We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
348
83
15
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
83
15
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightcourse dinnerferry terminalsmall hoteldining roomlovely hotela sea view roomfresh fruitkippersoban baycomfortable bedssmall roomthree nightslovely roomfull scottisha wonderful staywarm welcome
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 450 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sitting on a hill right beside the NLB base and overlooking the ferries of Calmac is one of the nicest, small and most relaxing hotels we have ever stayed at. Special mention to Allan and Angus who are incredibly efficient, friendly and accommodating!

A nautical theme permeates the property - not just because it is in Oban but the Bermuda based Canuck who owns the Manor House is apparently involved in the Americas Cup.

The reception desk is tucked away under the stairs, between the dining room and the lounge, bar areas on the other side. It never ceased to amazed us that both Allan and Angus seemed to have a sixth sense when someone was hovering there - with no CCTV in sight!

The little place is conducive to impromptu conversations amongst the guests who were all exceedingly friendly - with the exception of one couple who thought they were better than the rest, but they were soon ostracised. (Note to self: never buy a blue E-class convertible)!!

Our room, Number 5, up the stairs, benefited from 2 windows, and although the bed was quite small, it was very comfy. Nicely furnished in a traditional way, it was clear the whole hotel was a labour of love. The bathroom was extremely compact (read tiny) but the nice amenities made up for the tight space.

The food is excellent - if you book dinner bed and breakfast, a 5 course extravaganza is included. Breakie is equally good - with the kippers and scrambled egg with a timbale of smoked salmon being my favourites.

Sitting on the sloping front garden, sipping a cool lager, watching the currently resident whale, the CalMac ferries coming and going, a lifeboat call-out and even a helicopter coming into land no more than 50m away, it was both idyllic and surprisingly action packed!

All in all, a great place oceans apart from the down-at-heel bus tour hotels that pack Oban.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 5 with the double windows - great room if you can put up with a smallish bed and cramped bathroom. Other than those 2 points, the whole place rocks!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived here on the 15th March to stay for two nights DBB, we actually ended up staying for three! Due to the Hotel being busy we had to move rooms after the first night, which was not a problem, obviously this gave us the chance experience two of their lovely rooms, No. 4 & 7. The first is at the back, but lovely cosy and comfortable with a large bathroom. The second at the front overlooking the Harbour, smaller but equally comfortable and with lovely view. The menu changes every day and the food is gorgeous many thanks to the Chef and his staff. All the front of house staff were very helpful and polite, this Hotel really is a very nice place to stay and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisinstirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked in for one night at the Manor House Hotel but it was so good we decided to stay for another night. We booked dinner, bed and breakfast both nights and it was excellent. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is wonderful and our room had a sea view. The room was compact but had a great en suite and had a lovely cosy feeling about it and had been decorated in excellent taste. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the sea. It was small but perfect.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole49_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to this hotel, of which we will be returning without fail.
We are quite picky guests ( but not beyond the pale ) but we found it hard to fault this visit ( our first to Oban ). The boutique hotel style rooms were decorated and furnished to perfection, the food was outstanding, the service excellent and the extra touches like a never ending roaring log fire, newspapers and magazines always available, binoculars in all rooms and little bowls of chocolates all over the hotel! All much appreciated.
The only little gripe was our bathroom. We could deal with the fact that it was compact and bijou, however, would have been nice to have robe hooks on the door and a bit more shelving. As no where to put wash bags etc. ( Had to put stuff on the floor, or closed toilet seat ).
That said, don't let this put you off. Hopefully management will read and rectify this small problem.
Overall, a fantastic hotel and stay.

Room Tip: Top floor, far left ( to avoid overlooking parking )
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and drawing our attention to the missing coat hooks. Room 7 was completely renovated last spring and the hooks somehow were missed. That has been corrected. We have made more shelf space available and are installing additional hooks to hang toiletry kits near the sink.
We hope to see you again.
Regards
Les & Margaret Crane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed just after New Year and were impressed. The location is "just right" to watch over Oban Harbour and the incoming Ferries. We took to the local staff right away, who were extremely welcoming and knowledgeable. Our room, "with a view" was compact, but with all amenties, including little extras like fresh fruit and chocolates. Like any "Country House" Hotel, the main reason you go for is the food and it was great !!! No Foams or scrappings on the plate, just good locally sourced ingredients, well cooked and presented. The balanced menus, made for an excellent dining experience, at a favourable price, given the assured touch of the chef. Highly recommended and worthy of higher praise than the miserly AA Rossette.........award.
It was a pity that the wi-fi connection was problematical, given the expense the establishment has incurred in trying to assure a good service.
We would gladly return for dinner......its a definite joy. The restaurant is also a lovely room, full of atmosphere.

Room Tip: If staying for longer than 2 nights, you might wish to enquire as to the availablity of one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews