We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a good spring clean”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed overnight on a B&B booking on Saturday 13 April 2013. On arrival booked in with no problems by a very helpful receptionist . Managed to get the car parked at the rear (very limited spaces) We were given two rooms which were on the second floor (205 and 206). Both rooms on entering smelt musty as though they had not been aired for ages. Both rooms were very "tired" looking and dark furniture made the room look even more depressing
.Walls could do with a lick of paint. Old sash windows which were filthy shook and rattled all night with the wind. Bed linen was spotles and the bed was comfortable.
Bathroom was clean but needed a good re-fit.
The hotel is in a great location for the town and all routes if your touring about.
Every member of staff we met were so polite and helpful.
The breakfast was buffet style and the selection on offer was fantastic and catered for all tastes, again the restaurant staff were great.
I had looked at previous reviews and its obvious that the contributers were not given the rooms we were in.

Room Tip: Can only speak for the rooms we stayed in on the second floor. However we booked through Booking.com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quinny817069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

Woudntstay anywhere else would highly recommend 2 anyone first class welcome &hospitality it is central 2 all amenities food was excellent great choices lounge areas lovely and cosy i we will certainly b back very soon

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winny2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here for one night and have only praise for this traditional hotel which could not be handier for catching trains, ferries or for shopping in Oban. The reception staff were very friendly and the hotel was clean, and comfortable and extremely good value. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cateun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My partner and I were on a bus tour and stayed at the hotel from Monday until Friday. Although there were 3 coach parties booked in, the staff were very well organised to cope with this.
The buffet breakfast was excellent as was dinner which was served quickly and efficiently by friendly waitresses. We found all the staff to be pleasant and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Our room was a good size with a lovely view over the bay. It was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Oban and would certainly recommend a stay at the Royal

Room Tip: Room at the front of the hotel has a lovely view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here at the Royal hotel and had a very relaxing,comfortable and enjoyable stay. From first contact to the hotel to book my room,to the greeting at reception,the restaurant staff,housekeepers and to checking out,all staff were friendly,welcoming and helpful. I had a really nice room(307) it was clean,comfortable,quiet and I slept very well each night. Breakfast was also very good again excellent service, a warm smile is the best way to guarantee a nice day and all breakfast staff had a cheery disposition and helpful demeanour. Food was hot and of good quality and the porridge was a great start to the day. I don't normally do breakfast but it was so good here I'm afraid I made a bit of a pig of myself . A lot of walking next week me thinks, to shred the extra weekend pounds. But seriously at £28 a night I had a fantastic and wonderful stay and would happily recommend this hotel for your accommodation requirements in Oban. Many thanks to all staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomoakley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and slept well as the bed was very comfortable. Our room had been newly refurbished and was spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food was good too. Lovely sea view from our room. Oban is a very beautiful place to be.

Room Tip: Sea View is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for two weekend nights in April. Due to bad weather and ferry cancellations the Hotel was full. We had only booked the night before at a very good price for dinner bed and breakfast. The room we had on the first night was very small think room 208..especially the bathroom. You had to walk backwards to sit down on the loo. The service and food on the dining room made up for the disappointing room. I asked to move the following morning. We only moved 3 doors down but the room was much bigger and overlooked the square. Even had the bath I had requested. Staff were very nice especially in the bar and dining area. Food hot and freshly made. Would stay again. We went back in to the hotel bar for lunch with a friend as we knew it would be good. Would give if 3.5 if I could.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.0 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
4.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $66 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing