We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but not 5 Star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dungallan Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dungallan Country House
Ranked #45 of 99 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not 5 Star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very clean and tastefully decorated. Im assuming the 5 stars is as a result of the decor, antiques, crystal glassware and silver cutlery which is all lovely, however our room was freezing even with the radiator up full and the shower cubicle was extremely small and the water pressure poor. View from the hotel across the bay is stunning. I felt it was a bit overpriced.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Beaches118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    20
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
15
98
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the moment we checked in the owners (who are very hands on) couldn't do enough for us (and not just ourselves - they were equally helpful with all guests). Really excellent hosting.

There is a very nice bar/lounge that is open pretty much all day for drinks and they have a gargantuan range of whisky's. Free wifi available.

Rooms are really akin to what you'd find in a decent 4* hotel and the view is stunning; looking directly out to sea.

Brekkie was top quality with the added treat of haggis being served - we really couldn't fault this place.

The hotel is a 10 minute stroll into town. Plenty of parking available.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if there are any sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ITTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed for one night, which was a shame as this was just fabulous. We were cheerfully greeted by Marion on arrival and shown to our room, which had a magnificent view over the bay. Although a little small, it was spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated. Marion was able to recommend a local fish restaurant for dinner - she even made the reservation and booked the taxi for us. We decided on a drink in the bar before we left for dinner and again when we got back and Mike proved to be the perfect host in a most wonderful room. In the morning, breakfast was served in a lovely room, which was beautifully laid out. The food was amble and cooked well. Although a little pricey, Dungallon is a wonderful place to stay and nothing was too much trouble for Mike and Marion. We would most definitely stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at Dungallan for 4 very enjoyable nights. The house is quite stunning & in a great location, overlooking the bay. We had a lovely double aspect en suite room which was beautifully decorated & furnished with a very comfortable bed. Great breakfasts in a lovely Dinning room. There was also a very comfortable lounge & bar,which unfortunately we didn't have time to enjoy!
Mike was very friendly & attentive. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSM785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at Dungallon House with another couple during our tour of Scotland. I couldn't have been happier. We were so warmly welcomed and the house and property were obviously very well cared for. The views overlooking the harbor and town were just spectacular. Marion and Mike spent quite a lot of time with us helping us plan some places to stay and things to see. This place was worth every cent and provided all of us with some great memories!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had a very enjoyable 3 night stay at Dungallon House. I was travelling solo and had a good size, comfortable, en suite single room with an amazing view over the bay to Kerrera. The breakfast was great and staff were lovely, there when required but not intrusive which I liked. The house itself was very imposing and I felt very grand for a few days. The ferry terminal and town were only 10 mins easy walk away. The price wasnt cheap but I felt overall it was worth it - just. The only drawback for some might be the fairly steep but short driveway up to the house - but worth it for the elevated view.
I would recommend this Guest House but remember, it is a Guest House and not a Hotel.

Room Tip: single room no 18 has the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We booked the Dungallan Country House at the end of our trip through the Crinan Canal. We booked on the assumption this was a hotel - especially with the price that was being charged. This is a guest house. We were shown to our room which was so small you couldn't swing a cat in it. The television was on the wall as there was nowhere else for it to go. We had a shower room with an electric shower which you had to run around in to get wet !! There were lovely views of the bay and the sheets and towels were of very good quality but for £189 a night we felt it was quite extortionate. We asked for a glass of chardonnay but they didn't seem to stock this and were offered the house wine which was £4 for a very small glass and was not at all nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
1.3 mi away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
6.1 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Barriemore Guest House
1.9 mi away
Alltavona Guest House
5.5 mi away
Ards House
Ards House
#4 of 9 in Connel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dungallan Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungallan Country House

Property: Dungallan Country House
Address: Gallanach Road, Oban PA34 4PD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dungallan Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Dungallan Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dungallan Country House Hotel Oban
Dungallan Country House Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing