We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Royal - Dump!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
GreenLeadersGold level
Oswestry
Level Contributor
221 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“The Royal - Dump!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Readers of other reviews of mine will know I can wax lyrical or condemn mightily and comprehensively, this place has even me speechless.

Let me just say I would rather sleep in the car than spend one more night in this overpriced dump. Refurbishment should be started soon, preferably from the basement up, starting with a box of matches and a packet of fire lighters.

The TV in the room came off the ark and turned itself off every time one tried to put the volume up on the remote and the free WiFi was only available on the ground floor in the bar, not a lot of use in posting this review when we were on the 5th floor, having moved from the 3rd where the room was worse, only marginally but worse none the same.

The loo in the room and the room next door sounded like the QE2 getting ready for sea every time it was flushed and went on grinding away long enough for the liner to have reached the end of the Solent. The floors creaked, the wall paper peeled, the lift stank of tobacco smoke, the heating system wheezed like an asthmatic smoker, thank God for ear plugs and we wished we had booked somewhere else. Enough said!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FoodieOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    272
    222
    124
    84
See reviews for
137
388
94
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is centrally situated, but parking can be a problem. They kindly found me a space in the rather restricted and dripping wet main garage. In our first room at the back we coudn't turn off the central heating or switch on the main ceiling light. The staff made a quick response and moved us to another room. This room was on the same side as the busy A85 road into Oban, so was noisy from the early hours with large trucks. The breakfast room was large and bright and the food more than adequate. The main bar downstairs was large but rather dreary, although bar staff were efficient and cheerful. Overall this hotel was quite adequate for our one night stay, but could do with a bit of a general tidy and looked a bit dated in places. This hotel is very popular with coach parties!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet lie in in the morning don't choose rooms on the side of the hotel overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here September 18th and found the hotel rooms a wee bit dated but charming. Food was really good in the bar and service was great. The front desk girl was very friendly and couldn't do enough to help you, a credit to the hotel. It was not a five star hotel by any means but then again you don't pay five star prices either ! Breakfast was good and filling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SteveTracy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed for 2 days in the Royal hotel... £50 pounds a night through laterooms.com

Great centeral location - the hotel carpark is laughably small. I parked in the railway station carpark - £3 for 24 hours.

The check in was very smove and friendly - they were also to make some good recomendadtions for good vegitairian eating in oban.

The ground floor area is quite nice, there seem to be a mix of low budget businisses custamers and a load of older peoples coach trips (I was easly the youngest person in the hotel)

There is only one small lift for all 5 floors... bit suprisingly I didn't end up waiting to much.

My room (405) was below avrage - It had a VERY small window with no view - the bathroom was very small. All this would be OK for a £50 a night room... but the proom was filled with pluming noise all night! It sounded like the noise of hot water beign heated etc.

Breckfast was good - buffet style with lots of choice - but with really anoying plastic covers over everythign that seemed to slow everythign down to much.

Id be happy paying £25 a night for room 405 - but nothing more.

(Another person staying with me had room 412 - this was a decent room though all the floor we all uneven, but worth £50... just)

Room Tip: Avoid room 405 and probably any of the rooms on the 4th or 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oban hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Northern ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in Room 405. The worst hotel room I have ever been in. It should not be classed as a double. We had to get a fan from reception as the room was so warm. Bathroom is minuscule with a tepid shower. TV is temperamental. All in all not a pleasant experience.
Lift is not adequate for the size of the hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank lakeslover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Very old fashioned hotel, sloping floors squeaky floorboards.... But adds to the charm of this lovely hotel! Stayed here on spur of the moment..was allowed to look over room first and then decide if we wanted it. Rooms clean & comfortable, car park bit of a squeeze. Breakfast very filling!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Spent 2 nights in this hotel which was 2 too many. Our room was tiny, poorly decorated. Bathroom extemely small, bed uncomfortable. The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. Hotel was clean but dated and tired. Needs a refurb.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
3.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: Argyll Square, Oban PA34 4BE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Hotel is located in the heart of Oban town on the western coast of Scotland. Enjoy the very best of Scottish hospitality at this 3-star hotel that first opened its doors in 1895. Rooms at this hotel feature television, tea/coffee makers, large windows and high ceilings, private bathrooms, complimentary toiletries, hairdryers, and climate control. The traditional decor is complemented by the tartan furnishings. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. Porter, luggage storage and tours/ticket assistance services are provided and there is a very small car park to the rear of the hotel. The hotel’s 170-seater restaurant serves a great selection of Scottish cuisine that you can savour for breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. Relax in the bar and/or lounge over drinks and Scottish malts in the company of friends beside the open fire. Close to Royal Hotel are a handful of attractions including the iconic McCaig’s Tower, Oban Distillery, Glencruitten Golf Course, the House at Dunollie, and the Glorious Gardens of Argyll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing