We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

In a city without a lot of good hotels this is a great find. Its location is great and the food is excellent. The rooms are small but very clean. The view in the seaview rooms is great. It is also a good bargain. We would definitely stay there agin.

Room Tip: It is worth getting the seaview room if you are in your room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louis k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    75
    14
    1
    3
See reviews for
31
299
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are wanting something special then you have found the place. The view was amazing acroos the bay and to the opposite side where the main strip was. Large room, fresh fruit and great toiletries. Not to mention the chocolates found throughout all the common areas. If I lived in England this would be my favourite holiday destination and accommodation. Would love to stay there during winter. Cannot fault it, very romantic.

Room Tip: We stayed in a seaview superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possum007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We're regular visitors to the Oban area and were looking for a special place to celebrate my birthday at the end of July. We were delighted to discover that the hotel had re-opened after a fire earlier this year. Our room was fab - huge comfy bed, fresh flowers, fruit and luxurious toiletries - the view over Oban Bay from our window was the icing on the cake! The hotel has a warm, cosy 'country house' appeal and the staff were attentive and charming without being intrusive. We enjoyed an excellent meal in the atmospheric restaurant followed by coffee and liqueurs in the bar. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and delicious. A memorable birthday - hope to be back next year!

Room Tip: Worth the extra for a view of Oban Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gigha36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex geezer
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

we spent one night at the hotel before taking the ferry to Mull and decided finacially to "go for it" and booked the restaurant as well our room was cozy very comfortable and had a view over the harbour (to die for) our meal was excellent we thoroughly enjoyed it and it was a 2 minute drive to the ferry and a 5 minute walk to the main street it was exactly what we wanted a special evening

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roywolfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Excellent. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a delightful find - excellent in every way. Room, while small, was very comfortable and beautifully furnished with a few of the ocean. Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful and the food and service was five star - we had dinner and breakfast. Would have loved to stay longer, but the Isle of Skye beckoned, so it was only one night for us. A very comfortable place with easy parking - perfect in every way

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred & Denny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Wonderful place to stay for the weekend. We spent our 1st anniversary here. The staff are fantastic and the food is sublime. Seriously considering spending our 2nd year anniversary here too. Please don't change a thing!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLCrane, Owner at Manor House Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for joining us. We're glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and hope to see you back for Anniversary II
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Glad to see that the Manor House is still as comfortable, friendly and best of all opened again! We had another great 2 night stay at the Manor House. As usual the place was spotless and the room very comfortable. all the usual lovely touches e.g. Molton Brown toiletries, basket of fruit, bottled water, sweets and fluffy dressing gowns.
The food on the whole was excellent but I had to send my main course dish back on the second night as the meat was cold. this was done without any fuss. my daughter, who is a chef, dined with us on the second night has raved about the food since. my scrambled eggs with salmon for breakfast was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful.
Even the weather was kind to us. we were able to sit out late afternoon and have a drink from the bar.
already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: as the hotel is not overlooked there are no 'bad' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerbilhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.5 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
0.6 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Oban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Great Western Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4LS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Manor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor House was built in 1780 as the Duke of Argyll's Oban estate. Great consideration has been given to preserve the elegance, charm and atmosphere of its past. There are eleven tastefully decorated bedrooms each with en-suite bathroom. Informal lunches are served in the Bar and lovely Drawing Room which, like the beautifully restored Dining Room, have magnificent views over Oban Bay, the adjacent islands,the mountains of Morvern and Isle of Mull. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing