We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Kings Knoll Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Knoll Hotel
Ranked #45 of 93 Oban B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. We had asked in advance for a room with a sea view and had a lovely room with a great view across the harbour. The service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for Tom and his staff. The location was great too, very handy for almost every amenity. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsknoll, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay here at Kings Knoll, on behalf of myself and my team.
Receiving reviews such as yours makes it all worthwhile, and makes serving our customers an even greater pleasure , hopefully we will see you again at some p[point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    77
    26
    13
    13
See reviews for
30
106
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As regular visitors to Oban and after disappointing stays at various large hotels in the town, we were very pleased when we chose to stay at the Kings Knoll Hotel.
We found Tom and his staff to be very welcoming, pleasant and friendly with all the residents.
Very nice & comfortable restaurant/bar area.
The made to order & buffet breakfasts are excellent.
We stayed in the Superior Rooms which were very clean and comfortable with great bedrooms/e-suite and views overlooking Oban
Hotel has a car park which is a bonus as its only short walk to the town and waterfront. .
3rd visit to Kings Knoll and will be back, therefore would recommend this to anyone.
Thank You Tom & Staff for everything..

Room Tip: Superior Rooms to Front are Excellent..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Lovely Hotel very friendly lovely rooms with a great view would defiantly go again and would defiantly recommend, great fish restaurant near by that the hotel proprietor booked for us overlooking the sea .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary64190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A wonderful stay, large bay window over the bay. It was our 50th wedding aniversay, we spent our honeymoon in Oban, so we came all the way back from Australia to share again the wonderful area. Breakfast great bacon and eggs tastes so good in UK. Clean and crisp nothing to complain. Good to walk down to the town.

Room Tip: Over looking the bay, see the sun set and ferries returning from the islands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 360Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsknoll, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay,we are happy you had a good time.
Hopefully you willl return ti Oban some ady.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed one night in no22 big open bay window which looks down onto Oban bay, great view. Clean and warm room with a nice sized bathroom also clean. Had breakfast in the hotel again in a nice room with good views. Breakfast was really tasty and plenty of it. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definately stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for 22 the view is really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milly1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Kings knoll is an journey between elegance and the 1970.
The Robins are in the main building and an Anex built in to the main building.
My Rooney was an odyssé in to Capet.
Thick and red. That makes à problem when the sink is outside the shower and the capet allwys sunk wet.
Nice bed, i like when the bed is made all in sheets.
Breakfast à kittel poor on extras but you have the chanse to order egg and bacon plate. With the chanse for the hungry to order the full scottish.
Overall: nice wiev, easy to finde just next to the main road from Glasgow.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FWStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Me and my friends spend one night in Kings Knoll Hotel in oban. The weather that night was terrible,we go out for a supper,and returned to the hotel very late,although the location of it is a little bit far from the citycentre or the seaside,but the facilities and furnishing in it was fantastic,very comfortable and delicate. Give me a feeling like home.I have a great sleep there and a remarkble breakfast,may be I will go there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yujia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tom h, Owner at Kings Knoll Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay.
However it is a bit odd that the previous reviewer ,had such a different opinion of exactly the same room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.3 mi away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,726 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rowantree Hotel
Rowantree Hotel
#10 of 13 in Oban
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corran House
Corran House
#17 of 93 in Oban
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sutherland Hotel
Sutherland Hotel
#30 of 93 in Oban
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Knoll Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Knoll Hotel

Property: Kings Knoll Hotel
Address: Dunollie Road, Oban PA34 5JH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Oban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kings Knoll Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All bedrooms are en-suite with open panoramic views of either the town, or Oban bay, Offering a subtle blend of both traditional and modern comfort, large bedrooms are available with, king size beds. Big comfortable chairs and all the nice useful extras expected from this type of hotel. Kings Knoll is among a few establishments that have their own , off street , private parking. Locally brewed ales, west coast malt whisky, and bar meals are served in our traditional bar.Splendid multi-choice, breakfasts are available, something for everyone. Superior and high quality standard rooms are all on offer-prices to suit every body's budget. We use local suppliers and produce as much as possible, understanding the, growing interest in eating locally grown produceEarly and, late season deals available. Wi- Fi service installed. Large free private, off street ,parking for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kings Knoll Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Knoll Hotel Oban, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing