We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value hotel in the heart of Oban”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I paid £78 for a two night stay in a single room over Easter 2014. I found this to be pretty reasonable as the hotel is right in the centre of the town. There are only a few parking spaces at the hotel but plenty of cheap parking in the immediate vicinity. The staff were friendly and helpful on arrival.

The room was on the small side but was clean with a decent sized bathroom. Early starts meant I didn't have breakfast (my fault not the hotel's !) but I did have a bar meal on my first night which was very good indeed. The bar had entertainment on both nights which made for a lively evening.

On the whole I would have no hesitation in staying here again for it is good value and well located.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 984 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

We decided to go to Oban for a short break and chose to stay at the Royal Hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is a bit tired as far as decor goes-faded Scottish grandeur- but the service and food more than makes up for the decor and I actually liked it -don't change.!! The service as I said was excellent everyone was friendly and helpful and the food was great. There was plenty choice of fresh well cooked food and even the packed lunch was good. Well done

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pet-eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel with some members of my family. The staff from all the different areas of hotel could not have been more helpful.
The breakfast and dinners were very good with ample choice and good service.
I believe you usually get what you pay for and while there were no frills or extras it was value for money.

Room Tip: Probably best getting room at back as noisy with traffic
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 492linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Hi Linda

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor.

I am please to see that the Staff were helpful during the stay and that enjoyed the food. Our new Head Chef has just started with us 2 weeks ago and I am looking forward to a further improvement in the standard and style of our food.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal in future.

Best Regards

Steven Reffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

- Parking stated it's free but it's limited and you may have to park in a paying parking lot or further away in s supermarket free parking.
- WIFI is limited to a very small area of the hotel in the bar/restaurant.
- Old Construction with no insulation so one can hear tv, walking, bathroom noises etc any time of night.
- Some of the staff were really nice, and some not.
- Location is amazing

Room Tip: Probably rooms on Top floor will not have so much noise coming from upstairs, but can't guarante...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dimitra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I recently stayed for one night at this Hotel whilst visiting the area and was pleased with my experience. I have read some negative comments about this establishment but what do people expect? Ok not 5 star luxury but not 5 star prices either!! I stayed in room 202 and paid £ 39 for a single room, bed and breakfast with ensuite bathroom- what more can you ask for?

Granted that the Hotel is old but it is centrally positioned in Oban Town Centre, staff are friendly, breakfast ample and I had a good sleep. Will be back next time the opportunity brings me to this part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davefel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay, I found it refreshing and honest.

I have passed on your comments to the staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal in the near future.

Kind Regards

Steven Reffin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

On arrival the staff (Alan and Peter) we're very pleasant and helpful and continued to be so when I requested a different room.
The first room had a dirty bathroom floor (not properly swept) and sink and there was a mark on the top sheet; both mugs had not been properly washed and there were lipstick marks on the rims. The second room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good - plentiful and hot, with tea and toast brought quickly and all the staff pleasant, helpful and professional.
I was disappointed that the coffee machine in the bar was being cleaned at 22:00 which would have meant a 15 minute wait for coffee - why not clean it at the end of the night?

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Booked a night in this hotel first impression a bit run down from the outside ( windows needed a good wash,paint work on outside old and flaked of the wood work, hanging baskets full of dead flowers.
Then the Superior Room what a joke, this small room No.502 paper hanging off the wall at window, bed cover stained,wardrobe hanging off wall and 3 screws holding it to wall, missing handles on dresser. Bathroom was so small it was a small shower cubical and a wc at the other end. The celling was covered in stains. Head board was lying to one side. The hole room was run down and needed a face lift.
When I asked if there had been a mistake in my room allocation I was told no THAT I HAD A BAY VIEW.
What a embarrassment for Scotland I would not stay in this hotel if I was homeless and destitute

Room Tip: have no idea the hole place is a dump
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DAVID F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven R, General Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor

Thank you for your review of your recent stay and for your personal email that I have received. As stated in my comprehensive reply, I have separated the fact from opinion in your review.

Our bedrooms are in the early stages of a long process to upgrade and update, this process began last year and is still in its infancy. Our company has, is and planning large continued investment in this area. I have passed on your feedback to my Head Office to emphasise the standard that our custom expects.

In regards to the subjective and narrow view regarding 'Dump', 'Third World' and 'Demolition' I find this disrespectful to the loyal and hard working staff who put in many hours and great quality to their work.

I am sorry that in your opinion the Royal Hotel has not come up to scratch this time, but I am sure that should you return then you will see the true quality and consistency that the Royal Hotel provides.

I do however look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,792 reviews
0.1 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oban
Price Range: $85 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing