We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LIVE LIKE A KING”
Review of Kings Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kings Knoll Hotel
Ranked #44 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Beautiful old building located on a slope.Walking distance from the water front.
Very decent, clean, well furnished cosy rooms.
Staff very courteous and co-operative. Breakfast was sumptuous and delicious.
Could have spent few more days.
Both the Hotel and Oban are really wonderful and memorable.
Hope will get an opportunity to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAMESHSHIRALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 204 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Once again we stayed for a fortnights holiday. Although the weather was not to kind (showers most days). The service provided was excellent, the meals (breakfast and dinner) were more than ample. We even said to Tom smaller portions please, well my waistline has expanded, so it is not a criticism but anyone staying will definitely be well catered for. Both Tom and Kenna made us both welcoming and accepted us as part of the 'family'.
Once again thanks Tom, We will be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geegeeGalloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

When we were looking for hotels, we found it difficult to find anything within our price range as they were all expensive and we wanted something for 1 weeks' stay so we could use it as a base to explore the west coast of Scotland. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel. Although it's a victorian hotel, it has recently been modernised so the rooms' are contemporary with modern bathrooms although the breakfast area is still traditional.
The full Scottish breakfast was substantial and there were cereals, juice and toast - plenty to choose from.
Tom was also a great host - really friendly and informative but not pushy at all.
The only small downside was the nearness to the main road but it's 5 minutes' walk from Oban and such good value, it's easy to balance that out against the positives.

Room Tip: We had the room next to the bar which we thought maybe noisy but it's a quiet bar for residents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serenajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Five of us stayed here for an overnight trip in August. We had three doubles booked. All rooms were clean and tidy and at breakfast nothing was too much trouble and the traditional full Scottish breakfast was amazing !! Few mins walk to the town centre so location great. Would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leezl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having arrived at short notice in Oban, was really glad we chose this hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the manager. Room was spacious and clean with a lovely sea view. Hotel area was quite, yet only a few minutes walk from town centre. Plenty of variety for breakfast, which was well cooked. Enjoyed our stay here, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Can,t believe some of the reviews on here,some people are really hard to please! I have just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel,the room was massive,lovely bathroom,very pleasant and helpful staff and the breakfast was amazing,and all for a very good price.What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A fine place. Clean, very pleasant staff. Were very accommodating to us fitting us in last minute, which we appreciated very much.

Place is pretty old fashioned, but all of that is fine and as you would expect really in a 3* in Oban. I just can't believe the price in relation to all of the above. I'd stay here again no problem if I was visiting Oban if the price wasn't such a p*** take! You should get what you pay for. I paid the price of a Hilton for something more akin to Fawlty Towers.

On a brighter note - breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushi_Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsknoll, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for being kind enough to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay.
Again I would say that if you had issues concerning your stay, the time to voice these concerns is when actually present in the building, I am an adult and can handle justifies criticism, as an adult
I regularly ask guest s if they are enjoying their stay, funnily enough the reply is always positive.
Some choose to run away and hide behind an alias, thereby casting doubt as to whether or not you actually stayed here, your comments are lacking in any detail as to why you feel you were overcharged , thereby making it impossible to respond ,in any meaningful way.
However our prices are in line and slightly below, other comparable hotels ,you would find this had you bothered to check ,you would also have been advised of the price ,before booking, or if making an enquiry of the street.
Perhaps if you wished to save money you could have booked into a hostel.
If you choose to be an adult and contact me directly I can discuss this with you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#12 of 13 in Oban
1,088 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
Strathnaver Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Knoll Hotel

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $122 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms are en-suite with open panoramic views of either the town, or Oban bay, Offering a subtle blend of both traditional and modern comfort, large bedrooms are available with, king size beds. Big comfortable chairs and all the nice useful extras expected from this type of hotel. Kings Knoll is among a few establishments that have their own , off street , private parking. Locally brewed ales, west coast malt whisky, and bar meals are served in our traditional bar.Splendid multi-choice, breakfasts are available, something for everyone. Superior and high quality standard rooms are all on offer-prices to suit every body's budget. We use local suppliers and produce as much as possible, understanding the, growing interest in eating locally grown produceEarly and, late season deals available. Wi- Fi service installed. Large free private, off street ,parking for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Knoll Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing