We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five Star Experience”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As we were driving up the road to the hotel, I had serious doubts as to it's location. We drove up a hill that took us away from Oban center. When we checked in and spoke to Angus, he assured us that it was a short walk downhill to the ferry terminal which takes you directly into the center. I must point out that every down-hill becomes an up-hill on your return. It wasn't a very steep hill, but if you have walking issues, it would be difficult. That being said, if we would return to Oban, we would only stay at the Manor House. There is free, reserved parking right by the hotel. We had a large second floor room, (Angus carried our bags up) not an ocean view, facing a quiet street. The bathroom was huge, ultra modern with a step in shower. They provided Molton Brown toiletries which was a top grade luxury.

Since we were at the end of our holiday, we decided to eat at the hotel and booked dinner at the restaurant. Boy, are we grad we did! You don't go directly into the dinning room for dinner. Alan led us into the bar, sat us at a table, and gave us the evening menu and wine list. He asked if we wanted to start with drinks and brought over the evening's amuse bouche which was a vegetarian quiche and quail egg toast. They take your dinner order while you sit and relax in the bar with a harbor view. This is to avoid any long waits between courses, a great idea. My wife had the five course fixed price menu while I ordered ala carte. The menu charges nightly. See my pictures on what we ordered. Everything was delicious including the elegant cheese course we chose for dessert.

Breakfast is included with the room and it was outstanding and totally different from anything else we had during our stay in Scotland (sorry, no pictures, too busy feeding my face). There was a choice of five items on a printed menu along with the normal breakfast items. This was so much nicer than a typical buffet breakfast.

Service for both meals was elegant but not stuffy. It was a great way to end our trip.

Room Tip: Bigger rooms face the street. The library has an ocean view and is a great place to sit and read as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeBoston73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your lovely descriptive note. It will help others get a good idea of the Manor House. We hope you can join us again.
Regards Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 447 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a cute little hotel! Right next to the ferry and docks, so we could be right there first thing in the morning. They did everything right. Bulk laundry for 10 GBPs, not pieces individually priced at breathtaking prices. The claw foot tub was just right at the end of a rainy cool day. No complaints from the barkeep when we brought our own whiskey into the bar to taste. We had to make do with a queen sized bed, so not a perfect score.
A nice touch. I left my glasses in the bar, but didn't realize until the next morning. No disturbance from the staff; the glasses were there in the fruit bowl outside the room the next morning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Than you for your note. I am glad you could join us and had a good trip.
Regards Le & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Exactly what we expected and more !!!
Beautiful hotel and setting over looking Oban, Unfortunately we only had one night here and didn't dine in the restaurant, but on hearing we had had a disappointing dinner elsewhere they whipped me up an amazing dessert !!.Room and en-suite lovely with very comfortable bed and nice little touches, Molton Brown toiletries, lovely soft, fluffy bathrobes, fresh fruit and sweeties and the usual coffee/tea tray. Breakfast in the morning was lovely with plenty of choice's
Would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back for a weekend and would definitely have dinner with them.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the bay are the one's to ask for if you want the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lala1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Hopefully we will get you to join us for dinner on your next visit.
Regards Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

simply lovely!.. Angus is a treat and ever helpful as are all the staff.. perfect location and the restaurant is an intimate treat.. enjoyed a 5 course meal in the most lovely setting... the room was traditional as i'd hoped and the molten toiletries a lovely touch

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again.
Regards Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Manor House. The hotel has an excellent location overlooking Oban bay. The rooms are traditionally furnished with comfortable beds and well maintained. We didn't stay for dinner but had a well prepared breakfast breakfast. Overall I would rate the hotel highly and will definitely return the next time we are in Oban.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, its worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rmmc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return
Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. As we had stayed in May for my husband's 50th and had a wonderful time we decided we wanted to spend a night here for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We arrived at the hotel and they remembered that we had stayed before, which was nice. We were shown to our room and sitting on the dresser in the bay window was a half bottle of champagne, chocolates and a card congratulating us on our wedding anniversary, a lovely touch and much appreciated.

This time we had a sea view room, which was slightly smaller than the superior sea view we had last time, but was just as lovely with beautiful view over the harbour, with dresser in the bay window, a small built in wardrobe, double bed and bedside tables. Again, there was water, fruit, teas and coffee provided on a dressing table near the door. The bathroom was compact but had a large shower and again thoughtfully laid out with towels, face cloths and toiletries.

We went on a DBB basis as we remembered the superb meal from May and again we were not disappointed. The meals in this hotel are excellent and definitely worth the price. We went into the bar and ordered our wine and were given canapes to start off our meal. When our starters were ready we were escorted into the dining room. My husband started with the salmon bon bons with lime and salsa,for main a steak and for dessert a cheese platter. All excellent and steak cooked perfectly. I started with the duck parcel in filo pastry, then had saddle of lamb accompanied by vegetables and shepherd's pie. The little shepherd's pie was so full of flavour and so delicious I would have had this as a main meal, my husband agreed when I gave him a taste of it. We both had the carrot and coriander soup and the mango sorbet. I had a lovely dark chocolate mousse on shortbread and accompanied by ice-cream. We were then served coffee and petit fours in the lounge area, which were a delightful mouthful of lemon meringue pie and a small chocolate.

In the morning we had a wonderful indulgent full breakfast of egg,bacon, sausage, black pudding,haggis, with toast and coffee again all excellent and of good quality. There is also and array of juices and cereals etc laid out to have.

We cannot fault this hotel in any way, again we enjoyed an excellent stay. Staff are attentive and professional without being intrusive, very helpful and cheerful and the extra touch of champagne in our room made our day that bit more special and I would just like to say a big thank you to all the staff for our excellent stay and to the chef and kitchen staff for such a superb meal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, even though it may seem expensive I think it is worth the money for the great food, the excellent staff, the beautiful views and the lovely grounds. It is a small charming hotel and I cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are honored you chose to enjoy your anniversary with us and wish you many more happy years together.
Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for dinner b and b. Had a delightful but tiny room; this was made up for by the fantastic view of the bay in Oban.
I can't praise the chef in this hotel highly enough. The food was beautifully presented, tasted sublime and was the most incredible value. He should get at least one michelin star. Just wish we could have eaten there again. Will start planning another holiday to take in this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a one of their larger rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzyc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed it and look forward to your return. Thank you for writing.
Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#3 of 13 in Oban
843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $145 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing