We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel with lovely view's” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with lovely view's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Exactly what we expected and more !!!
Beautiful hotel and setting over looking Oban, Unfortunately we only had one night here and didn't dine in the restaurant, but on hearing we had had a disappointing dinner elsewhere they whipped me up an amazing dessert !!.Room and en-suite lovely with very comfortable bed and nice little touches, Molton Brown toiletries, lovely soft, fluffy bathrobes, fresh fruit and sweeties and the usual coffee/tea tray. Breakfast in the morning was lovely with plenty of choice's
Would definitely recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back for a weekend and would definitely have dinner with them.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the bay are the one's to ask for if you want the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Hopefully we will get you to join us for dinner on your next visit.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    74
    13
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
293
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

simply lovely!.. Angus is a treat and ever helpful as are all the staff.. perfect location and the restaurant is an intimate treat.. enjoyed a 5 course meal in the most lovely setting... the room was traditional as i'd hoped and the molten toiletries a lovely touch

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ktr1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope to see you again.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Manor House. The hotel has an excellent location overlooking Oban bay. The rooms are traditionally furnished with comfortable beds and well maintained. We didn't stay for dinner but had a well prepared breakfast breakfast. Overall I would rate the hotel highly and will definitely return the next time we are in Oban.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, its worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmmc16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our second visit to this hotel. As we had stayed in May for my husband's 50th and had a wonderful time we decided we wanted to spend a night here for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. We arrived at the hotel and they remembered that we had stayed before, which was nice. We were shown to our room and sitting on the dresser in the bay window was a half bottle of champagne, chocolates and a card congratulating us on our wedding anniversary, a lovely touch and much appreciated.

This time we had a sea view room, which was slightly smaller than the superior sea view we had last time, but was just as lovely with beautiful view over the harbour, with dresser in the bay window, a small built in wardrobe, double bed and bedside tables. Again, there was water, fruit, teas and coffee provided on a dressing table near the door. The bathroom was compact but had a large shower and again thoughtfully laid out with towels, face cloths and toiletries.

We went on a DBB basis as we remembered the superb meal from May and again we were not disappointed. The meals in this hotel are excellent and definitely worth the price. We went into the bar and ordered our wine and were given canapes to start off our meal. When our starters were ready we were escorted into the dining room. My husband started with the salmon bon bons with lime and salsa,for main a steak and for dessert a cheese platter. All excellent and steak cooked perfectly. I started with the duck parcel in filo pastry, then had saddle of lamb accompanied by vegetables and shepherd's pie. The little shepherd's pie was so full of flavour and so delicious I would have had this as a main meal, my husband agreed when I gave him a taste of it. We both had the carrot and coriander soup and the mango sorbet. I had a lovely dark chocolate mousse on shortbread and accompanied by ice-cream. We were then served coffee and petit fours in the lounge area, which were a delightful mouthful of lemon meringue pie and a small chocolate.

In the morning we had a wonderful indulgent full breakfast of egg,bacon, sausage, black pudding,haggis, with toast and coffee again all excellent and of good quality. There is also and array of juices and cereals etc laid out to have.

We cannot fault this hotel in any way, again we enjoyed an excellent stay. Staff are attentive and professional without being intrusive, very helpful and cheerful and the extra touch of champagne in our room made our day that bit more special and I would just like to say a big thank you to all the staff for our excellent stay and to the chef and kitchen staff for such a superb meal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, even though it may seem expensive I think it is worth the money for the great food, the excellent staff, the beautiful views and the lovely grounds. It is a small charming hotel and I cannot wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are honored you chose to enjoy your anniversary with us and wish you many more happy years together.
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for dinner b and b. Had a delightful but tiny room; this was made up for by the fantastic view of the bay in Oban.
I can't praise the chef in this hotel highly enough. The food was beautifully presented, tasted sublime and was the most incredible value. He should get at least one michelin star. Just wish we could have eaten there again. Will start planning another holiday to take in this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a one of their larger rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed it and look forward to your return. Thank you for writing.
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recently returned from a trip to the Manor House Hotel in Oban. It's a lovely looking hotel and has a nice garden and views to enjoy.

Room was spotlessly clean, with Molton Brown toiletries and free WiFi.

The location of the hotel is ideal - it's in a quiet location (just up from the ferry terminal) but it only takes around 10 minutes to get to the terminal. It's also only a couple of hundred yards from the Seafood Temple Restaurant.

Although we didn't eat in the hotel in the evening (it did look very popular), we had nice breakfasts.

Would recommend the Manor House Hotel if going to Oban!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elmac40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your note. We hope you will be able to enjoy dinner with us next time.
Regards Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Booked this hotel for one night prior to a Hebridean cruise, all to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary. We fell so much in love with this hotel, we could have married it! Small country house in style, it is extremely comfortable: a lovely cosy atmosphere, nicely furnished, with pretty gardens running down to the water's edge, and a beautiful restaurant serving fabulous food. The staff are very friendly, extremely hard working and helpful; in our room was a complimentary bottle of wine and a lovely card for our anniversary (and I only mentioned it in passing on the phone). The room (No. 1) was priced as a standard garden room - it wasn't over-large, but was very nice and with a sea-view! The ensuite shower/loo was spacious, spotless and in very good order. We are already booked in again for next year. This is probably the best hotel in Oban, and we thought it was worth the long journey from Yorkshire just on its own account! A little gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larissa45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Well you made our day!. Thank you for writing. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Les & Mags Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing