We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only adequate”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Ayr
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only adequate”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in a single room. Wallpaper was peeling off in places. Bed cover had stains on though actual sheets etc clean thankfully. Room I stayed in is badly in need of a makeover. Plentiful supply of tea and coffee in room. Staff friendly and helpful. Would hesitate to recommend due to poor state of room though breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissiemof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    282
    235
    128
    86
See reviews for
140
404
97
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leland, North Carolina
Level Contributor
227 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here with a group last month. I was on the 5th floor in a small room. There is no air conditioning. We asked for a fan, they said they would bring it, but never did. The only elevator is really tiny so we usually walked up. The staff was really friendly. The pub area was comfortable and reasonable. Wireless Internet was only accessible in the lounge area. Our view was a wall and a roof, others in our group loved their view, but some on the street side said it was really noisy at night. The buffet breakfast was plentiful. The town is wonderful. The sunsets were amazing. Hotel location was great too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCTravelfan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at the Royal for 4 nights recently and enjoyed every minute of my visit. I was there with my partner and two dogs and can only say that we were all made to feel very welcome by all the staff. The room had a four poster bed which was lovely and comfortable, it was spacious and warm. The room was cleaned daily with fresh towels if we needed them. The tv was restricted view for the person on the right side of the bed and on occasions either myself or my partner bashed our toes on the bed posts so perhaps the posts could be removed! The food was good quality traditional food served promptly and nice and hot. The breakfast offered us a wide choice of full cooked, or fruit with yogurt, cereals and juice so plenty for all diets. This was my third visit to this hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. Good base for exploring the Islands. Limited parking but we have been fortunate on each of our visits and always got a space. Dogs made very welcome and they enjoyed any left over cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: The room with the 4 poster is quite roomy. We have also stayed in twin rooms which were equally spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel was great. Myself and my two daughters stayed for a weekend. Food, service, staff and accommodation was great. Price was also great. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was entertainment in the lounge, there was a two man band and a piper, they were fantastic. I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: The staff at the royal hotel were very accommodating. When I booked there was no triple rooms availa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine Marga... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

we only stayed for one night but wished we had more time to spend here. our room was spotless and freshly decorated with a fine view. the food is wonderful and the choice at the breakfast buffet was truly amazing. the staff were very friendly and helpful. the hotel is in a central area,just minutes from shops and the ferry/train terminal. although there was limited on-site car parking there are quite a few car parks nearby. i would definitely return to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Royal Hotel is a Victorian Historical building with a public bar, a lovely lounge area with sofà and chimney really old England and huge comfortable rooms. At least our family room at the last floor. High standard services and delicious breakfast with multiple choice of foods. It is advisable to stay in this hotel, even if not economic.. But in Oban is difficult find for less same quality.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KunderaRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

1895 i think was the last time any money was spent on theis place.
I used to live in Oban and left in 1986 and it was a tip then ... it still is!
The only positive is the staff at reception ( i never ventured beyond that and my room so no comment on the other team members)
The decor is appalling, old, worn out, faded, falling apart ... i could continue.

The rate is what i pay for a modern 3 star hotel in europe.. not a hotel in Oban in this state. The problem they have is that all of their competition, Columba, Lancaster, Alexander, Regent are all poop! Someone really needs to take Oban by the scruff of it'ds kneck and shake it. They have been relying for way too long on bus parties and not caring about the individual traveller. Startmore hotels.. spend some money, make the place look clean and modern and you will reep benifits as you will lead the town out of this downward spiral of dire hotels.

i had no option but to book this place as the town was full up and therfore i think all of these 3 star hotels have a captive market ... for 8 weeks and then they lie and rot for the other 10 months.

my advice...keep clear and stay at the B&B's, good value and much better environment..

Vote with your feet ladies and gents!

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DouglasMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
793 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Perle Oban Hotel
The Perle Oban Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
49 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
1,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing