We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Kings Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Knoll Hotel
Ranked #44 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here”
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Another example of a poor Scottish hotel.
We were not given the rooms we had booked weeks previously and not informed of this at reception on arrival; hoping we did not notice I presume. Given some half hearted excuses why not and offered a "discount" . Looked and felt dirty , run down and felt grubby.. Shower not working properly for first 2 days. Car park more like an assault course. I would have walked out immediately but was persuaded to stay.....unfortunately.
On departure we were charged twice as the staff do not appear to communicate with each other.
I would not recommend this hotel as a place to stay. Beware!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balmossieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsknoll, Manager at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Thank you for your comments
Not only was this client offered a discount ,but also complimentary drinks,we were only informed of problem with the shower at 11 p.m. in the evening ,and this wasdealt with as promptly as possible,the following day.
No negative comments made during stay ,and we felt that we had a friendly relationship with this party.
Again if any guest is unhappy we prefer to deal withis at the time if advised and informed we will do our best to satisfy and resolve any issues.
When I found out my colleague ahd double charged,it was dealt with immediatley,and my colleague had been informed!"
Then again its often easier to make comments from a safe distance anonymously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    77
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
106
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

3 rooms were booked.Drawer in dressing table had someone elses hair in it!Tables in dining room full of crumbs and dirty cuttlery.Food at dinner-awful!Rooms not clean,beds not made on 2nd day, no clean towels,bins not emptied, pointed out to, Sue apologised, could not get staff- she said! Shower was slow. One room was left open by cleaner on 2nd day! Anyone could have entered!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley-Gharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsknoll, Manager at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2010
No adverse comments were made about,in fcat quite the opposite ,highly complimentary,the beds were in fact made,we ahve a new house maid who may have missed emptying a bin,this was remedied upon reuqest .We considered the matter was resolved,and are surprised to see this outpouring of bile ,in a review site .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2010

we stayed for 2 days at this hotel ,it was friendly and homely and the staff were of the highest standard in helping in any small way possible...will recommend to my friends and will be making this my favourite when in oban. food of a high standard and quality in the bedrooms. worth the money spent to give a nice weekend. thanks to tom and sue for giving quality service.

joe and liz.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeandlizFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

My partner and I have just spent two nights in this lovely friendly hotel and couldnt have wished for more.the owners have taken over as recently as last year and have made this small hotel into somewhere i would strongly recommend to visit. its situated a short pleasant walk to the town centre.The rooms are bright and airy and very comfortable with plenty room. The rooms all have lovely seaviews and on a nice night the sunset would be beautiful. The owners are very welcoming and friendly and right away you know you are going to have relaxing stay. They have any information you need to know about the places to go in Oban. No shortage of tea coffee at any time in your accomodation. The breakfast was faultless for choice and and the helpings are very generous indeed. We absolutely loved it and recommend it strong enough and will be most definatley going back. As the high season progresses I would say to book early as once word gets about how good this hotel is it will be hard to get a room if left to late. One word 'SUPERB'

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dicliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Good views over the town and out to sea from our room & the restaurant, but the hotel was a bit further from the water than I was expecting. Friendly staff. Our room was big, airy and had just been redeorated. The room was a tad cold (we were there in the middle of the winter) but we were offered extra electric heaters. Breakfast was nice.

We visited off peak, so Oban and the hotel were very quiet (I think we were the only guests?).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clownf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2010

easy to find comfortable and clean accomodation very helpfull owners and staff could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed our stay would recommend and use again

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colincam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Just come back from one nights stay at Kings Knoll and it was exactly what we had hoped for.
Hubby and I were well looked after, comfortable bed and nice and quiet. Hotel was not busy as near the end of the season and maybe this was why there appeared to be only two staff working. They were welcoming and did a great job at making us welcome.
We would definately come back and stay a little longer. Many thanks

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knockastolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,728 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 93 in Oban
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sutherland Hotel
Sutherland Hotel
#33 of 93 in Oban
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Knoll Hotel

Property: Kings Knoll Hotel
Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms are en-suite with open panoramic views of either the town, or Oban bay, Offering a subtle blend of both traditional and modern comfort, large bedrooms are available with, king size beds. Big comfortable chairs and all the nice useful extras expected from this type of hotel. Kings Knoll is among a few establishments that have their own , off street , private parking. Locally brewed ales, west coast malt whisky, and bar meals are served in our traditional bar.Splendid multi-choice, breakfasts are available, something for everyone. Superior and high quality standard rooms are all on offer-prices to suit every body's budget. We use local suppliers and produce as much as possible, understanding the, growing interest in eating locally grown produceEarly and, late season deals available. Wi- Fi service installed. Large free private, off street ,parking for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Knoll Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing