We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The weather may have been stormy but a warm scottish welcome awaits you in Oban.When we arrived i explained to hotel staff that my husband would need a larger room and this was sorted in minutes,infact i was offerd a choice of 2rooms.The rooms are a good size.bathrooms are also very big.At breakfast you have a lot to choose from,including cooked breakfast,we had dinner at night in the hotel and on the menu there was a wide choice.Staff are very helpful,and friendly,the domestic staff were very good.I would go back again to this hotel again when in Oban.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agnes q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,013 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

Despite a mix up with our booking, and our late arrival,nothing was too much trouble for the friemdly and helpful staff here. Food was excellent, really great value and delicious and the dining room we found pleasantly warm, even in January. Rooms were spotlessly clean, warm and well equipped and the beds were very comfortable. We were on the top floor and had a nice view over the harbour. Enquiries at the desk were dealt with in a courteous and prompt way. Our first visit to Oban but not the last because we will certainly use this hotel again. For the money charged this was a great bargain

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oorsmallfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

well i stayed here through work. before arriving i was not to sure on what to think of this hotel as the review were mixed, arrived and and checked in, i was on the 3rd floor which wasn't to bad, room was a single and i was faced with a strange lingering smell slightly stale, Bed was clean and crisp sheets and clean bath room, the room had a nice tv and good tea facilities, Only critical things i can say about the room is it was slightly small and view was bad, it looked out on other peoples windows. Overall the room was half decent, nothing major. Food was not of the best quality for what the price is, Firstly breakfast was a self service breakfast, the sausages were not up to standard, however bacon was very nice as of the rest of the standard cooked range was nice and pleasant. Also the dinner pub menu was slightly over priced, i had a sirloin steak which was over seasoned with salt and chips came with salt on them not amused, the steak was not evenly cooked i could tell this piece of meat was cooked half on the 'grill' and finished of in the microwave. overall the steak is over priced would defo not pay £18 for it,
To end on a good note, all staff are friendly with a well trained bar staff who are very polite and make you feel welcome. So overall i would stay here again because of the friendly atmosphere and the good price of the rooms :) happy days

Room Tip: ask for a room at the top facing the street perhaps to achieve a good view and not facing the rear o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

we have stayed in this hotel quite a few times now , so, we thought it a good idea to bring in the bells away from home for the first time in the royal and we were not disappointed.
the entertainment on hogmanay and on new years night was excellent and as the hotel was full both these nights there was no shortage of dancers on the floor.
we were a bit disappointed with the dinners on both these nights but we do think there may have been a shortage of staff in the kitchen as most of the menu had salad and veg and some of the meat could have been done better, we stayed a third night and had good old steak pie and chips, ( the steak was a shade on the fatty side though and i hate fat on my steak ) which would have gone down better on hogmanay. there was no entertainment on though, but we didnt really expect any as most of the guests had left.
however we had a great time in the hotel and would definately do it again.
if though , like me, you want to go out on new years day to continue the celebrations , you could be dissapointed, we looked for something and only found three pubs closed and the two we did go into were very drab and quiet.
overall though, a great new year was had by us in oban and as i said we would do it again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boaz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The centrally located hotel has a very tired atmosphere. When we were there, the weather was lousy, but rooms tended to be (very) cold. We had a nice room a the top floor - no real view, but a great distance from the music below. Unfortunately, the elevator broke down in the morning, but luckily staff helped us with our heavy luggage. Otherwise, very perfunctory front desk - advance payment was demanded in a rather rude way.
Breakfast ok. Would try to find a better hotel next time, but if in a pinch, stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans_Staden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

stayed over new year three nights, reception efficient and friendly, rooms/beds comfortable and serviced to a high standard, dining room clean and spacious, food good selection and served hot well within core temperature, entertainment excellent, all staff were courtious and helpfull, we had a room on second floor overlooking the roundabout NEVER HEARD THE TRAFFIC (what's woolfbhoy's gripe). hotel central to all amenities. would certainly recommend this hotel. Steven and his team did a great job giving us a good new year break. will return. I noticed wifi in the lounge. a good old building with character.

Room Tip: try for lower floor rooms as lift can get busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I wouldn't say I enjoyed my stay. I found it very difficult to sleep during my two night stay. My single bed felt small, the bedclothes were made up of layers, none of which felt big enough to cover me (I'm six foot tall and tip the scales at 15 stone).

The hotel's location, adjacent to Oban's busiest round about meant the traffic noise was a problem. An abundance of lorries rattle and roar past the window at all times of the night as they head to catch the ferry. They are not the only vehicles we hear though.

I tried the full breakfast on the first morning but was grossly disappointed. The sausage had an awful processed texture, the black pudding was like rubber (definitely not Stornoway Black Pudding) and the bacon was tough.

I avoided this the next morning and found the cold selection was plenty tasty.

There was free wifi in the bar but I couldn't get logged in. In this day and age you would expect wifi throughout the hotel but not here.

I quite liked that we got shortbread in our rooms.

Room Tip: if you want a good night's sleep in favour of a poor view (the view out the front's not grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wolfbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,055 reviews
4.5 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Oban
Price Range: $65 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing