We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Very nice one night stay here. Stayed in a superior room with sea view. The rooms are on the small side as stated and there are some minor issues but overall a great stay.

Friendly welcome, terrific food and a stunning location.

Downsides are minor but there are some simple issues that could be fixed like the lack of a duvet on the bed - instead, just a thin cover. The room was very cold on arrival and it is an old building. On a freezing January day (it snowed) I think it would be reasonable to have the heating on in advance of arrival.

That said, the rest of stay was lovely and it's worth reiterating how nice dinner was.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MJStal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaHouse, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for writing. I spoke with the manager and he apologizes for the heat in your room not being turned up earlier. The girls like to air the rooms each day so they are fresh. We choose to have the two blankets on the beds as it allows us to have traditional bedspreads which we feel are tidier than a loose duvet. There are additional blankets in the cupboard and I am sorry if these were not drawn to your attention. We are pleased you enjoyed dinner and will be ready with a warm welcome on your next trip.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    74
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
293
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We visit Oban every few months and it is an absolute treat to stay at the Manor House. The bedrooms and public rooms are very comfortable and have real character. I love the original cast iron range in the dining room which adds to the homely and authentic feel of the place. The food is consistently high quality both at dinner and breakfast. The Kerrera marmalade at breakfast and Stornoway Black Pudding deserve special mention as absolute flavour sensations. The Manager, Gregor, is an absolute treasure and leads his team from the front. He's to be congratulated for the professionalism and charm of the staff. I would rate this as my 'go to' place in Oban, definitely the best place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gallusbesom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for writing. We are very proud of the staff at the Manor House and appreciate your comment. Look forward to your visiting again. Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Easily the best place to stay in the area,
Room 4 being our favourite more so than the seaview
Especially when one can see a deer looking down over Oban.
The Manor House is extremely good value for money

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roberta333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write. Glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This is an absolute gem. Delightful and charming old building overlooking Oban Harbour. The rooms are cosy and well furnished with extra touches such as fruit and bottled water. The restaurant meals are absolutely superb. Elegant and understated with absolutely impeccable service. It's on the mid to upper end of the price range, but worth every 'penny'.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Vanessa - Thank you for your comment. It makes us very proud you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Cosy 2 night birthday stay in the depth of dark dismal winter weather. Room 7 - superior room- had twin aspect over the bay ,was clean ,cosy, and well appointed with flowers champagne, chocolates and card from hotel for my big birthday. They catered for my dairy intolerance with ease and charm. The food was all delicious, fresh , and of a high standard as well as presented beautifully. I left my glasses behind and they were posted back to me. Staff have the right balance of professionalism and friendliness .Not often it happens but this was a 100% lovely experience . Thank you to all at Manor House Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowClaireS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for thinking of the Manor House for your celebration.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level Contributor
276 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Oviously THE posh place for dining out in Oban - quite understandably. Food was good, wines a bit pricey, servic impeccable ... and the colour scheme in the restaurant is really beautiful.
Only week point: the cramped room with far too narrow beds - otherwise ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonsieurCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write. As it is a historic building, some of the rooms are small with only a standard double size beds. Hopefully you can stay with us again in one of our superior rooms which are larger and have queen or king size beds. Wishing you a happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We have visited the Manor every year and it never fails to disappoint. The location is excellent overlooking the bay with the town centre a short stroll. Bedrooms are well appointed some with a sea view We prefer the superior rooms which give you a little more space but all rooms provide a very relaxing and comfortable setting. The real star of any visit is the food served in a small but intimate dining room. Evening meal is five course with a wonderful choice of meat and fish.
We enjoyed lamb ,pork, partridge and halibut over the last two days. presentation and service is excellent with all staff very attentive. The wine list offers a good selection at reasonable prices and you can enjoy your after dinner coffee/liqueur in in lovely residents lounge and if lucky can sit in front of the roaring fire -particularly good when its freezing outside.
We enjoyed our break and have no hesitation in recommending this hotel Its the best in Oban

Room Tip: choose the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldcastlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. they are very important to us. We look forward to your next visit.
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing