We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, playpark for kids”

Restaurant at Loch Melfort Hotel
Ranked #54 of 94 Restaurants in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Modern Scottish food, speciality West Coast Seafood. All home made. Taste our Best Award.
Fife
Level Contributor
152 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great views, playpark for kids”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The view from the Chartroom Bistro is just amazing whatever the weather. The food menu is really good, varied options and high quality food. We sampled the venison burger, mussels and kids pizza, fish and chicken with all being great.
The playpark just outside is visible from many of the tables and great fun for children of all ages. During summer months you can also wander around the ground to see the cows and down to the shore - you can do this in the winter also but we have only done so in warmer months! They sell ice creams which make it a great summer stop off also.
A great place to visit for a relaxing drink or bite to eat and now as an added bonus they do take away pizzas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    35
    13
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lochwinnoch
Level Contributor
185 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A super birthday dinner”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My wife's birthday always merits a good night out so we booked for dinner at the Loch Melfort Hotel. We had passed it on the way to our self catering accommodation a few miles up the road towards Oban and it intrigued us. On arrival we were shown into the hotel guests' lounge and given the menus. The waitress knew everything about all of the food that was being served and was able to advise us on our choices. We sat with our drinks (non-alcoholic for me as I was driving) until we were called into the dining room. Having placed our orders we waited for the meal to be served. While we waited a waiter brought out hors d'oeuvres (unordered and complimentary). This was goat cheese bon bon with coleslaw and was a pleasant and very welcome surprise. For starter my wife had poached rhubarb with foie gras. She loved it. I tried a bit as well and I have to say that, although it sounds an unlikely combination, it worked more than very well. The sharp sweetness of the rhubarb offset the richness of the liver. My starter was red onion tatin on a bed of frisee lettuce with raspberry dressing and goat cheese. Again a very unusual concept but one that worked very well. Bread was served on a slate with butter that was studded with pieces of black olive. That in itself was a savoury delight. My wife's main course was scallops with chips and salad. The scallops were cooked just to the point (perfect) and the chips were chunky. It looked great and she said it tasted great. My main was Grilled lobster with spinach and boiled new potatoes. This was an unusual and interesting combination that worked surprisingly well. The savoury flavour of the spinach enhanced the sweet richness of the lobster. Deferring to our having to drive home afterwards we settled for a half bottle of Maipo Sauvignon Blanc between us bolstered with fizzy water for the driver (me).

Including the G&T and the soda water that we had in the guest lounge before dinner the overall bill (before tip) was £79.08. At this price, considering the food that we ate, its quality and presentation we thought this was marvellous value.

All of the staff were helpful, chatty and cheerful. They understood what good waiting is all about, took a pride in their job and all of them were able to speak authoritatively about the food and its provenance. If all Scottish hotels had service and food like this then Scotland would be a visitors' paradise. We will be back - perhaps for a stay in the hotel as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BioToxic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb food and service”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

First class food and service. The view is spectacular. We did not stay, and regret not doing so, hopefully next time - the west coast of Scotland must be one of the worlds most beautiful spots, and this restaurant served the food to match.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAN71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouthshire
Level Contributor
196 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Lunch with a great view”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visited Arduaine Gardens and then popped into the hotel bar for a sandwich lunch. The setting was sunny, the bay swept out before us and the lunch was spot on.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank daloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bistro Review at Loch Melfort Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Visited the Bistro in September 2012. Very disappointed. More like a cafe than a bistro - childrens toys, ice cream freezer, post cards, childrens seating all on view in the bistro, it is a cafe by day and this is very evident when they open as a bistro in the evening. Vast quanities of food of very poor quality. On the plus side the waitress and barman were lovely, shame they had to apologise for quality of the food. Put in a complaint and finally got a reply with apology today from the manageress.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Loch Melfort Hotel also viewed

Craobh Haven, Argyll and Bute
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute
 
Ardfern, Argyll and Bute
Kilmelford, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Restaurant at Loch Melfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing