona was a nice and discreet host. The price is good so if you want comfort for a small price in Oban, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dodi-oban, Owner at Avoncraig B&B, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. I'm very fortunate to have such a good view from the breakfast room. It's great to know you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay. I very much appreciate your comments.
Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.1 mi away
Invercloy Guest House
0.1 mi away
Failte Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Blair Villa
Blair Villa
#35 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#87 of 99 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornloe Guest House
Thornloe Guest House
#21 of 99 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kings Arms Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoncraig B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoncraig B&B

Property: Avoncraig B&B
Address: Avoncraig Duncraggan Road, Oban PA34 5DT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Avoncraig B&B Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing