We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good well run hotel”
Review of Kings Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Knoll Hotel
Ranked #44 of 94 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Having arrived at short notice in Oban, was really glad we chose this hotel. Staff were very pleasant and helpful, especially the manager. Room was spacious and clean with a lovely sea view. Hotel area was quite, yet only a few minutes walk from town centre. Plenty of variety for breakfast, which was well cooked. Enjoyed our stay here, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 204 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Can,t believe some of the reviews on here,some people are really hard to please! I have just returned from a 2 night stay in this hotel,the room was massive,lovely bathroom,very pleasant and helpful staff and the breakfast was amazing,and all for a very good price.What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A fine place. Clean, very pleasant staff. Were very accommodating to us fitting us in last minute, which we appreciated very much.

Place is pretty old fashioned, but all of that is fine and as you would expect really in a 3* in Oban. I just can't believe the price in relation to all of the above. I'd stay here again no problem if I was visiting Oban if the price wasn't such a p*** take! You should get what you pay for. I paid the price of a Hilton for something more akin to Fawlty Towers.

On a brighter note - breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sushi_Ecosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsknoll, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for being kind enough to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay.
Again I would say that if you had issues concerning your stay, the time to voice these concerns is when actually present in the building, I am an adult and can handle justifies criticism, as an adult
I regularly ask guest s if they are enjoying their stay, funnily enough the reply is always positive.
Some choose to run away and hide behind an alias, thereby casting doubt as to whether or not you actually stayed here, your comments are lacking in any detail as to why you feel you were overcharged , thereby making it impossible to respond ,in any meaningful way.
However our prices are in line and slightly below, other comparable hotels ,you would find this had you bothered to check ,you would also have been advised of the price ,before booking, or if making an enquiry of the street.
Perhaps if you wished to save money you could have booked into a hostel.
If you choose to be an adult and contact me directly I can discuss this with you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here on the 26th August 2013. We had a lovely room, with an excellent view. The owners (family run business) have been there about three years. They were friendly nice people. Our room was clean with a really good bed (unfortunately I was sleeping with Snorey! Which is always a sign of a comfy bed!). We went for a walk downtown and the only problem I had was getting back up the hill! Going down was easy! Internet access is spotty, so used the reception room. Very safety conscious at the hotel, fire doors were all in place, as was well positioned extinguishers in the hall. In the room (this is my wife who pointed this out!) you couldn't find the seams in the wallpaper, so the renovations were done well. Breakfast was good, lots of choices and amount. So, in conclusion, if you want the Ritz,or are really snobby, this isn't for you. Good, I say! We like real places! We were treated very well by a decent couple making the best effort that can be expected! Recommend staying there anytime, and we would go back. Sandy

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I've been there on August 2013.

The hotel is 2 minutes of walk away from the city centre and the bay. It's housed in an old building, but the interior has been well kept.

The room I've been given was very large, with two oversized beds - The bathroom ceramics were a little old, but it was cleaned, and with plenty of towels and toiletries.

Outside, there's plenty of park space, all of it free.

The breakfast was included, and you have the option of having a traditional breakfast or a more continental one, in a porch overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5ub-Z3r0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The room was grubby and dusty. The menu was fried or fried food. The communal areas were clean enough but overall it was very over priced for the standard offered. Yes they accept dogs but that is no excuse.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Foodies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsknoll, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts.
I'm sure you would have been asked ,during your stay ,if everything was satisfactory, if you had issues the time to raise then is surely when on site.?
This review seems almost at a polar opposite with all the recent reviews here and elsewhere.
Personally I have never fried a curry yet, nor has anyone else ,to the best of my knowledge neither is the pasta , nacho's or Panini's deep fried,
If you had wanted something cheaper that Is available in town, I notice from other reviews contributed that over 50% are negative ,this is the first luke warm review out of the last 13 mmmm.
Again had you raised any issues during your stay ,they would have been remedied promptly, however some prefer to leave and drip poison from a far , hiding behind an akias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband on the first leg of our first tour of Scotland. By the end of the tour Kings Knoll was top of our hotel list for everything! Location excellent, only a few minutes walk to the town and promenade. Room was lovely, spacious and clean, with a fantastic view over the bay. Staff were nice and friendly. Breakfast excellent. If we visit Oban again Kings Knoll will definitely be our 1st choice for an excellent value, comfortable, friendly hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#11 of 13 in Oban
1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#7 of 13 in Oban
1,841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Muthu Queens Oban Hotel
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perle Oban Hotel
Perle Oban Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Knoll Hotel

Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range: $125 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms are en-suite with open panoramic views of either the town, or Oban bay, Offering a subtle blend of both traditional and modern comfort, large bedrooms are available with, king size beds. Big comfortable chairs and all the nice useful extras expected from this type of hotel. Kings Knoll is among a few establishments that have their own , off street , private parking. Locally brewed ales, west coast malt whisky, and bar meals are served in our traditional bar.Splendid multi-choice, breakfasts are available, something for everyone. Superior and high quality standard rooms are all on offer-prices to suit every body's budget. We use local suppliers and produce as much as possible, understanding the, growing interest in eating locally grown produceEarly and, late season deals available. Wi- Fi service installed. Large free private, off street ,parking for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Knoll Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing