We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect!”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent an overnight with dinner here in June.
The room was well appointed and the location of the Hotel excellent.Food was first class,in fact in the round the whole visit was without criticism.
If you want a relaxed place to stay with all the attention to detail but no fussiness,a great location overloooking Oban Bay,and a splendid ambiance,this is the one.
Well done all concerned!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eilidhgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaHouse, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you. We hope you can come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 447 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night recently prior to catching the ferry to Lochboisdale on South Uist. We had a very warm welcome, the room was absolutely charming with a view over the harbour. Everything was spotless and warm. Our meal in the restaurant was first class, with the chef accommodating my special dietary requirements. We will definitely recommend this hotel to others and stay here again ourselves when returning to the Hebrides in the future.

Room Tip: We had one with a sea view which was certainly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyfield17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind note. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Just look at Tripadvior scores, and then judge for yourself whether the "1 terrible" is from this planet and the 3 average were just having a bad day.
The hotel is top class. Rooms are as they should be (and smaller rooms are at a cheaper rate). Everything you need, comfortable, clean and retaining character. The staff were friendly, trained, and very helpful if something was needed. The food was excellant, good variety, and obviously a quality chefs work. The location and view across the habour just add to quality of a first class hotel.
I

Room Tip: Room 7 has great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul_V_N942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for understanding the reviews. The review you refer to from over 4 years ago was a visitor who had driven all the way from Ullapool,apparently mistakenly ordered the vegitarian Tofo dish, did not allow us to replace it with another choice, We gave him a complimentary bottle of wine and he gave us a black eye.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights and cannot fault the country house style, unobtrusive but very attentive service, lovely meals - a five course dinner taken (overlooking the harbour) in leisurely style with no rush and small but comfortable rooms. Ask for the window table when booking dinner.
The only issue is the creaky floors on the upstairs landing, but a small price to pay for staying in such a lovely old house.

Room Tip: Go for the sea/harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope we will see you again
Regards
Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

What a lovely setting to arrive in after a long day's drive! Up the hill from the town, with lovely vistas over the water towards the castle. The staff was incredibly accommodating, and took good care of all three of us. Delicious dinner, delicious breakfast, and lovely people to talk to everywhere we went - wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind note. We hope you will join us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Manor House Hotel in Oban: You feel you are welcomed in a Victorian home, with a nice bar area overlooking the bay and the city; Nice garden. Allan the barman has very good advices on your stay, restaurants, itineraries, etc... Nice cozy lounge. The city is walking distance, and you can walk along the sea going the other way. The bed in room 3 was too soft. It is fine if you sleep on your own, but otherwise, you might shake a bit your beloved one at night. Good porridge at breakfast :-)

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 have a view on the loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaHouse, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you very much for your comment and suggestion on the softness of the bed in room 3. We agree and have replaced it. Hopefully you will have an opportunity to test it for us!

Regards

Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We actually stayed here for two nights in April and two in May. It was a pleasure, as always: comfortable room, great views, pleasant lounge with welcoming fire (the weather wasn't great this year), excellent food and very helpful, friendly staff. The Manor House is also an ideal place to stay when travelling to the Western Isles as it couldn't be more convenient for the ferries.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank hikingthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you. We will be ready for your next visit!
Regards
Les & Mags Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#4 of 13 in Oban
843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $146 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing