We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bay Great Western Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Just returned from 2 night stay .The location perfect ,rooms dated but they are in process of updating.The food well presented and good.Dining staff great and plenty of them.Only complaint was unpleasant bar man on Saturday evening who,when I ordered glass of wine which was £5 .60 and had only taken £5 with me,put his full hand on top of glass to prevent me taking it back to table until I returned with 60p..This was very insulting as he knew I was resident but obviously didn't,t trust me.I am female and 69yrs old so wouldn't,t run far??????Also there is a hygiene issue there but I so upset didn't,t make an issue.Perhaps manager could address this issue..Anyway in all the staff all do a great job from reception to housekeeping and good value for money.enjoy ....

Room Tip: Would be nice to have seafront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Lilian,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am very pleased you enjoyed you stay with us despite the incident you experienced at the bar. Please let me assure you that this matter has been addressed with my bar team, as it does not reflect our usual high standards of service.

I do hope to see you again in the near future,

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 752 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just back from Oban Scotland ,booked the Bay Great Western online, £49.00p for a double room and 2 Xbreakfast , super room 306 fantastic view of the bay ... lovelly staff and great breaky ...well dune ... devo book againe ...HEATHER /.BRIAN.....

Room Tip: Room 306 great views and cheeky seagulls ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Hi

It was great to see you again, and really pleased you liked the improvments. Hope to see you again soon!!

Warm Regards
Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I have just returned after a long weekend and can't thank the staff enough.My mother fell ill the first night and we had to call an ambulance,all the employees handled this very well,reception-service staff helped take the children's mind off it and watched them for us to go to the hospital.The receptionist took my sister to the hospital even though she had finished her long shift! I'm glad to say my mum returned that night well and throughout the weekend we were asked by numerous staff how she was.I have been to many shearing but the efficiency and kindness of the staff overwhelmed us.The hotel is very nice and there seems to be re-fits in the bedrooms which are very clean but tired.Food great and a good selection served by great staff.Yes I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view,family room looks onto a roof! Rooms 214 or 114.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie2373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Debbie,

Thank you very much for posting your kind comments. I do hope that your mother is feeling a lot better. Whilst I was not present that weekend, I was informed of the incident on Friday night and I am very pleased and proud of the team on duty that they dealt the situation so well. Although I am not surprised as I am very lucky to have very good staff. I am pleased despite the incident you all still managed to enjoy the rest of the weekend. I sincerely hope to see you all again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Went with Shearings for 5 days. Staff were excellent, the food was good and I was happy with my small single room. Shearings do a wonderful job of providing older people with a smashing little holiday at a very good price. No one should be complaining about it because the staff will do everything they can to put it right .If you want luxury go somewhere else and pay for it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for the your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a 3 night stay commencing on March 21st, travelling with Shearings.
We'd had a similar stay last March, and the difference in the hotel was tremendous, especially in the dining room and our bedroom. The dining room has new purple lights and seating, and trendy wallpaper; the food was better too, a big improvement in quality and quantity, but with one exception - the cheese and biscuits option was absolutely dire, consisting of crackers, celery and grapes (ok) but then a small portion of foil wrapped cream cheese and a little pot of Philadelphia Light!!! No actual cheese at all!!
We did pay a little extra for a superior room (303) and it was worth every penny - it was enormous! We had three big sea view windows on two sides (facing west, so great sunset views),a lovely big bathroom, flat screen telly and a huge fitted wardrobe. Lovely and warm too.
Didn't see the entertainment on Friday night due to a very late arrival caused by a blizzard in Tyndrum but the singer on Saturday night was very good. There was an accordionist on the Sunday night, not my cup of tea at all. If you turn right out of the hotel and walk for a few minutes, there's an amazing pub called Markie Dans, which has live bands on Saturday nights and is open til 1am!!
For what we paid, it was an absolute bargain, and we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Well worth paying extra for a superior room, they're still a bargain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linz6bil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Linz6bil9,

What can I say! Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you returned to us and found the hotel much improved. We have invested so much in the hotel over the last 12 months, not only spent lots of money on refurbishing areas but also as the hotel is now under new management we have spent a lot of time improving standards throughout and I am so pleased that these have been greatly received. Does this mean we will see you again next year? Or maybe sooner? I do hope so.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 10th - 14th March 2014
All staff polite, friendly and curtious and nothing was a bother to them.especially Betty in the dining room. Rooms spotless. Entertainment good. Excellent.

Room Tip: Sea View worth the upgrade price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Marie,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to Betty, who will loves receiving a special mention. Thank you again and look forward to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

4 day trip with National in March. Given the price paid excellent value. Negative point - Typical Victorian type seaside hotel that is a little bit rough round edges but this is being really picky. This is easily overcome by plus points -: Room (26) at rear of building so no view, but otherwise excellent, clean, spacious, comfortable beds with more than adequate bathroom facilities with powerful over bath shower, plenty of hot water. Heating in room excellent and serviced daily ; restaurant - Service top class, food good with varied choice on menu, served hot and with a smile.
Public rooms good with excellent views over bay and islands, bar prices on high side (as expected) but plenty of pubs nearby; Location- could not be faulted, comfortable walking distance to CalMac ferries. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Given age of building, creaky floor boards. If you want a tremendous view, pay extra for seaview, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AirlieJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarrenMoyle, General Manager at Bay Great Western Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear AirlieJock,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I do agree that room 26 is a very spacious room, and even more good news is that room has now been refurbished since your stay with us, so it is even nicer now! I do agree with your comments regarding the location and so hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards
Darren Moyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.3 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Muthu Alexandra Hotel
0.2 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
4.3 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Great Western Hotel

Address: Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5PP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Oban
Price Range: $77 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a prime location, right in the centre of the curving esplanade, just a pleasant walk from the shops and harbour, stands Oban's Great Western; a hotel proud of offering space and comfort, as well as magnificent views of the bay (remember to look out for those memorable sunsets!). Ideal for a relaxing holiday, the activity on the bay can simply be watched from the welcoming lounge and cocktail bar, while it's also an ideal touring centre. With Glencoe, serene lochs and the Western Isles on the doorstep, there's a myriad of sightseeing opportunities. And with coast and country walks, angling, sailing, diving, bird-watching and a whole host of other leisure pursuits at hand, you should never be at a loss for something to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Bay Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Oban
Great Western Hotel Oban
Hotel Great Western
Bay Great Western Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing